We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you could want for a stay in salisbury.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spire House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Spire House
Ranked #6 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“All you could want for a stay in salisbury.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Spire house is a fine establishment: convenient for shops and sights with well-equipped, elegantly-decorated rooms and welcoming hosts john and lois.wouldnt hesitate to book again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olympicefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    75
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
121
289
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

So, where else would you stay when in Salisbury? Very filling breakfast, great hosts, so close to the shops and cathedral. Beautiful city too!
Yet again, amazing time! Thank you guys..you know I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwifeSharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spire, Owner at Spire House, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you so much for the review and for returning to Spire House for the 2nd time this year. Once again thanks for the lovely flowers.John and I would be absolutely delighted to see you again, just give us some warning so we can get plenty of chocolate biscuits in :) PS Now buying salted butter not the unsalted we used to have, we do listen to our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had a very nice one-day stop in Spire House. We could very well have stayed for at least one more night, to see more of Salisbury and perhaps do some shopping. As it was, we concentrated on the cathedral and the cathedral close area.

Spire House is an in an excellent location for visiting the cathedral and the older, central parts of Salisbury. You should also take time to walk the Town path, to get the view of the beautiful cathedral with the fields in between (the "Constable view").

Our rooms in Spire House were both very nice (we had two rooms for 3 people). We enjoyed our stay very much, the breakfast was lovely and John and Lois very helpful with advice and directions. Also very thoughtful to provide extra free water in the unusual heat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NielsKlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My family arrived there earlier than the usual check-in time. John and Lois are such nice persons, even though they were not at home, they helped us to get into the room and place our luggage. Every decoration in the room is so lovely, all my family members love this cozy room since we first saw it. The breakfast is indeed a worthy choice, delicious croissants and pastry gives you a nice start of the day. Spire House is the most beautiful and friendly house my family have stayed, definitely would recommend this place to everyone else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at Spire House for four nights nights at the beginning of August whilst we were visiting Salisbury in order to sing the services at the Cathedral. Our stay was absolutely fantastic and we really enjoyed the hospitality of John and Lois. Nothing was too much trouble and they genuinely take pride in ensuring that their guests have a great stay.

Parking on the road outside the guest house was absolutely fine and John ensured that we always had the relevant parking permits for our stay. Breakfast was very well cooked and delicious. Our room (room 4) was spacious (for a B&B in the UK), very tastefully decorated and cleaned immaculately every day. The fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge was a nice touch as were the complimentary fruit, biscuits and snacks in the room. Everything has been thought of, including a box of useful extras that you might well have forgotten (transformer plugs, spare toothbrush etc).

The only very minor niggle was the shower in the bathroom was not particularly powerful but there is little that can be done to resolve that and this did nothing to detract from our stay.

Exactly how every B&B should be run and fantastic value for money.

Room Tip: Room 4 was at the top of the house. Nice room with a great view of the Cathedral spire from the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Br0ther_afr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwerte, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a really wonderful time at Spire House!
Our room was large and nicely decorated and spotless clean.
John and Lois are wonderful hosts, incredibly friendly and extremly attentive: Since it was so hot there were fresh sheets available and fruits and water for free.
The breakfast is definately worth the money. Had the best porridge I have had so far.
Parking was no problem at all, John even came in one morning warning us that our parking permit was runing off.
We really can't think of a thing that could have been done better!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Defrost_Hallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were at a family wedding and could walk to the reception which was great. Fantastic view over Cathedral from front though there was traffic noise at night in front room. Back rooms were quiet. John and Lois were great hosts. Breakfast at 5 pounds was worth it!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spire House

Property: Spire House
Address: 84 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Spire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire House Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing