We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday night and am some glad we had a room on the back side as there was quite a bit of noise from the clubs in the front.
Located within walking distance of town as well as the Cathedral.
The place was very clean and I was able to park the car approx 5 mins walk away.
The receptionist was quite helpful in suggesting places to have breakfast in the morning.
All in all a great deal.

Room Tip: If there on a weekend, try to get a room on the back side.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0verdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for City Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed at the City Lodge in Salisbury for one night. The lodge is very clean and comfortable and excellent value for money. Car parking is a 2 minute walk away, the main market place is a 5 minute walk away and the Cathedral only a 10 minute walk. The only trouble with lodge is that there is absolutely nothing available to eat!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRPURI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I was a bit nervous about my choice after reading some of the reviews, but in the end it was great. I did stay on a Sunday and Monday night so all the clubs people mention were shut and everything was peaceful. The only noise of any concern was some sort of pump system that activated whenever you turned on a tap or flushed the toilet.

Other than that, clean and comfortable room, nice bathroom with plenty of space, free and usable WiFi, friendly reception and convenient location which is an easy walk to everything.

Overall better than I expected for the price - very good value.

One small note - I booked through Expedia which said it would take my credit card details as a gurantee only and I would settle at the hotel, but my card was indeed charged at the time by the hotel. This was no problem at the hotel - when I checked in they could see it was all paid for, but I could imagine this could be an issue for some people, so just a heads-up... they need to ensure Expedia is saying the right thing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robs-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We came to Salisbury, and took a day trip to Bath. The hotel was very clean, comfortable and convenient. Very friendly staff. I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Upon arrival, I was greeted with an nochalant, non-commital "Hi-ya"! by a receptionist whose English was difficult to understand. Surely a foreigner can be trained to ask a guest their name and a "Can I help you". Although the hotel website had said that breakfast could be had for an extra Five Pounds (and that on top of a whacking Sixty-Pound plus overnight stay bill!), I was informed upon arrival that breakfast was not served at all. The noise from a nightclub in the vicinity seriously disturbed my sleep. As I was only in Salisbury for 2 nights, I decided not to try to find another place to stay but I wouldn't go back to this particular hotel again. I could find no "single room" box to click on the website, so had to pay for a twin room. Inaccurate / bad website altogether.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 666dissatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Accommodations were great and clean. The staff were all pleasant and very helpful and knowledgeable. Once you are parked everything is an easy walk and you can enjoy all that the town has to offer.

There are two main areas to be aware of; first is that there is no direct parking at the lodge (you must park in a covered parking garage about 5 - 8 minute walk) and the noise does carry through the walls, ceilings and in from the hallways. The beds are very comfortable and once the night life dies down you can get some great sleep.

Room Tip: Make mention about the noise and maybe you will be given a room upstairs away from the action of the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2havefun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I stayed overnight on a Thursday. Welcoming and efficient receptionist. The location is perfect, near the city centre. Free parking outside the door from 18.00-08.00, thereafter paid parking nearby. BUT no net curtains in my ground floor back room meant that I was totally overlooked by an alleyway and a number of windows. I pulled back my curtain in the morning to find a chap in his underpants having a fag (could have been worse) right outside my window. He was as startled as I was. Also, as mentioned in other reviews, the sound proofing is appalling. I heard every action of the guests in the room above me. Most disconcerting. Still good value, tho'.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank jaw43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
417 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: 33 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: £47 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a recently beautifully refurbished and redecorated 15th century building, this hotel provides comfortable, modern accommodation in the heart of Salisbury, within easy walking distance of all that the town has to offer. City Lodge provides 25 non-smoking newly redecorated bedrooms with brand new Hypnos beds, en suite bedrooms, with both a bath and power shower, flat-screen digital TV with 32 free digital TV and radio channels, and free wireless internet access. City Lodge has a 24-hour reception for your comfort. Stonehenge is just 20 minutes' drive and Old Sarum is only 2.5 Miles away. New Forest National Park can be reached in 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing