We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Memorable Stay”
Review of Cathedral View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cathedral View
Ranked #2 of 59 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were made to feel welcome right from the time Steve opened the door. The B&B has a wonderful, intimate feel. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. The food was perfect and the conversation around the table was the best part of the whole 2 days in Salisbury. Steve and Wenda could not have been more helpful. My last words to Steve were "we will be back" but not soon enough for me!

Room Tip: Book early, arrive early to get a parking space close to the B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Cathedral View - and yes, a view of the Cathedral right from the room. Clean and comfortable with very accommodating and committed host and hostess. Steve is a great cook (Yum breakfast!) - and I loved the enthusiasm for Salisbury and its sites. Breakfast around the communal table provided great conversation and the chance to make new friends. Great info provided and I loved the hunt for interesting and obscure carvings at the Cathedral. Great location for popping over to the Cathedral more than once - a visit is a must, as is a vist to Magna Carta. I really appreciated the hint on how to be invited into the choir stalls for Evensong - a very, very special experience. All in all, I recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaW5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

When planning our trip to England, I had read great reviews for the Cathedral View B&B in Salisbury. I contacted them, hoping to be able to stay for a week in May. I received an immediate reply from Wenda, and was able to book a week at this charming B&B. In the months before our trip, Wenda was extremely helpful with any question I had concerning Salisbury, transportation, and other points of interest in the surrounding area, including Stonehenge.
Cathedral View is located about a 15 minute easy walk from the train station, and upon our arrival, we were greeted kindly at the door by Steve. He carried our bags to our room, and gave us printed sheets about recommended restaurants and other things to do in Salisbury.
This house is extremely well-kept and cozy. Our breakfasts were made-to-order and always fresh. Steve and Wenda made sure all of their guests had everything they wanted for their breakfast each morning.
Steve and Wenda both are so helpful with whatever you might need while staying at their B&B.
We stayed in Room 3, with an outstanding view of the amazing Cathedral spire, which is only a short distance away. We loved looking out at night and seeing the spire lit up.
I can't say enough good things about this wonderful B&B in the beautiful town of
Salisbury. We loved everything about it, and hated to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Steve and Wenda were so incredibly helpful in anything we asked for and always had great information and history facts to share! They always had a smile on their faces and treated you as family!!! The rooms are perfect and extremely cozy! Our room, room 3, had an absolutely outstanding view of the Salisbury Cathedral that was breathtaking! We received fresh flowers in our room every few days and candies everyday (: the breakfast is absolutely amazing! You feel as if you are staying somewhere much more expensive with the quality and care that you receive! The location is ideal being next to the cathedral, shops, restaurants, pubs and a short walk to the train or bus station!! Plus Salisbury is such a gorgeous town! You can't go wrong with this B&B! You will not regret it in the slightest!! Thank you Steve and Wenda for your absolutely wonderful services and for sharing your beautiful home!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArabianHorseFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at Cathedral View this week for a short sightseeing break. Wenda and Steve were perfect hosts who went above and beyond to be welcoming and helpful during our stay. Steve provided excellent factsheets to help us find our way around the city and had a wealth of knowledge about the history and culture of the city.The breakfasts were generous and delicious. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the bed was made every day. There were fresh flowers in our room too. We would definitely stay at Cathedral View again, and would recommend this B&B to anyone else who wanted to explore the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A stay in Cathedral View is a stay in the best that England has to offer. OK, it's not a posh ritzy hotel, with extravagance and impersonality. Staying here is like staying with your best friends that really care about you and your visit. Their home is lovely, with little homey touches throughout that add to the charm and comfort.
Steve and Wenda welcomed us with smiles and information. Steve brought our bags up to our room for us. Our room was on the second floor with a lovely view out the window. There is no elevator, but the highest floor is the second (2 flights up, would be called the third floor in North America) and the climb is not bad unless you have difficulty with stairs. The staircase is original and it is fun just imagining the stories it could tell.
The room was small, but had 2 very comfortable single beds and a lovely bathroom. It had everything that we needed. One thing to mention, however, is to be sure to find out how to work the shower at check in. We ended up taking a bath because we never did figure it out. ( We were only staying one night and leaving early so we didn't get an opportunity to ask.)

The location is awesome, just around the corner from the gate into the Cathedral Close.

Breakfast was delicious, with a great selection of cereals, homemade bread, homemade jams yogurt and fresh fruit with coffee, tea and juice. What made this all the more spectacular is that Steve rose early to make this for us before their usual serving time!! Did I mention how great Steve and Wenda are? We were very impressed. Fianlly, to cap off an amazing stay, they saved our touring day when our ride to Stonehenge didn't show up. Steve located a taxi for us and had us on our way n time to make our early Stonehenge tour!!

This is THE place to stay in Salisbury.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewfoundlandDorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a wonderful B&B, just a few steps away from Salisbury Cathedral and within very easy reach of the city centre. My room was delightful, perfectly equipped and with a smashing view of the spire. The breakfast was great, thumbs up for the vegetarian sausage and the homemade jams in particular. Best of all: the hosts, Wanda and Steve, are marvellous. They were very friendly and welcoming to all their guests, and Steve provides some really helpful information about the sights and eateries of Salisbury. I highly recommend a stay here, and plan to return myself one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citizenkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.5 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
341 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View

Address: 83 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £98 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral View 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral View Bed and Breakfast offers you welcoming accommodation in Salisbury. Our guest house is a most convenient base for visiting the lovely City of Salisbury in Wiltshire. Overlooking Salisbury Cathedral, our Guest House is a Grade II listed Georgian Town House built in 1795. With a magnificent view of Salisbury Cathedral, our B&B is just a minute's walk from St Ann's Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cathedral View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral View Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing