We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Lodge Salisbury”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Lodge
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night recently Aug 2013 :-The Hotel was clean ,the twin room and tea making service good. There is no car parking, except street parking out of hours or the major car parks if your lucky.The reception staff are polite.The negative side to this hotel:- We found no bath shower mat ,the shower unit head just poured water as if in a tap ,the A/c unit which is on most of the time had a intermittant buzzer sound going all night due we think to a faulty component we did complain and were given a partial refund.However the surprise of the night came from all the night clubs just outside ,The noise went on till 3am and you might as well have joined in with the crowd as it was deafning in the twin room even though they had tried to sound proof the room so don't expect to sleep there.If you did manage to park your car on the street ,just be aware the clubbers all pour out on to the street ,so your car becomes a leaning post or toilet or could get damaged.One of the clubs is called the 'Vestry' So if you really want to stay there take ear plugs as you will need them.It appears Salisbury council is not controlling these areas .I can see this hotel shutting down because of the situation in Milford Street.

Room Tip: Get a back room if you stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmicfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent this weekend at City Lodge Salisbury and would be happy to stay there again if we go back. The rooms are plain but the bed was very comfortable, the room clean and the bath in addition to a shower welcome. Don't expect too many extras, but for a good value, basic place to stay in the centre of Salisbury I recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet; rooms at the front must overlook a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexMorvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We booked last minute for an overnight stay. This hotel was the cheapest on laterooms (£55) and was good value for money.

The room was small but clean and comfortable. We were located at the rear of the hotel but could still hear the noise from the club across the road and drunken revellers shouting in the streets. Free WiFi but no shower (just a bathtub).

A word of warning, there are parking bays outside free from 10pm - 8am, so at 8am, 9am and 10am I was having to get up to get a parking ticket (maximum one hour stay @£1.60). On my last visit to the pay and display machine, i noticed you could actually pay to park using your phone, which would have been a lot easier than jumping out of bed blurry eyed, down two flights of stairs, fumble round for change to then return to bed for 50 minutes and to then have to repeat the process! :-)

Room Tip: Room at the rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeLad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for one night after a wedding in Salisbury. The hotel is spotlessly clean and I would imagine has only recently been decorated. There is no hotel parking, but we were able to park in a parking bay right outside.

The room we had was absolutely tiny, barely enough floorspace to take a double bed. The bed itself was surprisingly uncomfortable given the hotel looked so new - all springs and creaks. The room faced out onto Milford St and despite secondary glazing on the sash windows, the noise overnight was absolutely cacophonous! Beware that the hotel is surrounded by three or four very loud clubs, from which people poured out until about 3am. It was unquestionably the worst night's sleep we had ever had.

No breakfast is offered at the hotel, and we left at the crack of dawn

Room Tip: Maybe choosing a room on the far side of the hotel, away from the road, would help you sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed on a Monday night in a downstairs room at the back and found it quiet
we had a good size room with double bed and small settee Clean with lovely linen and towels.
very friendly and helpful staff
very easy walk into the town with lots of good places to eat
so we were very pleased and would use this accomodation again when visiting Salisbury.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandy110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed at the City Lodge with a friend recently for a girly weekend without kids and the hotel was brilliant. It's right in the centre, the rooms was modern and clean. We've requested a room at the back as they've mentioned it can get noisy at the front as it was a Saturday and it was really quiet at the back. The staff were friendly. If I'm in Salisbury again I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabinecharlotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We walked to the hotel from the train station, and it was a bit of a walk but reasonably close. The hotel is very central, close to many amenities. That was good for us, since we didn't have transportation.

The room we were given was on the third floor at the back. It was clean, and had nice linens, but was pretty cramped. Not much room for anything but a bed, and since we were on the top floor we had slanted ceilings to contend with (not a problem for me, but my partner is 6 feet tall and bumped his head a few times). The bathroom was the nicest surprise: well appointed, seemed very new, and was spacious. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable, but I've had worse.

I didn't think the noise would be an issue for us (especially as we were at the back), but it was. We were woken up three times between midnight and 8am by shouting on the streets (and they weren't just passers-by--they were having shouting matches down there). It was very loud--I don't normally wake up to street noise.

Overall, I'd say it's good value considering the price, cleanliness, and central location. However, if you really need a good night's sleep, I'd probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kali0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
911 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: 33 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: £33 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a recently beautifully refurbished and redecorated 15th century building, this hotel provides comfortable, modern accommodation in the heart of Salisbury, within easy walking distance of all that the town has to offer. City Lodge provides 25 non-smoking newly redecorated bedrooms with brand new Hypnos beds, en suite bedrooms, with both a bath and power shower, flat-screen digital TV with 32 free digital TV and radio channels, and free wireless internet access. City Lodge has a 24-hour reception for your comfort. Stonehenge is just 20 minutes' drive and Old Sarum is only 2.5 Miles away. New Forest National Park can be reached in 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing