We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of The Dessert Shop - CLOSED

The Dessert Shop
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: French
Description: The business is now under new management
Restaurant details
Description: The business is now under new management
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Warm welcome and friendly. Delicious salt beef sandwich made with home made rye bread that was warm. Best coffee I have had so far.
Will be back on my next trip to Salisbury.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank henrietta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paullilly, Public Relations Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

I have to agree that Colin's Salt beef sandwich is very hard to beat, especially as Colin makes everything. We look forward to serving you again with another salt beef sandwich. Thanks for your great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

On a cold and grey day it was a treat to pop into this little café about 1.30 pm on Saturday. Two incredibly rich and delicious deserts later my wife and I found ourselves fortified enough to venture into the gold grey Salisbury afternoon once more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paullilly, Public Relations Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

We are really glad that Colin's fantastic desserts gave you strength to tackle the cold and grey afternoon in Salisbury. Thanks for the great comment and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We were in today, what a fantastic place, food was wonderful , didn't mean to have any cakes but we couldn't help it!!! Will be in again very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank helenmc5650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paullilly, Public Relations Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thanks for your great comments . We are really glad that you enjoyed the cakes and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Cracking little pit stop. We enjoyed a lovely coffee and delicious macaroons. Reminded us of our trip to paris a few years back. Delightful and charming staff. Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paullilly, Public Relations Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thanks for your great comment. I know that Colin & Maggie really appreciate them. Colin often travels to Paris to get inspiration and catch up with the latest trends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Its a jem of a place, friendly, welcoming & something rare nowadays, an independent cafe, that does a range of lunches & luxury Desserts, not your production line made ones but handmade with care & expertise.

Whether you like savoury dishes or have a sweet tooth don't leave Salisbury without a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pkt9964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paullilly, Public Relations Manager at The Dessert Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. Colin & Maggie appreciate these comments and as a small independent trader they are always striving to be known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dessert Shop also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Quidhampton, Salisbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing