We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post marathon getaway.”
Review of Spire House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spire House
Ranked #7 of 59 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked Spire House via booking .com, but Ms Lois kept us updated through e mails. She let us check in early. The location of this B & B is excellent. Walking distance to all necessities. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The Wi-fi worked perfectly for us. The in room amenities were very useful such as a small fridge, electric kettle, tea and coffee etc. The breakfast was delicious. John and Lois were perfect hosts. John booked a taxi for us to go to the train station and the taxi was there on time. ( It is walking distance to the train station, but we had big luggage)

Salisbury was the highlight of our trip. John and Lois certainly contributed to making that so.

Room Tip: Our room was very good. No complaints. We would recommend Spire House to anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had the front bedroom (#1) with a great view of the Cathedral spire. Lois and John were very helpful, both before we arrived (making restaurant suggestions/booking a table) and while we were there. Would definitely recommend Spire House as a base for exploring Salisbury and its environs.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here on short notice when we had to stop in Salisbury for the night. Lois and John were very friendly and made us very welcome. Lois was happy to give us information about the area to help us find our way around. The room was beautiful, clean and comfy! Look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Spire House was my first experience with B&Bs....I have to say it surpassed anything that I could have wanted. The amazing location and wonderful hosts makes this a must stay for people traveling to Salisbury. The breakfast was delicious, John and Lois were extremely helpful and friendly, the beds were clean and comfortable, and the view and closeness of the cathedral was unbelievable. Thank you John and Lois for a wonderful first experience in Salisbury, I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ashleyhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a beautiful guest house. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. John and Lois the proprietors were lovely, so warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. We also opted for the breakfast which was beautiful. Thank you both for a lovely overnight stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A perfect room, with lots of small touches that make the experience exactly what you want. Wine glasses in room, small snacks and a fridge, Very warm welcome, and knowledgeable hosts.
Cannot pick any holes in our stay at all, our only disappointment was that we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarcusDeHorsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The greeting from John and Lois was as sunny and friendly as the weather as we arrived (early) for our weekend in Salisbury. They could not have been more helpful in showing us around and giving advice on what to see and where to eat (and drink) in the city. The room was quirky but appropriate for what turned out to be an interesting and quirky city. Only a couple of minutes walk and we arrived at the magnificent Cathedral which is, more or less, in the centre of the city. I have to agree with Bill Bryson in that Salisbury Cathedral is the most beautiful building in the country and the Cathedral close looked wonderful bathed in early Spring sunlight. The whole city is charming with it`s narrow streets and plenty of old buildings. Just beware of the traffic - it sometimes took an age to cross the main streets. But after an excellent breakfast we were ready for the sightseeing and there is lots to do. I would recommend Salisbury and Spire House to
anyone who is looking for an interesting and friendly city break, or a base from which to explore the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.4 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spire House

Address: 84 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £68 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spire House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Spire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire House Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing