We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW Splendid!”

Il Restaurant Alpino
Ranked #65 of 269 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Family Owned Italian restaurant in Salisbury city centre. Serving Traditional home style Italian Cuisine
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“WOW Splendid!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

brilliant! A little piece of Italy right in Salisbury! All the Pizza made on premises from scratch! Owners are the cooks been around a long time. Atmosphere, food, service wonderful!
Only thing I disliked were the stairs but soon forgot that when I tasted the food. So Italian you almost need your passport! Bellisima! Bravo!The waiter recommended tiramisu He DID NOT LIE Out of this world!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    48
    16
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent Italian”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We decided to try this place on a whim when eating out in Salisbury and had an enjoyable meal. The food was good but not excellent and the prices were reasonable. We both ordered dessert and the portion sizes were absolutely massive so nether of us finished it. The staff were nice and the decor relatively basic but quirky. A negative that my wife mentioned was that the female toilets were unpleasant and the flush on the toilet was broken.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Italian!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Eaten here 3 times now and will definitely be going back again. Friendly, attentive staff. Excellent food and plenty of it. Very reasonably priced. Great atmosphere. Everyone give it a go!

Helpful?
3 Thank notgoingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Been here a number of times so it must be good. Very good value for money, service excellent and the food is beautifully prepared. OK so I always have veal, the reason being it's always good. Try the Lemoncello - must be tasted to be believed. Already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdeofWhurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England
Level Contributor
383 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Didn't pay for what we didn't eat!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Microwave lasagne. Salty fried fish. Garlic bread ok. Veal with pasta went back after several inedible pieces if meat.

Had waited 14 years living in salisbury to try this restaurant and will probably wait 14 more before going back

Disappointed is not the word

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Restaurant Alpino also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Il Restaurant Alpino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing