We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again they ticked all the boxes "exceptional"”

Shah Jahan Indian Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 270 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$51
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are just off the city centre going towards the rail station. A family run restaurant going strong for the past 25 years, we provide you with authentic Indian cuisine to suite all budgets in a great atmosphere.
Salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Once again they ticked all the boxes "exceptional"”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Visited this restaurant 18th July 2014, "off the cuff decision" extremely busy, which proves this restaurant is popular, all those dinner's cant be wrong. The welcome is professional, and very courteous. The waiter's take time to explain dishes/curries with contents "don't ever be put off" asked away, they will explain with detail, showing verbal pride in their meals. The food it self was a delight, hot plates, "my biggest bug bear" food has to be served on hot plates, they do this. So mind your fingers on the hot plates. Food tasty > spices and flavours in abundance. The waiter's are attentive and good at their job, without being over powering. The décor of this restaurant is high quality, they have recently had extensive decoration both within the eating cover area, and both male /female toilets, Clean clean clean, No expense spared on the refurbishment. It has to be the best Indian restaurant in Salisbury by a mile, for all round service, lovely food. Try it your like, and you will return. Oh one thing, they like to see happy customer's, if you want / need/ require something ask the staff, they go the extra mile . Well done Shah Jahan.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pug00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    36
    19
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I found everything about this restaurant great. It was one of the best I've had. The pickle tray was large and had a great selection. I had a chicken madras, which was very tasty. The service was great. We last went in May 14, as we are only in the area when visiting family, but we are definitely returning when we are back in August. The price was reasonable for the quality. You get what you pay for as far as I'm concerned.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I'm a fairly regular visitor to the Shah Jahan and I don't think you can beat it for a curry in Salisbury. Whilst there is an excellent contemporary Indian in town this is perfect for a "traditional" menu. I was with friends from Leicester who know their curries and we had a great meal. Excellent pickle tray, poppadoms, mains, keema rice and naan breads. It was around 9pm on a Friday and it was busy. We had to wait a little for the mains but were in no rush and had good feed with a beer each for just under £20 a head.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Damo_M_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Salisbury.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This restaurant deliver's in all area's. The service is first class, very friendly, always polite, very prompt and professional. The food is really first class, i have visited with family, and with friends, and likewise they agree. The new decor in the restaurant adds a hint of high tasteful class, and its atmosphere is a pleasure to frequent. I look forward to my next meal / visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“casual meal”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

went in again for a meal as the last time it was so good and i wasn't dissapointed! the food was great and they catered to special requirements. the atmosphere was great and the staff were so happy and friendly! will definitely be returning, i highly reccomened!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shah Jahan Indian Restaurant also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Shah Jahan Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing