We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like we were staying with family relatives!”
Review of Cathedral View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cathedral View
Ranked #1 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Felt like we were staying with family relatives!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

After a 13 hour flight, then a delay getting bags and hire car, followed by an hour and a half drive from Heathrow, It was lovely to be warmly welcomed at the door by name by Steve. It felt like we had arrived home, even though we had never met before.
Our room was lovely, and beautifully set up. The location is perfect as walking distance to everything. Steve armed us with plenty of useful information, both prior to and upon our arrival.
Breakfast time was a real treat, with delicious, locally sourced produce...and plenty of it. We enjoyed meeting the other guests and hearing their stories too.
Steve and Wenda really have the mix right for a B and B...a fabulous place to stay if you are heading to Salisbury. We definitely would recommend it to you.

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms but ours was very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    44
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
104
345
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I cannot say enough good things about Cathedral View B&B in beautiful Salisbury. Steve and Wenda are welcoming and warm owners of this charming place which is just down the street from one of the historic gates into the Cathedral neighborhood. It is also a short walk to great pubs, stores, buses, and all the lovely historic sites in Salisbury.

Most of all, Steve and Wenda are welcoming and do everything possible to make one's stay something special. I was traveling by bus and train which can be challenging and they helped me plan my days and also print out directions for my next stop which was in South Wales. Steve encouraged me to hear Evensong in the Cathedral which is one of my cherished memories, that and the unforgettable Close in full Spring bloom.

They also cook the most delicious breakfasts one could hope to eat. It is homemade breads and preserves, perfectly cooked eggs and all the extras. The rooms are so comfortable and inviting. This is a perfectly run B&B which you should book when visiting one of the loveliest cities in England.

Room Tip: Check out the reviews. All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Wenda and Steve get everything right from the things you expect to the nice extra touches. Lollies in a bowl half way up the stairs, maps and directions to suit what you want, homemade jam and bread and close attention to detail are all part of the stay.
Parking in a city and a country infested with cars is included, close by and worth a lot and the house overlooks the Cathedral Close so we were moments away from the wonderful architectural, cultural and historic precinct.
The owners really know their town and they know their business. They combine a highly professional approach with a real interest in making sure guests are treated as individuals.
We stay in a lot of B and B's including in the UK and Cathedral View is as good as any and better than most.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynden L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

After several failed attempts to find a suitable room for my father and I in Salisbury, I chanced across the number for Cathedral View in a brochure. This turned out to be the greatest stroke of luck for our entire visit. Steve and Wenda were not only the consummate host and hostess with excellent people skills, food and a beautiful setting, their willingness to extend above and beyond expectations displays their wonderful humanity as well. Steve's knowledge of the area and what t has to offer is second to none and I personally found every nudge he gave to be perfectly in the right direction. I thoroughly enjoyed Salisbury, and when (not if) I return, I will be ringing Cathedral View first!

Room Tip: Just ask...they will have something to suit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Steven and Wenda are wonderful hosts. They made us feel welcome from the beginning of
our stay until the end. The breakfast was hearty or light, depending on our taste - special
kudos for the perfect poached egg and delicious cut up fruit. Location, location, location -
so much within a walkable distance, Salisbury Cathedral as well as downtown. Bus from
downtown got us to Stonehenge, an impressive sight and still full of mystery. All in all, we
were happy that we had the good fortune to be the guests of Wenda and Steve.

Room Tip: Cathedral B & B has a choice of beds. It might be a good idea to ask for twin beds, double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vermonters2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Steve and Wenda are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. They go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. The location is ideal for visiting the cathedral and the town itself.
Breakfast was exceptional with lots of homemade produce . If you come to Salisbury you must stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitramhalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and I began our visit to South West England in Salisbury at Cathedral View. We loved it. Wenda and Steve were very welcoming, friendly, and a fountain of knowledge about the area. We stayed 4 nights, and had a great experience. We explored Salisbury and used it as a base to explore the area. Our only wish was that Avebury had been easier to access via public transit. Unfortunately we were not able to get there. Wish we had time to follow all Steve's suggestions, but there is so much to see and do we ran out of time. He recommended the Cloister Pub, and we enjoyed it so much we went back every night.
Beds were comfortable, breakfast was great, bathroom was great, spotlessly clean, and home made cookies. Great central location across from the Cathedral. What could be better.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
985 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View

Property: Cathedral View
Address: 83 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral View 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral View Bed and Breakfast offers you welcoming accommodation in Salisbury. Our guest house is a most convenient base for visiting the lovely City of Salisbury in Wiltshire. Overlooking Salisbury Cathedral, our Guest House is a Grade II listed Georgian Town House built in 1795. With a magnificent view of Salisbury Cathedral, our B&B is just a minute's walk from St Ann's Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cathedral View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral View Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing