We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful place with very helpful owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cricket Field House
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2009

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Cricket Field House and will be eternally grateful for all of the help we got there. The proprietors essentially explained EVERYTHING to us because we were quite clueless.

Our room, number 12, is spacious, comfortable, and has a great bathroom. The bed was fantastic--we so often wake up with bad backs from hotel accommodations, but this bed was as comfortable as can be.

The full English Breakfast was more than expected--in addition to the usual items, which were wonderfully cooked, there was an expansive table full of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts, and other items. The Breakfast room was beautifully decorated--clean and comfortable. The morning newspapers provided included most of England's top daily offerings.

The proprietors were friendly and very helpful. They told us about services (such as Park and Ride) that we would not have discovered on our own.

The location is ideal: adjacent to a real cricket field, all rooms are off the road and very quiet. The views are spectacular. We would not hesitate to stay there again and if we return to Salisbury, a delightful Cathedral city with a great proximity to many of the great stately homes of England, we will stay there again with great pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2009

Have never written a review before, but having stayed at 'Cricketfield House' this weekend i felt i had to write a comment - very clean spacious room with comfy bed, - pleasant staff, - brilliant freshly cooked breakfast - and i would definately recommed it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joandcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Our return visit to Cricketfield House turned out to be just as good as the first, which, when we thought about it was four years ago!! It still cannot be faulted for friendliness, cleanliness and value for money. The 'full english breakfast' really sets you up for the day ahead whether it be sightseeing, relaxing or travelling home. Its location was just right for us as we like to walk although the town is only a few minutes by car, bus or taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_taffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The hotel is a lovely country house. You have a 10 minute bus drive from downtown Salisbury and has: extremely comfortable accommodation, beautiful gardens, a wonderful breakfast and above all, an incredible attention to detail from it's owners and staff.
The cricket field that is next door and their own gardens are the most cute gardens I've ever seen, they are a true delight to the eyes. Our room (a cuadruple) was warmly decorated and you could notice incredible taste and care in every detail. The bathroom was comfortable and functional. The shower had plenty of water pressure and hot water. EVERY single thing that was there worked perfectly! and was very accordingly. We didn't have any problems with the TV or the WiFi (for whom the charge a little fee).
Also, there was an electric teapot for making tea or coffee (which was provided, by the way) and Room Service. The Room Service was quite useful for us, because despite the menu wasn't very long, we could have dinner in our room and discover that they were also really great cooks!
In a gorgeous winter garden is where they serve breakfast and one can see clearly that every detail has been taken into account. Breakfast is awesome and "English traditional". It has everything you can possibly want: fresh fruits, dry fruits, cereal, yogurt, white and dark toasts, mermelade and the obviously traditional dishes: bacon and eggs, sausages, etc.
Attention wise, we'll have to say that Margaret and Brian have been two incredible hosts! They've been extremely generous and helped us when we had to return the rental car because we found very difficult and dangerous for us driving in England (against our transit rules). They had the generosity to get us a last minute ride to Stonehenge's circle, as also to give us indications on where to dine, shop and how to get around in public transportation. Their tips helped us visit the most interesting places in downtown Salisbury, get obviouslly last minute tickets to Oxford (that strangely wasn´t a simple task ...) and get the most of our stay there.
Last but not least: Tripadvisor helped me to choose hotels and to save a lot of money during my holiday. After this trip through the different countries of Europe (Italy, France and England) I discovered that reviews sometimes are uneven because of cultural and social differences of the people that read and write in this page. As in life, everything depends on the expectations you have and of which places, countries or traditions you've known...and obviously, the budget or "stars" that you're used to...
In our case Cricket Field House Hotel was all in all, EXCELLENT, not only for the attention of their whole staff, but for the cleanliness and warmth.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Staff were friendly and welcoming. Happy to answer queries and chat. Room was roomy, clean and comfortable. Double bed and two single beds, ideal for family of four with teenage children. Conveniently located just on fringe of Salisbury. On busy road but didn't have any problems with road noise. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimontroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

The Cricket Field House is a very nice B&B just outside of Salisbury. The owners were very nice and helpful. The room was very rooomy for our family of 4. The location was ideal for our visit to Stonehenge and the full english breakfast was deliciuos. We had an early reservation with a tour guide (Vic's Taxi - excellent choice - see review under stonehenge) so they had breakfast ready for us at 7:00a. If you walk into or back from town ask for directions the back way. It takes you along a very nice park.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pajtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

This is a great B&B, our room was large and spotless and the location was brilliant for us. Tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, local information, good sized tv and king size bed (made up of two beds joined together). The road didn't bother us and we didn't hear any noise from it.

Few annoying points but would not put us off staying again -

The website says they cater for vegetarians - by that they mean choose from everything off the breakfast menu except the meat, there were no vegetarian sausages or bacon etc available. I had told them when I booked my hubby was vegetarian so they could have been more prepared.

The shower was about as powerful as a leaking tap!

There was no plug near the dressing table and for any ladies like me who like their straightners & tongs it was a little annoying!

Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.6 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.5 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.3 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
341 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricket Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricket Field House

Address: 1 Cricket Field Cottages Wilton Road, Salisbury SP2 9NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £74 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cricket Field House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cricket Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket Field Hotel
Cricket Field Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing