We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”

The Rainbow on The Lake
Ranked #33 of 270 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Firstly I must say the staff were fabulous, very friendly. The food on the other hand I felt let it down a bit. The menu was quite exciting and I settled on the whitebait and fish cakes for main, these are so deep fried that it was ruined. My husband had a risotto which lacked flavour. This said some others staying at the B&B said they had a fabulous meal so perhaps it was what we chose was bad?? Who knows. The outdoors dining area looks as though it would be great in the summer.
I agree with what someone else said not much better than a harvester but more expensive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Takeawaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    63
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not been for a long time but very good!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

It has been a number of years since we have been to the rainbow but will not be leaving so long again.

We had a roast dinner which was very good and our puddings were excellent, especially the bread and butter pudding.

On top of this the staff were friendly and accomodating especially to my 2.5 year old, which very unusual in most places.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SamandPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lazin' on a sunny afternoon”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Popped in for a spot of lunch and a swift half with work and couldnt fault the Rainbow at all.

The patio in the sunshine has to be its pride and joy with views over the lake and green fields and coupled with an excellent local cider and scrummy sandwiches there's not really anything else to say. I recommend the Lilleys Somerset Cider with a good solid cheese and pickle sandwich.

Service is efficient and quick, the lunch menu adequate sized with good sandwich choices and there's plenty of space if you're not fortunate to have beautiful sunny weather.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tim_corke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly staff and what a view!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a pleasant early-Spring morning walk in the Wiltshire Wildlife nature reserve at Langford lakes.
Then climbed up the hill for lunch at the Rainbow on the Lake which has superb views from its conservatory and deck down over the lakes.
Had probably the best burger I have ever eaten - just plain without any special topping that was on offer. My wife had the courgette and coriander soup and said it was superb.
Good Palmers (from Bridport) beer.
The young waiter was very friendly and helpful.
So a very pleasant lunch with good views.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Gem by the Lakes”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

When you go for a pub lunch do you really expect to eat some of the best quality fish,superbly prepared and presented? Do you also expect the desserts to match the experience of the main course? We ticked both boxes today. Front of house staff were friendly,approachable and their repartee made the day totally enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rainbow on The Lake also viewed

Berwick St James, Salisbury
 
Quidhampton, Salisbury
Wilton, Salisbury
 

Been to The Rainbow on The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing