We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean basic room but so so noisey!!”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
dorset
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean basic room but so so noisey!!”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed for one night in november 2012, yes i did read that rooms at the front of the hotel may be noisey at the weekend due to the nightclub opposite, but as we were staying on a wednesday night i foolishly didnt think to ask for a room at the back of the hotel!

Check in was fine, and on first look the room appeared fine, with a bowl of apples and complimentary bottles of water!

But when we opened the wardrobe to hang our clothes up, we found items of mens clothing hanging up and a bag of what we presumed was dirty washing on the floor!
The receptionist took the offending items away and apologised but it shows just how well the cleaners do there jobs!

The boom boom from the nightclub went on til nearly 2 and then the blokes in the next room had the most horrendous argument, we could hear every word and could even hear exactly what they were watching on the tv!!!

So all in all it was a reasonable priced room within walking distance of the city centre, but no good if you actually want to get any sleep,

Room Tip: If you want to sleep ask for a room at the back of the hotel, failing that take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cassie157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    128
    66
    29
    23
See reviews for
27
144
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

Given the price for a city centre hotel I was not expecting anything too special. However there were some nice touches such as apples and bottled water in the room and the room was spacious and clean and as our request for a room at the back was accommodated we were not disturbed by the nightclub opposite. The receptionist was very friendly and happy to help.
On the downside the only heating in the room (number 5) was an electric wall heater and a heated towel rail in the bathroom, the wall heater was too effective to keep on through the night and the towel rail was ineffective so outside of the duvets we were COLD, plus the water temperature never got beyond tepid so a soak in the bath was out of the question and a speedy shower was all that could be tolerated. Towels are rationed to two small bath towels and no hand towels; why? We stayed two nights and our water was not replenished and one of the plastic tooth mugs disappeared following room service.
A word to the wise: The twin rooms do have twin beds but these are pushed together and can't be divided owing to the wall mounted bed side tables as I was sharing with my sister it wasn't too much of a problem but our sons in two other rooms were not impressed!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandDave3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were a group of nine cyclists. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, unlocked the back gate for us to store our bikes securely. I disagree with some of the other comments here. The rooms were spotlessly clean and surprisingly quiet. Yes, small, but what's wrong with that? The price was much less than other town centre hotels and we had everything we needed. Reception was open 24hours. We asked for extra pillows and were given them immediately. Wetherspoons is nearby for breakfast. I will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We "splurged" on a suite; it didn't get us anything fancy (the furnishings are spare), but it had a lovely sitting area with huge fireplace, exposed beams, and the largest, nicest bathroom of our holiday -- though it had no bathtub, the glass shower was very roomy. The room was impeccably clean, and seemed historic without feeling dowdy.
The double bed was just that, which I sometimes forget; we're used to a queen-size, so it felt a little TOO cozy. We also were granted two (2) towels each day: one bath towel for each of us. No hand towel. That seemed a little strange, but it didn't bother us enough to remember to ask for one. The wi-fi was weak and inconsistent. And the front-desk attendants were for the most part totally uninterested in engaging with us.
Having said that, we did have a positive stay. It doesn't appear to have the same Olde England ambiance (from the outside) as a few of the other inns up the street, but it was a good value and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srs-seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Before I start this review I have to tell you I've had to rewrite it several times because trip advisor doesn't accept profanity and really its only profanity that can truly explain how substandard this place is.The city lodge is an old building converted into tiny bedrooms, with TERRIBLE SOUND INSULATION, so really its a luck of the draw if you have neighbours that go to bed at ten and are asleep by midnight you win (although i wouldn't fancy your chances with a heavy snorer). Im lying in bed on the first floor now unable to sleep, because there are two guys in the room next to mine. I can hear their voices booming through the walls. They're not tallking particularly loudy its just that the walls are particularly thin. its one thing to hear voices through walls due to poor sound insulation. But this insulation is so bad I can hear their laughing and joy of joys... i can also hear their backsides exploding and resonating round my room. Im surprised I cant smell them too. To enhance this experience at 1am I can lie here and listen to them urinating, their bathroom is the other side of my headboard. When they open their bathroom door my bed shakes. Then the booming fan goes on, then a hearty flow falls into the loo, then a massively loud flush and joy of joys the taps come on, then the door is opened and shut again shaking and booming in my bedroom. Even when they walk across their floor my room shakes. Oh good now the other ones going. Aaah thats better, i love hearing a full flow of urine 2 ft from my head. Its so refreshing. There's no one on reception to complain too. In the few moments of silence the boys grant me I get to hear the throb of a generator/boiler? I just have to enjoy the luxury of lying in a room all night WIDE AWAKE. The Bathroom is tiny, the lighting in it is too bad to take your contact lenses off, theres nowhere to put stuff. nothing to put a case on. No basket of fruit as promised. All in all its a holy piece of horror. Im moving out tomorrow. oh I mean today. because it is today. sleep. who needs it.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizargh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We decided at the last minute to stay overnight in Salisbury and picked this hotel solely on price and availability. We were a wee bit sceptical but our worries unfounded. This is a good hotel in a great location within walking distance of most places and sights. The room was great. Lovely comfortable bed and beautifully clean and well appointed bathroom. No nasty shower curtain over the bath which is always a good sign. We had plenty of tea and coffee making supplies, a couple of small bottles of water, a couple of apples and biscuits. Small things like this give you a good idea that the owners are not cheese paring. We had a room overlooking a small car park and heard no noise at all, not even from other guests. There is no breakfast facility, but quite frankly you can take your pick locally, and how nice to walk round Salisbury looking for somewhere to suit your taste and budget.. Parking would be an issue if you want to leave the car during the day as you will need to put it in a long term car park but after 6pm and until 8am you can park right outside the hotel for free. All in all a good choice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerringFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
398 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
763 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Property: City Lodge
Address: 33 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a recently beautifully refurbished and redecorated 15th century building, this hotel provides comfortable, modern accommodation in the heart of Salisbury, within easy walking distance of all that the town has to offer. City Lodge provides 25 non-smoking newly redecorated bedrooms with brand new Hypnos beds, en suite bedrooms, with both a bath and power shower, flat-screen digital TV with 32 free digital TV and radio channels, and free wireless internet access. City Lodge has a 24-hour reception for your comfort. Stonehenge is just 20 minutes' drive and Old Sarum is only 2.5 Miles away. New Forest National Park can be reached in 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing