We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inaccurate information on website”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Lodge
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Upon arrival, I was greeted with an nochalant, non-commital "Hi-ya"! by a receptionist whose English was difficult to understand. Surely a foreigner can be trained to ask a guest their name and a "Can I help you". Although the hotel website had said that breakfast could be had for an extra Five Pounds (and that on top of a whacking Sixty-Pound plus overnight stay bill!), I was informed upon arrival that breakfast was not served at all. The noise from a nightclub in the vicinity seriously disturbed my sleep. As I was only in Salisbury for 2 nights, I decided not to try to find another place to stay but I wouldn't go back to this particular hotel again. I could find no "single room" box to click on the website, so had to pay for a twin room. Inaccurate / bad website altogether.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 666dissatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Accommodations were great and clean. The staff were all pleasant and very helpful and knowledgeable. Once you are parked everything is an easy walk and you can enjoy all that the town has to offer.

There are two main areas to be aware of; first is that there is no direct parking at the lodge (you must park in a covered parking garage about 5 - 8 minute walk) and the noise does carry through the walls, ceilings and in from the hallways. The beds are very comfortable and once the night life dies down you can get some great sleep.

Room Tip: Make mention about the noise and maybe you will be given a room upstairs away from the action of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2havefun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed overnight on a Thursday. Welcoming and efficient receptionist. The location is perfect, near the city centre. Free parking outside the door from 18.00-08.00, thereafter paid parking nearby. BUT no net curtains in my ground floor back room meant that I was totally overlooked by an alleyway and a number of windows. I pulled back my curtain in the morning to find a chap in his underpants having a fag (could have been worse) right outside my window. He was as startled as I was. Also, as mentioned in other reviews, the sound proofing is appalling. I heard every action of the guests in the room above me. Most disconcerting. Still good value, tho'.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank jaw43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Just had a great night at city lodge. I was travelling alone with my baby and they were very helpful in every way.

The room was very clean and sizeable. All the staff were really nice and helpful and the location is great. Especially liked the free apples everywhere nice healthy touch!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hjl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

have just returned from a 3 day stay at city lodge. I.m a clean freak and i can tell you this hotel is immaculate,.The room was comfortable and fastidiously clean. The bed was uber comfy too. Our children aged 19 and 26 were in room 9 which was straight across from the local nightclub but were quickly moved once we asked the very helpful and pretty receptionist, Nothing was to much bother and we will most certainly be back. Highly recommended .

Room Tip: Go for the back of the hotel. Main street is can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I picked this hotel just because it was the cheapest so I expected some compromises. I didn't find any, it was exactly what I needed: clean rooms, a comfy bed, centrally located and with helpful staff.

They don't do breakfast but you're in the centre of town so there are dozens of places for breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seajay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

really nice hotel, pretty rooms and good location, staff was very friendly

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letty_uy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#15 of 16 in Salisbury
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.7 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: 33 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: £33 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a recently beautifully refurbished and redecorated 15th century building, this hotel provides comfortable, modern accommodation in the heart of Salisbury, within easy walking distance of all that the town has to offer. City Lodge provides 25 non-smoking newly redecorated bedrooms with brand new Hypnos beds, en suite bedrooms, with both a bath and power shower, flat-screen digital TV with 32 free digital TV and radio channels, and free wireless internet access. City Lodge has a 24-hour reception for your comfort. Stonehenge is just 20 minutes' drive and Old Sarum is only 2.5 Miles away. New Forest National Park can be reached in 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing