We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful gem in the heart of the city”
Review of Spire House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spire House
Ranked #7 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We spent 2 nights at Spire House last weekend and we totally loved it. John and Lois are warm welcoming wonderful people and just lovely to deal with. The house is beautiful and spotlessly clean and we were in room 1 on the first floor which has in the past received negative comments regarding the noise. We would like to completely dispel this and say there was no noise from the road or other guests in the house. The breakfast was delicious and having the ability to park without additional cost was a big bonus. The B&B was ideally located within a few minutes walk of the city centre and extremely easy to locate. We would have no hesitation is staying there again should we have a reason to revisit Salisbury.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We arrived in Salisbury much earlier than the 4.00 p.m. booking time, we called the proprietor to ask if we could park the car whilst we went shopping. We were delighted when told our room was ready and so we could book in. John the proprietor even got in our car to show my husband where to park!
We were in a room at the front of the house, it had a large bay window overlooking a busy road, the noise from the traffic was at a minimum so did not disturb us at all and we had the best two nights sleep ever! Lovely comfy bed! The room a touch too warm for us but this was no problem as we just turned the radiator down to a temperature that suited us both. Lots of nice amenities in the room, tea/coffee making facilities, tissues, alarm clock etc. Lovely bathroom, but need to take care as to only put loo paper in to prevent any blockage, we did not find this a problem at all. We had a sneaky look in another bedroom, all the bedrooms appear to be decorated to a high standard as are the bathrooms, and all immaculately clean. The only disappointment for us was that we were expecting a great view of the Cathedral but all we could see was the top of the spire as there is a large building in the way.
John was great at suggesting places to visit, he gave us a detailed map and drew directions on to how best to get to places. He also suggested several restaurants to eat in.
You order breakfast for the next morning by writing your room number and breakfast of choice on a small blackboard in the hallway, breakfast consists of pastries and toast, fruit and porridge or eggs and bacon with toast. We had the eggs and bacon which came perfectly cooked with as much toast as you wanted, a variety of preserves, orange juice and excellent coffee.
The B&B is conveniently situated and is within walking distance of The Cathedral and Shopping Area. I visited with my Husband, the main purpose was to have a nice weekend away, and also to do some Christmas Shopping, this was helped by a visit to the Christmas Market.
All in all we had a wonderful weekend, we would definately recommend a stay in Spire House and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lindaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This reminds you of the huge difference between the formulaic nature of hotels and the world of the B&B where you only know what you will see and feel once you have left. Spire House was a charming one-night stay for us in early December. A beautifully furnished and decorated room, excellent value breakfast - the porridge hit all the right spots - and first class hospitality brings a smile to the face as you depart; you made a right choice! Fair value for money and excellent location, the only negative was the occasional traffic noise in the road-side bedroom. As someone who has a house with NO traffic whatsoever, I am very hard to please on this matter. The only facet which prevented an excellent rating was the quality (i.e. water pressure) of the shower, which needs a boost.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthWalesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Faulkner's B&B is most welcoming. Their rooms are very clean and comfortable, as is the bathroom. Breakfast, my favorite meal of the day, was made to order and served at the time we selected. Our street side room was quiet even with heavy traffic throughout the day. The location across from the cathedral suited us perfectly. We were without a car, yet everything we needed was within an easy walk, including a number of very good pubs. A happy adventure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jerome K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Spire House B & B is absolutely wonderful. Sparkling clean accomodations with well informed, helpful and efficient hosts. The furnishings were new and tastfully done. The bathroom was modern and flawless. With Salisbury being such a high traffic town, parking with the permit included in the room was a huge asset. We had a wonderful view from our huge bow window of the spire of the cathedral. Spire House B & B is the place to stay!!

Room Tip: The front room with the bow window has a fantastic view. Traffic noise in the street was minimal. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dburi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Had a very pleasant stay. John and his wife are ever so friendly I was stay on a work trip they were amazing. Rooms are so cosy and confortable with is eye to detail including fruit in the rooms as well as tea and coffee. Breakfast was a real treat freshly prepared.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just wanted to say thank you to Lois and
John for making us feel very welcome, if only for one night. The rooms were warm and comfortable.
Highly recommend as the location was just across from the Salisbury Cathedral.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank LeanneNoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.4 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
817 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peartree Serviced Apartments Salisbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spire House

Address: 84 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £80 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spire House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Spire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire House Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing