We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm friendly staff in a character building.”

The Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 3 April 2010

made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. staff were great. room was a good size with lots of character. had a home cooked curry in the evening which was really tasty, also the full english breakfast before we checked out was well presented made with local produce,fab. will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boyracer366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2010

The staff at this historic and quirky establishment were fantastic! The food in the restaurant was of excellent quality and plentiful. If someone is looking for cookie cutter modern, they won't find it here. The King's Arms has uneven floors and interesting staircases. The lounge area was comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustClio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Stayed in the hotel one night,we wanted to browse around the town and take in a visit to the cathedral over a weekend.
We were upgraded from superior to Kings room,by the hotel so no extra cost.
The hotel is a very historic building with lots of period features and the room had interesting stone coat of arms above fire place,irregular shape floors,small windows hanging over the street etc and all was very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and food in the restaurant was good,both in the evening and at breakfast.
Traffic a little noisy first thing Saturday morning,but this a minor criticism,with a location right in town opposite the cathedral,this is to be expected.If King Charles had no double glazing why should we.
We found Salisbury very pleasant,and the Cathedral and Close are wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watties57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Stayed with my hubby on one night break 20th March in their four poster room - lovely quaint hotel - our room was beautiful & very atmospheric! Extremely clean and hygenic . Food was excellent - we had fish it was cooked to perfection, dining area very cosy and intimate - wonderful. I like a nice glass of wine and the Chardonnay was great ! Cannot wait to make return visit which I hope will be very soon - I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DidcotJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

A very friendly hotel with lots of character and charm. Our room was fantastic, though with it facing the street it traffic noise was noticable. The hotel is opposite one of the medieval gates to the cathedral close so the cathedral itself is only a short and very pleasant walk away. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandJ2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We stayed in room 3 at the front of the hotel which is a standard room. Unfortunately the secondary glazing had been removed from this room which meant the traffic noise was audible, which if one is a light sleeper could be a problem. That, as far as we were concerned, was the only gripe, the hotel is extremely old and consequently floors, door openings and stairs could be a little wonky. We considered that this all added to the charm. Although for people with problems getting about this might pose a problem. Location wise the hotel is situated a short walk from both the town centre and the cathedral. (10mins in either direction). We stayed on a B & B basis and found a good choice at breakfast and the fry up was excellent! On friday nights there is live music even then the bar was not uncomfortably full neither was the music overly loud. There is a restaurant which seemed popular which we never tried so cannot comment on the food. The town centre offers a vast choice in eateries, our favourite being Prezzo. It is a shame there is no parking but guests are allowed to use the secure parking in the hotel next door upon payment. We definitely would stay here again by which time hopefully the secondary glazing will have been replaced.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meandherLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We enjoyed our stay in this most historical building. Great food and value for money. Good location 5 min walk into city centre / cinema. pubs etc. Simon and his team made us very welcome and nothing was to much trouble. We look forward to staying again and enjoying such nice food!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chromerads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#15 of 16 in Salisbury
591 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Address: 9-13 St. Johns Street, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: £75 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the stunning medieval city of Salisbury and facing its beautiful Cathedral this 16th Century Tudor building allegedly housed Kings Charles 1st&2nd. The Kings Arms Hotel lies within easy reach of some of Southern England's foremost treasures.This Salisbury hotel offers accommodation in 17 individual ensuite rooms with original features such as oak panelling and beams, stone fireplaces & four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing