We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B, can't be faulted.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cricket Field House
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, can't be faulted.”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed at the Cricket Fields Sunday last week.
Very pleasant staff; good location at the green edge of Salisbury; adequate on-site car parking and a short drive or local bus journey into Salisbury centre.
Our superior double room was huge, windows on two sides, settee and easy chair with a really comfortable 7ft bed, plus more cupboard, clothes storage space, than I've seen before, even in top hotels.
The room was clean and appeared to be newly decorated.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They all looked good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooperwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    90
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
232
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We were greeted by a very friendly host who gave us some information on Salisbury and recommended a very good Indian restaurant. The room was clean and cosy and everything you could want for an overnight stay. We have only recently started staying at bed and breakfast locations as opposed to big chain hotels and would certainly recommend this one. The family that run it have been here for many years which is a testament in itself. Very friendly family. Plenty of choice at breakfast and you could choose to be healthy or not so healthy! Certainly set us up for the day. Thank you, if we come back to Salisbury for another concert we will definitely come back to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Very friendly greeting on arrival. Nice warm, cosy room in older English style but that's what we wanted when traveling around England. Very clean, spacious yet homely. Was only five minutes from centre of town however great off the street parking. Breakfast was amazing. Have paid a lot more for a lot less in England.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BeardyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The room was clean and simple and lovely, but what set this place apart is the outstanding service and friendliness of the family that runs it. I mistakenly booked a single room and even though they were quite busy they moved things around to give us a double. The breakfast was well cooked and served with a smile, and the price was quite reasonable. About a 20-minute walk from the centre of town, short walk from the train station.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews but I feel I have to after my stay. The friendliest family run hotel I have ever stayed at. The room was immaculate as was the breakfast. This hotel is simply fantastic. I will be staying again and I would recommend anyone staying in Salisbury to book. 5 Stars a must stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank maryanm670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I'm not really a bed-and-breakfast person but this AA 4 star B&B has most of the attributes you would expect in a small hotel. Just off the busy A36 Salisbury to Wilton road, many of the rooms are clustered around a small courtyard that borders on sports fields. The spire of Salisbury Cathedral can be seen about two miles away, and there are paths to walk there along the river. The rooms are very clean and comfortable (but not noise-proofed) and the home-cooked breakfast and buffet are excellent. There are several pubs close by for a bite to eat in the evening if you don't want to drive into the city centre - I tried the Horse and Groom about 3/4 of a mile's walk away, but it wasn't anything to write home about. The Cricket Field House's price is reasonable, the staff friendly, and I imagine that in the summer, the garden is a lovely place to sit in the evenings. I would stay again if needing to over-night close to Salisbury (or about 11 miles from Stonehenge).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grassland88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Recently stayed here, with my disabled mother.The owners went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible, especially my mothers..Rooms and food superb, owners warm and friendly. To be recommended. Will return

Room Tip: Room 15, beautiful, overlooks the church and the cricket field
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.6 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
763 reviews
1.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricket Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket Field House

Property: Cricket Field House
Address: 1 Cricket Field Cottages Wilton Road, Salisbury SP2 9NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cricket Field House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Cricket Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket Field Hotel
Cricket Field Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing