We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another perspective on New Years Eve”

The Vine Restaurant
Ranked #183 of 269 Restaurants in Salisbury
Cuisines: British, European
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another perspective on New Years Eve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Restaurants providing New Years Eve gala dinners can be on a sticky wicket. Firstly staffing has to be geared up on a night when people generally would rather not be working, and prices have to reflect this. So it is an expensive evening and you want it to be right. The Vine restaurant and associated lounge certainly provides an atmospheric venue, with the lighting spot on. Staff were inevitably very busy and did their very best to maintain acceptable levels of table service. With an 8pm start one was not in any case looking for a rushed meal, as on this night one did have all the evening to get through the five courses. The meal provided us two with one excellent starter and one average, one excellent pear tart dessert and one average and we both had the excellent duck. Extra water was provided within seconds and the wine, dessert menu and cheese course all apeared within a few minutes of being requested. The excellent singer with electronic backing provided a varied programme, and many present were encouraged to shake a leg. Requests for the birdy song or the oky coky were politely and mercifully declined. We left just before midnight after a Scottish swirl of pipes was building up to the New Year to catch the televised London midnight fireworks. Allthough the member of staff who kindly escorted us to the gate to ensure that we were not locked in assured us that the Disco would be on for an hour or so after midnight. Not perfect but we certainly enjoyed the evening and appreciated the efforts that the staff had made on this most busy of nights.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldhump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    15
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Party!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Only been to the Red Lion once before and it was okay so a new year celebration seemed a good idea. However the experience this time was as follows -

(i) 'Complimentary' drinks were put on a table at the back of the public bar but nobody told the guests. After asking where they were, one of the staff said 'in the bar at the back' as if we should have known!There was a free for all with people grabbing as much as they could and when they ran out we were told 'you only get one free drink' when others clearly had several. Lite bites were brought round very late and not enough. Very poor organisation;

(ii) Dinner organisation was abyssmal guests were told to sit and wait in the lounge to be called and nobody bothered, even the Maitre 'd disappeared so we went searching for a member of staff who then sorted out the table;

(iii) Dinner itself was very, very slow and late. Pre-ordered menu was ignored and we had to order anew despite being very specific about what we wanted well in advance of the day. We sat down at 8.15 pm and the first food arrived at c9.20 pm and finished at c10.40 pm. Staff were evasive and always looked at the floor and ignored several requests for attention by a number of guests. The food itself was very basic and frankly a school class of five year olds could probably knock up something of better quality;

(iv) The entertainment was billed as a 'singer' and 'disco' there was no disco and the singer was very average and did not give any opportunity for requests of music and just basically shouted into a microphone a routine that she was comfortable with.....no regard for the guests;

(v) The midnight passing was almost ignored, no build up to the moment. It was as if the staff were breathing a collective sigh of relief that the 'work shift' was over;

All in all a shambles of a new year party, the only one I have attended that I have not enjoyed. The 'Manager' clearly needs to go on a training course for basic organisational skills and to be reminded it is the paying customers who come first. Not sure if Best Western are aware how poor it is, I guess as long as they get their 'cut' they are not too bothered?

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186220Steve_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lovely old world setting, terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

I took my 75 year old mother(they had lost our reservation), she loved the setting but didn't love waiting 45 minutes in a near empty restaurant for her soup. After a word with the waitress our turkey lunch finally turned up and the veg was so hard, my mother could eat it. To summarise, poor service, poor food, poor value and the portions were not great either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnie712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“christmas lunch with ex- BPW group”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

i have just returned from our annual christmas lunch.a very, very bad experience.
the salmon starter was nothing more than 3 small strips arranged in a circle filled with rocket leaves and a massive slice of bread already buttered.
my main course,turkey,was presented with something like a false eyelash on the middle piece of the turkey.
my pudding chocolate tart with marmalade...a chocolate tart,the middle,heavily shrunk away from the pastry and a massive amount of breakfast marmalade slapped next to it.i took the fork and cut into the tart and this time had a curly hair on my fork!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caramaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We went to this restaurant a couple of months ago and thought it had gone downhill, but thought we would give them another go two days ago. Unfortunately I believe they have a different chef than the last time we reviewed in April. The food is not nearly as good. We started with the salad which was very poorly presented and had no taste apart from the smoked cheese of which there was very little. The leaves didn't look fresh and to be honest we only ate it because we were really hungry. My husband left most of the peas and beans because they were so tasteless. Next we had steak, which was just basic steak and fries. We had a mushroom and brandy sauce which also was tasteless. The wine was good, but we won't be going back until they get a new chef. It's such a shame as we love the atmosphere and the service is excellent. We felt we should update our review as we wouldn't want anyone going to the restaurant based on my last review.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at The Vine Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Hi Solucy

Sorry to hear your recent trip to our restaurant was not a good one.

I would like to apologise on behalf of all of us here as we have failed to deliver our usually high standard on this occasion.

I would like to offer you a form of compensation and would be greatful if you would contact me directly so we can discuss this and try and turn your opinion of our restaurant around

I look forward to hearing from you

Matt Greenwood
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vine Restaurant also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Vine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing