We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Main Road”

The Rainbow on The Lake
Ranked #29 of 268 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Off the Main Road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This place is for the locals and visitors alike, but it is off the main road so there is nothing 'touristy' about it. We went on a Sunday night, so it was a bit quiet, but the menu had plenty of choices and the food was perfectly fine. The staff were friendly and efficient. A good place for an honest meal and a drink.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    59
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
698 reviews
456 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We called in for Sunday Lunch. I must say we were a little disappointed, the starters warranted 10/10 but the main course could be better, rib of beef very tasty and tender, but very fatty, the french beans very hard and the roast potatoes much the same, perhaps warrants 7/10. the desserts that followed were 10/10. We were disappointed because some of the snacks that came out looked more interesting. Two lunches (3 course), A pint and a half of beer and two sparkling mineral waters cost just under £50.00. Overall about a 7/10. The staff were very friendly and humorous, though the service somewhat slow. Don't write this one off though, on another occasion I think things could be very different.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great good, great prices, lovely and accommodating people. Would head back everytime we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesandsam87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
349 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Worth going the extra mile...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Been on our list of 'to do' venues for a while and glad we made the effort to go. Excellent food, service, location and would certainly go back. Worth going the extra mile (past 'The Swan' at Stoford) to get to this place. Our party had the Sea Bass, John Dory, Salmon and I tested out the burger. If a place can get a decent burger right then it's a fair measure the rest of the menu will follow. None of us were disappointed and will be back for more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“PROPER SANDWICHES AND A GOOD GLASS OF PIDDLE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were passing and wanted a quick bite. The sandwiches were excellent - good chunky bread with thick slices of (1) wiltshire ham and (2) rare beef - complemented by a glass of the local Piddle beer (from the Piddlehinton brewery!)

With welcoming staff, and pleasant garden with a view over the valley it was exactly what we wanted for a lunch en route.

I'd certainly go again if I was nearby

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerdundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rainbow on The Lake also viewed

Berwick St James, Salisbury
 
Quidhampton, Salisbury
Wilton, Salisbury
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Rainbow on The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing