We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and friendly welcome”
Review of Cathedral View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cathedral View
Ranked #2 of 59 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Lovely place to stay with great accommodation. Excellent breakfast - vegetarians - so we were well looked after. Our trip was on the crazy stormy day on 23rd December so appreciated the warm and cosy room to dry out. Perfect location. Thank you Steve and Wenda - hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinet469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very much a top quality B and B set in a lovely georgian terraced house. It was a very warm welcome when we arrived with great info on good places to eat and directions for our shopping the next day. (Just a five minute walk to the city centre). Very well equipped room is one thing this B and B has but it is the little things that make it really memorable, like the delicious hand made cookies on the tea tray rather than the normal shortbread packet as in other places. Also as everyone else has commented on, breakfast was delicious and again with the touches like fantastic home baked bread for our toast. So very happy to recommend to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was our second stay at this excellent B&B, Once again Wenda and Steve were excellent hosts with a vast knowledge of the area, our 2 day stay was very good, our room was very clean and the bed was very big and comfortable, again the breakfast is the best I've had with so much to choose from and also there home made bread and jams are very good. we enjoyed our stay. and will be recommending the cathedral view's to our friends. I could go on forever, this is a 5 star B&B.

Room Tip: room 2 nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1madmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We have just come back from a two night break in Salisbury and stayed in this great bed and breakfast. Steve was a mine of information and very helpful. We were given a street map, information sheets on the cathedral and other historic buildings in Salisbury together with a map showing recommended restaurants. Steve made sure that we made the most of our short stay by giving us tips and directions which saved us a lot of valuable time. The Choral Evensong in the Cathedral was wonderful.

Steve and Wenda provided us with a delicious breakfast, homemade bread, preserves and fresh fruit salad along with a full English breakfast and scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. We did not stay there long enough to taste the other delicacies on the menu.

Our room was spotless, warm and the beds extremely comfortable. It was lovely to wake up to a view of the Cathedral. Our room overlooked a street that led to the city centre, but there were very few vehicles passing during the night and we had no trouble sleeping right through, even with the double glazed window open on the first night, and, believe you me, we would have noticed if there was a problem because our home is out ‘in the sticks’ with no passing traffic and we are used to silence when we go to bed.

Cathedral View is an easy scenic 20 minute walk from the station, a 5 minute walk from the city centre, adjacent to the Cathedral and has free parking opposite (with a permit provided by the hosts).

Steve and Wenda were very welcoming and friendly and we will have no hesitation in booking into Cathedral View the next time we visit Salisbury.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have just spent a weekend at Cathedral View and we had such a wonderful stay. Steve and Wenda were lovely hosts that make you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. We were given many tips from Steve on how to get the most out of our stay, and thanks to him we saw the Cathedral lit up at night which was stunning! The breakfasts were superb, loved the homemade fruit salad and the homemade jams! The extras you get here make this B and B stand out, the delicious homemade cookies from Wenda and the fresh flowers in the room to name just two. Has our great Aunt summed it up "Superb in every way" We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suebWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have never completed a review on tripadvisor but this was so good, I felt it would be unfair if I didn't.

Steve and Wenda were brilliant hosts from the moment we arrived on Saturday 23rd to the day we left on Monday 25th.
A friendly welcome from Steve awaited us when we entered followed by a fantastic bundle of literature with things to do, places to eat and walking routes.
We were situated in room 4 which we were already aware had twin beds but they very kindly accomodated us and the beds had been pushed together with one super king size sheet and duvet. The view was as described, of the cathedral!

There was more literature in the room and even a guide on how to use the remote.
Small touches like choccys on the side of the bed and home made cookies (yum yum) were delightful. The en suite was immaculate and modern (I would've loved the shower to be a tad more powerful but I really am splitting hairs there) with a fantastic amount of towels available.

On the way downstairs for our first evening, we collected a couple of sweets from the bowels situated halfway down (more yum) and made our decision where we were going to eat from Steve's handy map. Another great perk from this B&B was that Steve and Wenda had arranged discounts on a few of the resturants if we mentioned we were staying at Cathedral View. We did and no questions were asked, brilliantly simple.

There was a great choice on offer for breakfast and we went for the delicious full English with local produce. Wenda introduced us to other guests staying which led to a friendly conversational atmosphere.

We had mentioned on the phone prior to booking that we were looking for somewhere with parking. The B&B is opposite parking bays and while they were free evenings and Sundays, we would need a permit during the week. When we walked back to Cathedral View on Sunday evening after a lovely recommended (discounted) dinner, I thought 'I must ask about parking for Monday'. Sure enough on arrival back there was a permit waiting for me no questions asked.

Steve gave us more great advice on how not to lose bits of our car in the monkeys enclosure at Longleat, the best times to go to the cathedral and how best to get to Stonehenge (with some history thrown in too!).

To top this all off, after we checked out on Monday, we left our car while looking round the city. Later in the day my partner realised she left her phone charger in the room and on our way back we noticed Steve and Wenda had left a note on our car to call back in.

Everything you want from a B&B they do brilliantly and all the little things they do even better. I would not think twice about staying anywhere else should we come back to Salisbury.

James & Emily.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We wanted to be in the centre of Salisbury, and Cathedral View was perfect. What we did not expect were maps for guided walks, and in Steve a mine of local information - a gold mine. We followed his suggestions around the cathedral and in town and they were perfect skeletons for our explorations. Good conversation leavened full English breakfasts, especially tasty because of the local sausage, eggs and bacon. The special deal for dinner at the Cloisters was also appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Relax_and_live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#15 of 16 in Salisbury
591 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View

Address: 83 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £99 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral View 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral View Bed and Breakfast offers you welcoming accommodation in Salisbury. Our guest house is a most convenient base for visiting the lovely City of Salisbury in Wiltshire. Overlooking Salisbury Cathedral, our Guest House is a Grade II listed Georgian Town House built in 1795. With a magnificent view of Salisbury Cathedral, our B&B is just a minute's walk from St Ann's Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Cathedral View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral View Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing