We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“King's Arms was so cool!”

The Kings Arms Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“King's Arms was so cool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

I have to admit, when we were placed in an annex our first night at the King's Arms -- a large room with a huge bathroom, but in a separate building, where you had to go up and down an outside staircase -- I was very disappointed. We asked the staff the next day if we could move and they moved us to room 5 on the 1st floor of the main building. WOW!!!! We loved the tiny hsllways, the uneven stairs, the low ceilings -- we loved everything about this old building. And the room itself was wonderful. The staff is great at this hotel -- very friendly people, very accommodating. I spent a lot of time in the lounge; it was so cozy, hanging out there. Breakfast was fabulous. Only downer was Internet was quite spotty in the rooms -- but it gave me a reason to hang out in the lounge.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire55812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    31
    8
    11
    21
See reviews for
11
45
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stopped for a meal en-route home.
Excellent vegetarian meal and fabulous coffee.
I did not stay at the hotel.

Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank gavin_ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Stayed here for a business trip, had 4 fantastic evening meals with good wine in a most hospitable and friendly atmosphere, 4 reasonable nights sleep (not the hotels fault, stress with work!) In a large and comfortable room and 4 glorious breakfasts. Wonderful helpful service and extremely friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie1965148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Our room was not clean, sticky carpet, stained loo, dirty behind showerdoor. They failed to service our room one night. It is very well situated.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

The hotel is in a perfect location, right by one of the gates to the Cathedral and just a few yards from the main shops. In addition, the hotel has free (secure) parking in a nearby office premises - a real bonus. The staff are fabulous - couldn't be nicer or more helpful. By nature of the age of the building the rooms are very quirky but we were upgraded and had a spacious bedroom and large bathroom with very efficient shower. We didn't have dinner there but can recommend the breakfast - good choice and quality and plentiful helpings. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

A place to stay with a personal touch...from the start we were treated warmely by Lawrence who was both professional, friendly and very helpful... he ensured our stay was memorable and enjoyable. The service is excellent and he was always on hand to deal with any queries we had... We had a lovely room with a four poster bed which was spotless, very comfortable and spacious...The hotel itself was also full of character.. winding staircases and oak beams... Breakfast was to die for!!!!..... will definately book again for a return visit....It was nice to be treated as a person and not a room number..

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenypoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenia, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

I started a business trip and spent two nights in the Kings Arms. I had planned two more nights in another hotel in Salisbury for holiday with my husband, but after staying at the Kings Arms, I changed my reservation. I prefer to stay at the historic establishments with character and ambience. When I saw the King Charles Suite I knew it was where I wanted to stay the additional nights.

In addition to the historic hotel, and the terrific location, the staff did all they could to ensure our stay was the best. I had two nights in Salisbury, one night back in Bristol, then back to Salisbury for two more nights. I left the bulk of my luggage at the hotel in Salisbury taking only a night bag back to Bristol. Such convenience and kindness was appreciated. The staff also looked into booking tours for me to Stonehenge and helping out on other matters. It was a great time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jed90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.6 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel

Property: The Kings Arms Hotel
Address: 9-13 St. Johns Street, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the stunning medieval city of Salisbury and facing its beautiful Cathedral this 16th Century Tudor building allegedly housed Kings Charles 1st&2nd. The Kings Arms Hotel lies within easy reach of some of Southern England's foremost treasures.This Salisbury hotel offers accommodation in 17 individual ensuite rooms with original features such as oak panelling and beams, stone fireplaces & four poster beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing