We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for an overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Salisbury Premier Inn on the way to our main holiday destination, mainly as it was close to Stonehenge. Having booked a family room well in advance, I was a bit surprised to discover that we were in the second part of the hotel - which is basically 2 long blocks of two storey bedrooms, with a staircase at either end and in the middle - where apparently they tend to situate the families. Seems a bit crazy to me, having walked almost the length of the hotel, through one very awkward fire door (between the first 'block' and second 'block', where you need to close it again before you can go past it, not easy with 2 kids to corale plus luggage...) and then along another corridor. I felt for the lady we past who told me she was on her way back to the car park for a travel cot...
Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful, forthcoming with info on the Good Night Guarantee, which we did not need to use. We did however hear for vehicular noise as we were getting ready to go in the morning, so think it may be advisable to get a room at the front of the hotel.
Can't fault cleanliness, and although there is no air con, two large fans in the rooms were useful (though it wasn't that hot during our stay). We visited the neighbouring Table Table pub but will review that separately.

Room Tip: If you are keen for a lie in, ask for a room at the front. If you have mobility issues or small chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ADsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We use Premier Inns quite often because you can guarantee the rooms are of a very good standard and fairly consistent wherever you are in the country.

This was the case with the PI Salusbury.

However, as with another recent post the attached restaurant was truly awful. We don't expect anything other than convenience food in PI restaurants so we didn't arrive assuming fine dining. We are still pondering how anyone can burn Nachos without melting the cheese that takes a special kind of culinary talent. The wait for mains was ridiculously long especially as the restaurant was no busy than most other PI's we have stayed in.

The main dilemma in rating the hotel however is that at a few minutes before 7.00 am we were awoken with an almighty crashing and banging that jolted us awake with our hearts racing. We were in room 1 which seems to be right alongside where the delivery truck for the restaurant off loads and loads dozens of troll lies and crates. This went on for almost an hour.

The plus ( if it is a plus? ) the receptionist was brilliant and immediately refunded our room charges. I would have preferred the lie in but hats off to the PI group, I can't think of any other hotel chain that would have so readily accepted they were at fault.

So, room as good as ever, restaurant worse than ever and customer service excellent.

What would you rate it as?

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tony_harrison2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay with my wife and 2 daughters. The premier inn was clean and the reception staff were excellent. I have stayed in a number of premier inns and it was on par with most, but the biggest problem we found was the lack of air conditioning. There were 2 fans in our room when we got there which helped but obviously when used at night noisy. I would not stay here again especially in the summer months as it was too hot. It was a relief to walk into the corridor or outside to cool down.
We ate in the Restaurant next door for breakfast and evening meals. I would say it was a nice looking restaurant/ bar inside with very good staff, but food was hit and miss. We had one nice breakfast and one poor breakfast which we refused to pay for and got a refund. Children's meal came with a dessert and I would say they were good on both days for the price. But again with the adults meals hit and miss, one night it was ok the next was not so good for the price.
The Premier inn was a little way out of Salisbury (which we new anyway), so you couldn't really walk it.
Overall Salisbury was lovely. The staff at the Premier Inn and restaurant were excellent, the rooms were spotless and had everything you wanted, but the rooms were way too hot even with 2 fans and food in the restaurant was hit and miss. Unfortunately I would not stay here again in summer months.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Owes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Premier inn was great as always. Everything you need for an overnight stay and very clean. Reception team were lovely and very helpful and friendly. The only downside was the restaurant attached. Breakfast was fine but evening meal absolutely awful (night of 17th August). Very poor service, soooooo slow and even served my 5 year old up a different meal to what we ordered. Thank god he is not allergic to shellfish!!! No fault of premier inn tho

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zgpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We found this to be well up to the usual PI standards. Friendly, welcoming staff, clean, comfortable room and a great bed. Whilst it's not in the centre of Salisbury, it is only a 10 minute drive via a very simple route, to Salisbury's largest carpark. So you can effortlessly park up and explore Salisbury on foot easily. Its also a handily located for the other attractions in the area Stonehenge, Avebury, Old Sarum, Danebury Hill Fort etc. Try visiting the cinema in Salisbury too, it must be the only Tudor Odeon in the country!!!

Room Tip: Strangely this hotel doesn't appear to have shaver points in the bathroom, so be sure to pack yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Rex186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Standard PI, comfortable rooms, opening windows which is my preference. Not a great location, it's long way out of the city but the attached restaurant; Table Table I believe, was perfectly adequate and better than Fayre & Square.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

• Reception excellent
• Accommodation to a high standard.
• Excellent Food –well presented-cheerful staff most accommodating
• Friendly greetings -comfy beds- good food-good night s sleep-clean spick and span Premier Inn- well done the staff!

Room Tip: book rooms well in advance and room numbers between 5 and 19 for those who have difficulty walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Londonloon103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
2.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
308 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
567 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
2.4 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel

Address: Pearce Way | Bishopdown, Salisbury SP1 3YU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £46 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive ten minutes to Salisbury Cathedral, or make the twenty minute journey out to Stonehenge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Salisbury Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing