We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spire House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spire House
Ranked #7 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here on short notice when we had to stop in Salisbury for the night. Lois and John were very friendly and made us very welcome. Lois was happy to give us information about the area to help us find our way around. The room was beautiful, clean and comfy! Look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    75
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
121
289
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Spire House was my first experience with B&Bs....I have to say it surpassed anything that I could have wanted. The amazing location and wonderful hosts makes this a must stay for people traveling to Salisbury. The breakfast was delicious, John and Lois were extremely helpful and friendly, the beds were clean and comfortable, and the view and closeness of the cathedral was unbelievable. Thank you John and Lois for a wonderful first experience in Salisbury, I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ashleyhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a beautiful guest house. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. John and Lois the proprietors were lovely, so warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. We also opted for the breakfast which was beautiful. Thank you both for a lovely overnight stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

A perfect room, with lots of small touches that make the experience exactly what you want. Wine glasses in room, small snacks and a fridge, Very warm welcome, and knowledgeable hosts.
Cannot pick any holes in our stay at all, our only disappointment was that we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarcusDeHorsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The greeting from John and Lois was as sunny and friendly as the weather as we arrived (early) for our weekend in Salisbury. They could not have been more helpful in showing us around and giving advice on what to see and where to eat (and drink) in the city. The room was quirky but appropriate for what turned out to be an interesting and quirky city. Only a couple of minutes walk and we arrived at the magnificent Cathedral which is, more or less, in the centre of the city. I have to agree with Bill Bryson in that Salisbury Cathedral is the most beautiful building in the country and the Cathedral close looked wonderful bathed in early Spring sunlight. The whole city is charming with it`s narrow streets and plenty of old buildings. Just beware of the traffic - it sometimes took an age to cross the main streets. But after an excellent breakfast we were ready for the sightseeing and there is lots to do. I would recommend Salisbury and Spire House to
anyone who is looking for an interesting and friendly city break, or a base from which to explore the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very welcoming and both John and Lois were very helpful with information about the area where to eat, where to visit etc.
Delicious breakfast and beautiful room.
Parking was on the main road but this wasn't a problem.
Extremely handy for cathedral and town. Tour to the top of the spire is well worth it, hard work with lots of steps but absolutely excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of cathedral are on main road but we didn't find noise a problem with double gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Living a 30 min drive from Salisbury, an overnight stay wasn't essential to attend a concert at City Hall but we wanted to treat ourselves. Spire House was the perfect choice - Lois & John are charming and their hospitality excellent. Looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank corimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spire House

Property: Spire House
Address: 84 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Spire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire House Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing