We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Salisbury!”
Review of Spire House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spire House
Ranked #7 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Citrus Heights, CA
1 review
“Wonderful Stay in Salisbury!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Spire House in Salisbury. Ours hosts were lovely -- friendly -- and helpful. They gave us great recommendations for dining in the area, as well as for places to visit and ways to get there (taking the sight-seeing bus to nearby Stonehenge was a GREAT idea!). We ended up staying in two different rooms due to our last-minute change of dates, and they were both comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was great (though, unlike most of the B&B's we stayed at in England, it was an extra charge). Parking is a bit tricky, since it's on a busy street, but John gave us a guest pass so we parked for free once we found a spot. The spires of the cathedral were in view right outside our window....the location is great, within walking distance of both the cathedral and the town itself. Would love to go back for a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    76
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
122
293
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Pros - Lois and John could not have been nicer. Nothing was too much trouble and we got the feeling that they genuinely liked interacting with their guests.
Cons - The house is quite small and on a not so great street. We were in room 1 which was facing the street which had street traffic noise through the night. Room 2 seemed bigger and would be quieter. While the breakfast was very good, it seemed strange to have to pay extra for the breakfast at a B &B.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 due to street noise. Room 2 would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank C. S. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spire, Owner at Spire House, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi Firstly as always I am thankful that previous guests take the time to review Spire House. I was rather surprised at the comments in this review and decided to reply even though I am on holiday myself :) Yes Exeter Street is busy but the same as any market town or small city.Our visitors stay with us because of our location, everything is within easy walking distance so no need to drive the car and find what parking is available, this is always costly (our parking is free)
Salisbury has over a hundred pubs and eating places so many guests especially the younger ones do not require breakfast in the morning. So to offer options and stay in line with new trends we lowered our room price and made breakfast an optional extra costing five pounds. This is obviously very good value for what you actual get.
With reference to the appearance of the street, on this subject I really strongly disagree. The whole road has a variety of historic houses facing onto the Close Wall (approx 800 years old) and the Cathedral itself is on view from the front of the house and about a minutes walk away. It is regarded locally as one of the premium streets in Salisbury. Our house is a large Georgian Grade 2 listed property (largerst on Exeter Street)with a special feature particular to Salisbury and protected because of historical interest, an Oriel Window. This classic window is part of the room where this guest stayed.Room one is actually larger than Room 2 because of this outstanding feature. Staying in B&B accommodation offers the chance to enjoy someone's home and experience features other than the usual hotel uniformity . Having said all that I am going back to enjoy my holiday :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and were very happy with the comfortable accommodations and the helpful hosts. The rooms had all the conveniences of home (even a British electricity adaptor for Americans) and the breakfasts were very yummy! Lois and John were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and tips on what to be sure and see in the area. Lois even provided us with a map of England that we greatly appreciated. We would definitely stay here again and in fact stopped back by Salisbury on our return to London and tried to book a room again but they were full. They referred us the the Cathedral View B&B next door (which was very helpful) and so we stayed there instead. Also, a very nice B&B.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street with the cathedral view are nice but if street traffic will keep you awake a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fashionistamama815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, BC
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights and had a very enjoyable stay. The hosts were very welcoming and while John showed me where I could park the car and gave me a parking permit, Lois was showing my wife on a map all the places to go, restaurants and pubs to check out in Salisbury. It was extremely helpful in planning our time. Also they gave us their card which would get us a free bottle of wine at the Cote restaurant. We went to the restaurant and had a great meal and got the free bottle of wine. Classy touch, thanks! Our room was beautifully decorated in a modern style and my wife loved all the little touches. The room was very clean and it had a bay window overlooking the street where you could sit with tea or wine and people watch. You could also see the cathedral tower and spire from the room. The place is in a perfect location just minutes from all the places in Salisbury. Breakfast is included but if you want a hot breakfast it is 5.00 pounds and we did that and it was good. Try the walk across the water meadows to the Old Mill pub, it's a nice easy walk. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delta_BCRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The B&B is very close to Salisbury Cathedral and about 4 blocks from downtown. Consequently, it is close to, yet not in downtown Salisbury. John, the proprietor, was very friendly and helpful. We greatly appreciated his restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was very good. We'd happily stay there again, although we will probably seek a room that does not overlook the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

It was exactly as described. The location was only a short walk from the train station and excellent for visiting the cathedral. The hosts were warm, welcoming and very helpful. Our room was tastefully decorated and clean with all the comforts of home. Breakfast is extra but delicious and recommended.

Room Tip: Due to the central location, we could hear a bit of street noise from our front room. If you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SheelaghBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hosts John and Lois made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean, with all the necessary amenities you need. We parked right on the street outside the B&B as the hosts provided free parking permits during our stay. As it was a short walk into town, we enjoyed being car free for a few days. The B&B is opposite the cathedral and only a 5 mins walk to the town. This was a great find and a perfect place to stay on a weekend exploring Salisbury. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie7185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
986 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
881 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.7 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spire House

Property: Spire House
Address: 84 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Spire House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Spire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire House Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing