We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful stay in Salisbury”
Review of Cathedral View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cathedral View
Ranked #1 of 57 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderful stay in Salisbury”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We had a terrific experience when staying with Wenda & Steve in early June. We couldn't believe the location, so close to the Cathedral, and the town too.
Our room was so comfortable, better clean and so quiet. Our breakfast was plentiful, great choice, and fabulously friendly service.
Both Steve and Wenda were so helpful with advice and tips for our stay, just great.
Would stay again, and recommend Cathedral View to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the house, nice and large, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jools1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    44
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
100
333
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I and my partner stayed at Cathedral View back on our holiday through Europe back in April through to June 2011. True to its name the view of the Cathedral is wonderful (it looms so much larger in the flesh than in any photo). The hosts were wonderfully helpful (partially with directions; Salisbury is not easy navigate for the uninitiated in Medieval cities.)
Probably one of the better breakfasts we had for the entire trip too!

Footnote: Consider timing your arrival to avoid peak hour if coming by car.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paracleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Wenda and Steve are wonderful. We were delighted with the central location, the advice on what to see and do and the wonderful friendly atmosphere. The breakfasts were delicious and the rooms were delightful. I have wonderful memories of Salisbury thanks to Wenda and Steve and the Cathedral View B & B!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Wenda and Steve are consummate hosts in this delightful B & B. Great location across the street from the Cathedral Close, wonderful food, comfortable rooms, and great advice on what to see and do in the area. We were especially appreciative of the accommodation to my wife's gluten-free diet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampson46530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

What a brilliant stay. Room was really great and the Breakfast out of this world. The iceing on the cake is Streve and Wanda what a couple nothing is to much trouble and Steve's knowledge of the area is outstanding. Will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchurst Hill
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Despite a rainy two days, an excellent service. Very comfortable room (note shower not bath!) and extraordinary service. Steve gave us all the information needed to get the most from Salisbury including recommendations of where to eat - even with a voucher for a free kia. Breakfast was extraordinary - including toast made from home made bread with home made marmalade - and superbly cooked. Sadly no cathedral view for us as our bedroom faced the back (room 2) but this didn't spoil the overall experience. Access to cathedral close literally five minutes away (once you crossed the busy Exeter Road!) Major surprise was visiting Ted Heath's house in the close - very atmospheric - and make sure that you visit the Medieval Judgement Painting in St Thomas's Church.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hull1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Steve & Wenda provide the best service. A friendly welcome, followed by comfortable rooms. Breakfast was brillant. We enjoyed the extra help with our travel ideas and the local knowledge. We stayed at the end of our trip to Europe and enjoyed the comforts. If we come back that way, it will be our 1st choice.

Room Tip: All rooms were great. The rooms with the view of the Cathedral were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View

Property: Cathedral View
Address: 83 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral View 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral View Bed and Breakfast offers you welcoming accommodation in Salisbury. Our guest house is a most convenient base for visiting the lovely City of Salisbury in Wiltshire. Overlooking Salisbury Cathedral, our Guest House is a Grade II listed Georgian Town House built in 1795. With a magnificent view of Salisbury Cathedral, our B&B is just a minute's walk from St Ann's Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cathedral View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral View Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing