We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!!”
Review of Cathedral View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cathedral View
Ranked #1 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Cathedral View is the perfect place to stay! Steve and Wenda are the best hosts. The rooms are lovely, the beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. Wenda even makes homemade cookies for the tea and coffee tray provided in each room.
Simply wonderful! We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysticaltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Cathedral View
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

After a long, hot and sticky travel, we were graciously invited in to a most welcomed cool, refreshing fruit drink. Wenda and Steve are genuinely kind and accommodating hosts. Their communication in facilitating our trip to Salisbury from York made our trip so much easier. The B&B location is perfect. They are an absolute wealth of information from local area sites to where ever you may be traveling. The accommodations were wonderful--neat, clean, and who can beat a perfect view of the cathedral! The breakfasts were phenomenal--Steve's home baked bread and homemade jellies topped off the mornings, as well as a traditional English breakfast. This was definitely our favorite stay while in the UK. Our only regret is that our stay was too short! We hope to return sometime in the future. Thank you, Wenda and Steve! You two are absolutely incredible people!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Wenda and Steve are wonderful hosts! We arrived at the BnB after a very stressful day traveling. Wenda's cup of tea was the perfect fix! Steve is a fountain of information about the area. The BnB is almost literally across the street from Salisbury Cathedral which makes for a lovely evening or early morning stroll. Wenda and Steve make an effort to introduce their guests to each other so you feel like you are staying with a group of friends. It makes breakfast very pleasant. There are some good dining options near by. There is also a popular meeting point for Stonehenge tours within walking distance. Oh - breakfast is really good too! I gave the BnB a 4 instead of 5 because there is no air conditioning which - is totally understandable considering the era of the building - but can be an issue in July. There are windows but no way to get cross ventilation. I think this would be an ideal place in Fall or Spring. The location is certainly ideal for seeing the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great service and attention to detail in comfortably appointed, quiet room. Perfectly situated for exploring the cathedral, city and local countryside. Steve's knowledge and guide made sure all highlights were covered, including pointers to some of the best local restaurants.Breakfasts were lovely and Wenda's kind attention when I left something behind ensured I received it back swiftly. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Steve and Wenda could not have been more accommodating. They were so helpful with everything. It was the most pleasant B&B that I have stayed in. The location was excellent, as well. We had a superb time there.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzmikemoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had such a nice stay at the B&B Cathedral View. It's very well located, we met wonderful people during the delicious breakfast and the room was very clean and beautiful!

Wenda and Steve are very nice and all the restaurants they suggested were amazing and not expensive. An extra plus also for the free private parking :-)

@ Wenda & Steve: Thank you for everything, we certainly come back soon! You are also very welcome in Nuremberg if you are in Bavaria - you know: we have the most famous Christmas Market!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank annasperber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for one night. Steve and Wenda were very helpful and gave us printed information about Salisbury and also gave us other advice. The B&B is right next to the cathedral grounds and, yes, we could see the spire from our window. Breakfast was very nice with a choice of dishes and home made jams etc. The room was good and the shower fairly powerful (often in the UK you only get a dribble of water). We were given a parking permit to park nearby. There was a cooling fan in the room which we used a bit.

The breakfast room is not huge, so if they are busy you may be given a time slot to have breakfast in.

The B&S is near various one way roads so it may be worth planning how you will approach it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UnfortunateFursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View

Address: 83 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £95 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cathedral View 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral View Bed and Breakfast offers you welcoming accommodation in Salisbury. Our guest house is a most convenient base for visiting the lovely City of Salisbury in Wiltshire. Overlooking Salisbury Cathedral, our Guest House is a Grade II listed Georgian Town House built in 1795. With a magnificent view of Salisbury Cathedral, our B&B is just a minute's walk from St Ann's Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cathedral View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral View Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing