We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay centrally”
Review of City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
488 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Great place to stay centrally”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This a great place to stay on the centre of Salisbury. Clean, well decorated, no frills. Well priced.

A wee bit noisy as the walls are thin but all in all for one night not bad.

Nice, friendly staff.

Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    124
    65
    25
    22
See reviews for
26
136
45
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This is a super little hotel, the rooms are spotless everything you need and only about 200 yea from the centre of the city. The staff here are so friendly every one of them. Every time I approached them for anything it was produced with a smile. Great value for money. Will use thus Chain of hotels every time there is one on my travels.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuzymoDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for one night as we we're seeing a band in Salisbury. The room, although small and in the eaves (my husband is 6ft) was spotless and comfortable, with free tea, coffee, biscuits and water, all for under £40. The reason I'm only giving this 4/5 is because the walls were paper thin. We could also hear our neighbours first impressions of the room, word for word. I'm pleased to report that they were happy too. However, we were also made aware of how much they cared for each other too, in the wee hours of the morning, if you catch my drift!!!

Room Tip: Room was lovely, just remember ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieDBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south coast
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Cheap, though £60 room only is not that cheap, small room and low ceilings so 8 or 9 bumps in the night.....bathroom immaculate though and the bed was comfy enough. We were booked for one night only and would not have wanted to be there for longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesgandolfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel massive rooms clean close to centre
Went here with my girlfriend and friends was cheap price for rooms we paid extra six pound for a suite bad our room was massive separate bedroom living room ideal for families or couples and on Main Street and surprisingly not noisy with the double glazed windows air con in room was excellent kept are room really cool I definitely will stay here again

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Room was noisy, every flush of toilets from near rooms was to be herd, beds were made lousy, windows were blinded so we couldn't look outside, we found a huge garbage container under it. Horrible noise during the night from drunk clubbing people, parking not simple. bad small in the corridors, old dirty carpets in the room, noisy ventilation system, had the feeling that the high booking rate is somehow manipulated. Not recommended!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Moshe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

CityLodge is a budget line of hotels, and thus we knew what we were getting - bare bones service, free wifi, no breakfast.

What was alright: the staff was kind, and the bathrooms were clean.

What was not alright: paper-thin walls, dirty and damp carpeting, lumpy beds, and no way to ventilate (or escape in the event of a fire!).

The building is a 17th century hunting lodge, and thus a registered site. This means, the owner has to follow certain protocol when it comes to construction. One of the consequences is that the windows are very costly to replace should anything happen. The owner placed a piece of glass over the window sill and window. No getting out, no fresh air = stale, mildew smelling air. There was an evaporative cooler to circulate the stale, mildew air, but it had me coughing all night.

My advice: spring the extra 10 pounds sterling and stay at the Best Western down the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
#11 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.5 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge

Property: City Lodge
Address: 33 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a recently beautifully refurbished and redecorated 15th century building, this hotel provides comfortable, modern accommodation in the heart of Salisbury, within easy walking distance of all that the town has to offer. City Lodge provides 25 non-smoking newly redecorated bedrooms with brand new Hypnos beds, en suite bedrooms, with both a bath and power shower, flat-screen digital TV with 32 free digital TV and radio channels, and free wireless internet access. City Lodge has a 24-hour reception for your comfort. Stonehenge is just 20 minutes' drive and Old Sarum is only 2.5 Miles away. New Forest National Park can be reached in 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing