We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in the Avon Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Borough Cafe

The Borough Cafe
Ranked #8 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: Cafe, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An oasis in the Avon Valley”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Forgive the strange metaphor in the title of my review: this café has a lot going for it in a sparsely populated area of Wiltshire (near the New Forest. It is popular with locals, and seems also to attract cyclists, especially after deciding last year to open on Sundays. There's a lovely walled patio in the back, and indoor seating on two levels. Service is always friendly.
The food is all home-made: excellent panini, and some good cakes too (the flapjacks are my favourite). The ordinary coffee is very good; with the cappuccino, the "schiuma" (steamed-milk foam) collapsed under the weight of the cocoa powder (not an ingredient of the traditional Italian cappuccino).
My only grumble is that their normally reliable gluten-free was not available on our most recent visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    25
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice, but not worth a special trip”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We needed a place for a quick bite to eat after touring Salisbury Cathedral and we made this our stopping point based on the reviews. The food was good, obviously made with care and a step above the typical, but it was not so outstanding that I would make a long drive to eat there. If I lived in Salisbury, I would definitely patronize this cafe. The folks are very nice and it has a very friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TFidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great home made food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

we used the cafe mainly for snacks all home made and tasty ,great coffee the wife had english grown tea, nice clean cafe with helpful staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A bit if a gem in sleepy Downton”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The Borough Cafe is a lovely little place with homemade salads, sandwiches and very nice coffee. Suspiciously similar to the Boston Tea Party franchise in Salisbury etc but good all the same. Friendly staff too. I've become a but of a regular

Helpful?
Thank Capt_Kendoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for a coffee whilst I had some business in the area. Lovely cafe with pleasant staff. Sat out the front as was lovely weather, watching the world go by. It is a bit busy as it's next to a supermarket, but they do have a courtyard at the rear too. Will visit here again if I'm in the area, might even try the cake next time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Franceboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Borough Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Borough Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing