We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sand.b, Dorset. Enjoy”
Review of The Dessert Shop - CLOSED

The Dessert Shop
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: French
Description: The business is now under new management
Restaurant details
Description: The business is now under new management
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Salt beef from Temple Fortune, confections from Paris, coffee from Milan and Maggie's smile from the heart. What more could you want from this tiny oasis of self-indulgence? Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DavidB854-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paullilly, Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thanks for your kind comments. i have been on holiday in France ( checking the opposition!) hence the delay in replying to your comment. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

An absolute gem of a find. The quality of the produce used here is top rate. My first visit to Salisbury was made extra special by having lunch in The Dessert Shop. I had the salt beef on warm rye with a delicious black coffee. My friend had a panini with super side salad and a latte (best he's ever had. Worth a visit every time I visit Salisbury fro mow on. Mmmmmmmmmmmmm

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paullilly, Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Many thanks for your comments. Colin & Maggie try very hard to make sure that the quality is always the highest. We just need more people through the doors.spread the word.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My wife and I were on tour and looking for somewhere to have lunch and lucked upon this wonderful little shop. The service was lovely, the food - sandwiches and cake with coffee left us feeling extra good and grateful that we had chanced to respond to the smile of the waitress standing at the door. While visiting from Australia we were made very welcome in deed.
Would highly recommend this happy and friendly little cafe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travlnsidebyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donkeywell, Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Colin makes all the cakes and pattisserie items in th shop and his wife Maggie looks after front of house. They have been open just a year and to receive comments like yours are very heartening to them both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My husband and I like to treat ourselves on a Saturday lunch when we are out in Salisbury and there is no better place to go for delicious home made delights than The Dessert Shop. Every cake/pastry is hand made and looks too nice to eat. Our latest favourite is the Salt Beef sandwich served on home made Rye Bread with gherkins and mustard, followed by either Ricotta Tart or Creme Brûlée Macaroon. Each time we visit there is a new cake/pastry to lure us in. So ditch the chain restaurants and cafes on the Market Square and make your way to this little piece of heaven, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SarahTucker923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donkeywell, Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Colin and Maggie work so hard they really do appreciate your comments. Colin and his family are off to Italy on Holiday on the 30, but the dessert shop will be open up to Saturady and then closed until the following Friday. So you will not miss a Saturday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Run by a pastry chef with a London Michelin starred track record this little cafe in New Canal St is in the very centre of the city but about 20 yards off the normal tourist route.
The quality of the food takes you back to the best of Paris, the service is charming in this family owned and run delight.
I go there at least twice a week and am amazed at others being lured into popular chain cafes and coffee shops missing this real gem.
Everything is hand crafted by Colin Grossi and his wife Maggie runs the front of house with smiling hospitality.
If you are a resident or a visitor The Dessert shop is a real Salisbury attraction.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ArchbishopJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are trying to bring a taste of Paris to Salisbury and I think that we are succeeding. The web site has just started and we are trying to merge two separate trip advisors pages and then we can upload photographs. We are also on Facebook and Twitter.
Thank you or your custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dessert Shop also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Quidhampton, Salisbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing