We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cricket Field House
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

My daughter booked this as a surprise mid-week break for my wife's 50th birthday. This was probably one of nicest B&B's we have stayed in and I can't recommend it highly enough. The James family were very welcoming and couldn't be more helpful and attentive. The room was clean, very comfortable and quiet. If you are planning a visit to the area you really don't need to look anywhere other than Cricket Field House!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    88
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
227
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My boyfriend booked us a room here for 1 night in mid-January. Loved the dogs that are part of the welcome committee! (Snoopy & Chester I believe). The property was in a very convenient location and our room had a nice view of the small garden. The room was very spacious and the bed super comfortable. The property was so quiet, it was nice after a very long travel day to not have to deal with unwanted noise from other guests. The breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly. Good experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denaris1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The worse experience ever! We had a trip on Sunday morning to Stonehenge and we booked one night at Cricket Field House. We arrived the evening before (their CheckInn is 4pm) and we went for dinner, we realized we forget the light on, looking the window outside. We didn`t went back because we were going to spend just 1/2 hours for dinner. After dinner we went back to the room and the light was off. (they went in the room and did that). Next morning we missed the breakfast because we left early (their breakfast is only from 8:30 to 9:30) to go to Stonehenge with a tour guide. Around 11:00am the guide receive a call from Cricket Field House asking what time we were going to be back, couse the check out was 10:30am. It was so emabarassing, we didn`t know they had the Tour Guide phone. They had our phone, but they never called us!!! We didn`t know about this early chek-out, so we went back to the Cricket Field House. We arrived 11:50, and our room were open, they had moved our stuff, touched everything to clean the floor and collect the bed sheets. It was the worse experience ever! They were so rude. If they wanted to charge another day, ok. But they changed our suitcase, tablet (mine was in the floor when I left), because they couldn`t wait for us to be back. They picked up everything that was in the floor and put on the sofa! It never happen to me before. I felt too disrespected. What about our privacy, our things!? I wouldn`t recomend it at all!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew J, Manager at Cricket Field House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such an eloquent review of your experience at Cricket Field....
The difference between fact and fiction can sometimes be difficult to spot, and there are always two sides to a story.
We operate Winter check-in between 4pm and 8pm, from March until October, check-in is 2pm - 8pm. Upon check-in we offered you a FREE upgrade which you accepted.
We have been running the business for 30 years now and in that time have learnt a thing or two about guest behaviour. Sometimes a small minority of our guests will go out to dinner (like you) and leave the lights on in their bedrooms, usually it is just an oversight, sometimes however it can lead to something more serious. It is our responsibility to reduce ALL risks, whether it be fire or otherwise and to ensure the safety of all our guests. In the past when lights have been left on in rooms, we have also found televisions left on, showers left running, candles alight and on more than one occasion a bath overflowing. Because of this and despite your insinuations, we are perfectly within our rights to access your room.
With regards to the incident in the morning, I cannot understand why you didn't seek clarification of our check-out times? Surely, that is nothing less than good manners? Breakfast is served between 8am and 9.30am and check-out is by 10.30am, and as you were at Stonehenge we knew not to expect you for breakfast. However at 11.30am, when you had still not checked out, we tried calling the number you provided which was 'not recognised.' I gave permission for my staff to enter your room at 11.40am, and the bed was stripped. You arrived back shortly afterwards. A water bottle and a hat were moved from the bed to the dressing table. No other items were touched.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us but believe your behaviour and inconsiderate actions caused an unpleasant experience for everyone involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very spacious room which even had a seating area and a large walk in wardrobe. The room we were in was in a purpose built annexe attached to the main house, so we had to go outside to the dining room - not a major issue. There is a ramp for disabled visitors, a grab rail and a shower seat, but the shower tray had a lip so is not a wet room for wheelchairs but would be good for older guests. There was plenty of hot water and a nice large shower tray with two sorts of shower head. The room had a nice view of the garden and was very quiet.

There were black marks on the pillowcases, but they were otherwise clean. The duvet had feathers in it which was a problem, but we hadn't thought to request a synthetic one. There was no white sugar for the tea.

The breakfast was tasty and there was plenty of choice.

I would describe the service as adequate, but not effusive. A major black mark is the owners refusal to accept Scottish banknotes claiming the bank would make a charge. This is simply untrue and I view this as very racist and unwelcoming.

The accommodation suited us well but I would be loathe to recommend anywhere that treats visitors from other parts of the UK less favourably than the English.

Room Tip: Good car parking on site. Not in the City Centre but on a bus route and within reasonable walking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellagamba57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were warmly welcomed by the owner and my case was carried to one of the courtyard rooms. We were on the ground floor in a corner room. The room was spacious enough for a settee and a large comfy chair. We were told the bed was new and were asked to try it out and give our view the next morning. It was so comfortable - how I wish they were all like that! The room was very well equipped and even had a trouser press. We were so warm we had to turn down the heating in the middle of winter!

Breakfast was served in the pleasant conservatory and was very varied. A good selection of fruit and alternatives to sugary cereals and high fat food. I had the poached eggs on toast which were very nicely done.

Cricket Field House is on the outskirts of Salisbury and we were pointed to the Park and Ride at Wilton, left out of the gate and about a mile up the road. It was so convenient and efficient. Not worth going by car when this is a good alternative.

We heard no noise from other rooms but they were obviously not full in January and didn't appear to have any meetings there on that night. I would like to have seen the gardens in summer - they looked nice in winter.

We found the family very helpful and pleasant and were amazed to be called by our names at breakfast. We felt we had personalised service and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastport, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We booked into Cricket Field House, for two days in January, based on the Tripadvisor high ratings. Let me tell you what we experienced:
1) Unfriendly, unwelcoming hosts, except for one young man.
2) Heat only provided 6am - 10 am and not again till 4pm - 10 pm; off at all other times. This in the middle of winter.
3 )Absolutely minimal amenities, eg no soap for bath or shower.
4) No telephone in rooms.
5) No staff available after 8pm until 7am next morning. No one to contact in emergency.
6) Breakfast was fine, I wouldn't say superb.
7) We checked into the room at 2pm and were told that the heating would come on at 4pm. When there was no heat at 5:30 pm, we informed the front desk. We were initially dismissed quite rudely, until the young man checked and found that the boiler was broken. We had to move rooms. We were rudely treated as unreasonable complainers until the boiler situation was discovered, and even then apologies from management were cursory. We had to pack up everything and move to another room.
8) This is, at best, an average B & B in an out-of-town location that provides basic services. I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is one of the nicest B & B`s we have stayed in. The rooms are clean and tidy with all the amenities one expects from a good B & B. The breakfasts were very good and lots of choice so that one did not need to look for a morning break.
Very handy for shopping and visits to the local cathedral and some interesting churches. Try St Oswalds and admire the beautiful decoration and stained glass.
A short run down to Whilton there is a shopping outlet with restaurant for those who prefer a quieter couple of hours.
Tip, if you wish to go into town use the buses as the one way system is a bit of a headache.
Tip 2, If you wish to stay here during the peak season then try to book early, We missed out on several occasions because we left it till a couple of weeks before going down to Salisbury.
We would hope to use it again if in the area.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the annex can be a bit noisy with people going up and down stairs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superbadrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.6 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.6 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricket Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket Field House

Property: Cricket Field House
Address: 1 Cricket Field Cottages Wilton Road, Salisbury SP2 9NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cricket Field House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cricket Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket Field Hotel
Cricket Field Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing