We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

really nice hotel, pretty rooms and good location, staff was very friendly

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letty_uy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    121
    64
    24
    20
See reviews for
25
132
43
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

me and my wife have stayed there a couple of times and will be going back again,the room was very clean,we stay on sunday nights so it was quiet,no complaints at all

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Easily accessible hotel, well furnished and clean rooms. Luxury bedding and comfortable beds. Tea, Coffee and water in every room and the en-suite was lovely and clean with towels provided.
Unfortunately the location was poor, 3 nightclubs outside which went on til at least 0400 am, so serious lack of sleep.
If there was no noise this would be a superb spot to stay, in the centre of town and close to the cathedral.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohm39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

My daughter and I had a 2-day midweek stay in Salisbury and booked this hotel after reading other tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. It was actually better that we anticipated. The room was big, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We requested a room at the back of the hotel and were not bothered by any noise at all. Some of the reviews mentioned noise from a night club, but as it was midweek, maybe the night club was closed. The beds were very comfortable and, although they were single beds, we both had double duvets which were really cosy.
The room was warm, but I wondered if the small heater was enough to heat the room in very cold weather.
We were provided with tea, coffee and fruit. This hotel does not provide breakfast, but it is not a problem. The hotel is situated in the middle of Salisbury and there are plenty of very nice places to eat. Everything is nearby- shops, restaurants and, of course, all the sights of Salisbury.
My only complaint was that the door frames were being painted and, as we had pre-booked our two nights, I think the painters should have waited until we left, before they decided to paint the frame of our door. There was a strong smell of gloss paint in our room on the second night. I did mention this to the receptionist when we left, so hopefully the management will take this comment on board.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to friends and family who visit Salisbury regularly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonUKLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

The hotel rooms were nice enough, although there was a huge difference between the two twin rooms we booked - one was large, had a sofa, a comfy chair, water and apples, the other was considerably smaller, had no seating, no water and no apples! Strange disparity for the same price. Both rooms were nice and clean though.

When we arrived back at the room that evening, the previously quaint, quiet road had transformed to a booming, busy, noisy street lined with 4 police officers. Quite a change! Our room was at the front (room 6 - the small one) - we were kept awake until 6am when the last club closed. Inside the rooms were also not very soundproof - we could hear people's conversations like they were in our room.

All in all probably great value & a great stay during the week (when the clubs are shut), or great for a boozy night out where you just need somewhere to pass out asleep. Not brilliant for a relaxing weekend away I'm afraid.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Salisbury is my favorite town in England, and I stayed at City Lodge for two nights during a recent bicycle journey of southwest England. I was very pleased with the room quality and location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is ideally situated near the city center, so it is easy to walk anywhere in the center of town. My room was spotlessly clean and even offered a small private courtyard where I was able to securely keep my bicycle. There are plenty of restaurants nearby with a wide variety of dining options. I really enjoyed my stay here and will stay at City Lodge again the next time I return to Salisbury.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twotips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We arrived at Salisbury in the late afternoon without much pre-planing. After a short drive throughout the centre of town we found the City Lodge. It is well placed within an easy walk of the Cathedral, shops and pubs. Our rooms (2 couples) are simple, but well laid out, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is not available but the nearby cafe/bakery is great for coffee and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickpamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grasmere House Hotel
Grasmere House Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Property: City Lodge
Address: 33 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a recently beautifully refurbished and redecorated 15th century building, this hotel provides comfortable, modern accommodation in the heart of Salisbury, within easy walking distance of all that the town has to offer. City Lodge provides 25 non-smoking newly redecorated bedrooms with brand new Hypnos beds, en suite bedrooms, with both a bath and power shower, flat-screen digital TV with 32 free digital TV and radio channels, and free wireless internet access. City Lodge has a 24-hour reception for your comfort. Stonehenge is just 20 minutes' drive and Old Sarum is only 2.5 Miles away. New Forest National Park can be reached in 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing