We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID THIS HOTEL....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Anglo Russian
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS HOTEL....”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

On the face of it, this hotel is a typical Premier Inn. Our room, and the hotel generally, was of a reasonable standard. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately sound insulation between floors is very poor, and we heard every movement of the guests in the room above (but no noise from rooms to either side). The people above seemed to have insomnia, and so we were kept awake by loud footsteps which continued through most of the night. We complained, but despite the "no quibble" good night's sleep guarantee, we were not immediately offered a refund. A written complaint has yet to be answered.

Breakfast is another reason to avoid this hotel: it has the unfortunate system of food being "cooked to order". For us this meant a wait of 35 minutes from ordering to delivery. When the food finally arrived it was clear that many of the items had not been freshly cooked, as only the sausages were piping hot. The buffet style works very well elsewhere: it's time Premier Inn abandoned the cook to order system (except at very small hotels) which makes a mockery of the "all you can eat" claim, and almost always seems to mean long waits.

The coffee is the final reason to avoid this hotel. The group owns, and advertises as part of its breakfast, Costa Coffee, but they serve up lukewarm dishwater from pump action flasks. They have a large Costa machine, but it's not used. They do not have a small, self service, Costa machine which many other hotels provide, and which serve excellent coffees. From a previous similar experience I was advised, by the Area Manager, that one was entitled to order unlimited Costa Coffee from the bar. We made the mistake of ordering a couple of cappuccinos, and were presented with a bill. The Restaurant Manager claimed that the stuff in the flasks was Costa Coffee, and he withdrew the bill, but seemed content that guests were not entitled to a decent cup of coffee, unless they paid extra. I've since visited a Costa Coffee bar elsewhere, and asked if they serve a tasteless, lukewarm filter coffee, but they say they don't: perhaps it's just reserved for the hotels.

The Premier Inn at Andover is just a short drive away: it's well worth the journey, to avoid this particular hotel.

Room Tip: Room 15 is one to particularly avoid, but all ground floor rooms are probably similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WIKRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, at Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a relaxed stay in a comfortable environment and I apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. As well, we sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    344
    122
    43
    24
See reviews for
312
312
36
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St austell
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Huge room and the staff were so nice and friendly, room was immaculate and SO quiet - which was fantastic. Close to town and restaurant next door good value. Love Premier inns - best beds in the business - keep it up

Room Tip: Very quiet location - or maybe just very considerate guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

my visit to the hotel was verygood, we had a good the room, which was very nice and clean, the staff where very good and very helpfully, which made are stay enjoyable, for that i am very great fully, thank you for all your hard work make are stay so nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Having decided to visit Stonehenge and Salisbury over a two day period, my wife and I elected to stay at this Premier Inn for one night. We had never before stayed at a Premier Inn establishment, but the chain was recommended by friends. I booked over the internet and managed to secure a twin-bedded room for £29, booking breakfast at the same time. The booking process was efficient.
On arrival, we found that the parking area was large and that there were plenty of spaces. On checking in, we were greeted by a very pleasant young lady. She was warm, yet efficient, and confirmed our booking etc. She also answered our questions relating to local amenities etc. We were surprised and delighted with all aspects of our room, which was on the ground floor and faced the car park. The bed was large and very comfortable ! There was no noise from outside the room. The shower was powerful and the water was hot. The accommodation was bright, modern, well-maintained. We had breakfast at the adjoining restaurant, and can only say that the quality and quantity of the food did exceed our expectations ! The staff were also very approachable and helpful.
We have experience of staying in various hotels in the UK., Europe and particularly Canada and the USA. In our experience, the service and comfort of this Premier Inn did exceed many others in which we have stayed. I would go as far as to say that this establishment far exceeds ALL of the budget hotels, and a great many of the more expensive establishments in which we have stayed.
We look forward to staying at the Premier Inn chain in the future, and hope that the high standards achieved by this particular location are offered at all of the other locations.

Room Tip: Ou room was at the front, yet there was no noise or any other unpleasant experiences caused by the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed for three nights to have a good look at the beautiful City of Salisbury. You cannot beat the room for top class basic amenities and cleanliness.

My only real reservation is that it is well out of the town, and the local buses are 10 to 15 minutes walk away. Which is a shame if you want a glass of wine with your dinner in town.

We also only had our 30 minute free WiFi for two of our days, due to a fault. But the receptionists could not have been more helpful in trying to sort the problem.

Frankly we much prefer the offering from their Brewers Fayre to that of the Table Table they have here. There is a sign in the road outside pointing to Brewers Fayre, but it is 10 years out of date.

But,all in all, I have no hesitation in recommending this Premier Inn.
.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbis Bay
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I used to travel frequently on business, but have done so rarely of late. I found this Premier Inn much better than I had expected and a significant step up in quality over the Travelodges I have used in the past

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremybulmershPreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Delivers the usual Premier Inn fare, but very well. My room was very large, and in general the room amenities are more than sufficient for a short stay. Great bed, very clean and cost next to nothing....really for value (£25) very hard to beat....

I booked breakfast also and this was excellent; a surpass regarding quality and enjoyed this very much.

A very positive experience, all the staff I met were friendly and welcoming.

Can only reiterate this represented outstanding value!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcolesw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
2.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
248 reviews
1.9 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
720 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
735 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Address: Pearce Way | Bishopdown, Salisbury SP1 3YU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive ten minutes to Salisbury Cathedral, or make the twenty minute journey out to Stonehenge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Salisbury Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing