We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Salisbury”

Il Restaurant Alpino
Ranked #61 of 269 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Family Owned Italian restaurant in Salisbury city centre. Serving Traditional home style Italian Cuisine
France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in Salisbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Quite simply consistently the best Italian for miles!
Have eaten here over the past 10 years and cannot think of ever having had bad service or bad food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AimeFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    48
    15
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Service was good but the food seemed a bit 'micromeal ish' like what you would buy in Tesco. Wouldn't go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of our favourite place in UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I had vacation in UK last few weeks. One day we visited Stonehenge and drove into Salisbury to have lunch. This was a great experience that we have never had such Italian food like that before in HK. It's really great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hermancch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saints1fan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very dated decor, but fantastic food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I had dinner here recently and had a wonderful time. Our friends recommended we give Alpino a try as we had avoided it due to the 1980s décor and slightly down market look. We were glad we did. We were greeted by the owner in bar, where we had drinks while selecting our food. When our starters we almost ready we were escorted upstairs and shown to our table.

The food was FANTASTIC! The staff couldn't do enough for us and we even stopped and had another drink in the bar before we left. if this place had modern décor and was updated slightly it would be packed. To be honest I'm glad it's not as we want to go back asap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saints1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Don't be put off by the unprepossessing appearance.

There is just a door on the street leading up to the restaurant and it looks a little run-down from outside. But the food is absolutely superb, the prices a very pleasant surprise and the service excellent. I would definitely go again next time I'm in Salisbury.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B1iggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Restaurant Alpino also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Il Restaurant Alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing