We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable friendly b&b in a great location”
Review of Spire House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spire House
Ranked #7 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a cosy historic house a stones throw from the Cathedral and from the centre of town. Our room was spacious and very nicely furnished. Thebed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small and unusually shaped but makes the most of the avaiable space. It is situated on a busy road but our room at the back had no noise issue and a voucher they provided enabled us topark on this road directly opposite the hotel. Our hosts were charming friendly and helpfull. We felt this was a great choice for a short city visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulb1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Spire House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

First, Lois and Jon are terrific. Quick with a laugh and always smiling! The B&B is small, cozy and in my opinion: just right! We had 2 rooms on the top floor, our 3 teenagers in the triple--they loved each having their own comfy beds and they loved the WIFI! My husband and I in the double room was decorated to perfection I still think of the color palette with fond memories. Yes the traffic was a bit noisy but honestly it's not bad during sleeping hours. Breakfast was a joy in the private dining room. Excellent food too. It was fun just being able to be with my family alone and just be ourselves. I highly recommend this B&B, it's a personal experience that you won't get in a hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was a little cramped but ok. The triple room was very small and the kettle was in a small alcove above one of the beds, so one had to make a cup of tea whilst kneeling on the bed. The TV was also in the same alcove. There was no fridge nor any fruit, as promised on the ads, so this was a disappointment. The B & B was situated on a very busy main road and this made it difficult to load and unload the car.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 550Frances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spire, Owner at Spire House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Oh dear what a shame, we try hard but honestly you can't please everyone.
We are not a hotel, this is a historic house in the middle of a busy city and its our home.
We have received this review on another web site already and I explained we do not advertise a fridges in all the rooms. We have a huge bowl of fruit in the hall with a notice on the wall of the stairway explaining where it is. We put the fruit in the hall as so many people did not eat it in the rooms and it had to be thrown away.There was no mention of the many other snacks in the room.In a recent Hotel Inspection what we offer was described as very generous. I have just returned from a stay in a 5 star hotel, there I took the kettle from the cupboard and plugged it in where it was convenient for me to do so. We have 6 sockets in the Triple room.The road outside is busy, local people drive into the centre and we have thousands of visitors using our roads like these guests were.Please remember we are just a short walk from the city centre and most importantly the Cathedral. My husband John is always very happy to help with luggage across the road and load the car. Plus there is a proper crossing with traffic lights 30 seconds away

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay; the location is fantastic for cathedral/city centre, just a few minutes walk away. Our room - no.2 - faced the garden at the back of the property and was spacious, clean, well-appointed and comfortable, and we slept well. Breakfast -£5 each - was worth it; the porridge and pastries we sampled were excellent & set us up well for the day. Other choices of breakfast were also available. We greatly appreciated John's recommendations of restaurants/pubs and also the chance to leave luggage both slightly early on day of arrival and for a couple of hours after check-out. This enabled us to maximise the number of attractions seen during our time in Salisbury. We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts John & Lois - this was a really friendly, convenient, easy-going & homely place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The owner, Jon, was very helpful and the short walk to the Cathedral a real plus, but be careful about which room you book! We stayed on the upper floor facing the street and the traffic noise was relentless (vehicles passing by at even 3 and 4 in the morning). Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep! Breakfast was an extra charge: £5 each, but worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maureen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I took my family to Salisbury this summer for their first visit and we could not have chosen a better place to stay. John and Lois were exceptionally kind and helpful... the B& B was very homey...and the location was literally steps away from the Cathedral. We'd love to return to Salisbury and stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at Spire House in early June with my sons for two nights. The room was on the top floor and was very cozy. The spire of the Salisbury Cathedral was not seen from the window, but still the view was nice and the room and the bath room was full of light.
The location is in the centre (just few minutes walk from the Cathedral gate), but quiet during the night and you can get a good sleep.
The breakfast was very homely as if I were staying with my aunt house.
Ask any question to Lois and John: the couple who run this B&B, and they give you plenty of
"insider information" about the town such as the short cut to the station, cozy local pubs, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fumica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.4 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
799 reviews
0.7 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spire House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spire House

Address: 84 Exeter Street, Salisbury SP1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: £73 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spire House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Spire House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spire House Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing