We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun!”
Review of Segway Events

Segway Events
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Segway Events provides a professional, fun and thrilling experience with locations across the UK. Our Windsor location will see customers tackle a twisty track set in woodland, allowing for customers to test their skills in this tricky yet exciting location. As Windsor is our flagship location events typically take place every Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Bought a voucher for my husband as a birthday present. Directions to venue were clear, parking reduced when they were told we were there to do the Segway. The whole experience from start to finish was really well managed. Arrive a little early to complete the disclaimers. The leader explained how to use the Segway and we all had a quick go, a weird feeling to begin with, but they then have you go round a simple track for a few minutes and literally within 3-4 minutes you have the hang of it. It is such good fun! We then went (in a group of 10) to the forest arena where you can zip around on paths between the trees and have a go on the dips and hummocks. We both thoroughly enjoyed it and didn't want the experience to come to an end!
You can buy photos at the end for £10 which is a bit steep but we still bought one anyway! You also get a signed certificate - nice touch
Wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank JKerr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegwayEvents, Public Relations Manager at Segway Events, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review!
Hopefully we will see you at another event soon.
Many Thanks,
Segway Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    3
    3
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Found directions to the venue easy to follow. Park by lake and then only a short walk to the Segway venue itself. Given good demonstration of how to use Segway with a practice run before heading into woods. Easy to use once shown and really good fun. Instructed on hand in event of collisions and needing restarts. Came with group of work colleagues and would say best enjoyed in groups. All in all good value fun, even if I did fall off!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegwayEvents, Public Relations Manager at Segway Events, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review!
Hopefully we will see you at another event soon.
Many Thanks,
Segway Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Prepare to fall off”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Was given this as a present by my better half. Found the site no problem and then the office just down the lane from the boating club. £2 to park.After we had signed all the disclaimers and given them our life details, read how we might get injured or die, we were kitted up.Helmets knee and elbow pads and then a brief instruction and little ride around a short course.
These things are weird, but most people picked up the technique quickly and we all whizzed off down the track into the woods. In a group with 8 others, we were shown how to control the machines by leaning backwards and forwards. With just a couple of wheels, accidents were bound to happen and as people got more confident riding over the bumps and hollows virtually everyone except your writer fell off, with mostly only their pride dented and a few bruises.
We were left to ride round this woodland course for the best part of an hour in all, which was plenty as you use muscles you didn't know you had. Instructors were on hand to reset the machines and take photos. Some had head cams and some bought the pics at the end. Don't know how much we paid as it was a present, but all in all a really different experience and good fun. Only thing that could have made it better would have been a longer/bigger course, but I guess they need to keep an eye on everyone.You can make it a risky as you want. I took it easy, but others tore around accepting the spills and bruises as the price.Don't let that put you off.Go for it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank superhoops2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegwayEvents, Public Relations Manager at Segway Events, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review!
Hopefully we will see you at another event soon.
Many Thanks,
Segway Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent fun, wish it was longer!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was bought this as a present for christmas and decided to book it in once the weather had got better. I booked in for the Bray Lake location as it had a woodland track.

On arrival we parked up by the boat club and paid £2 for parking. Just a few meters down the road was the segway set up. It consisted of a dozen or so segways parked up by a portable cabin with a few boxes of helmets and equipment. My boyfriend decided to pay £10 for a head cam, which was mounted on top of the helmet and at the end of our experience we were given the SD card to take away.

After a quick introduction we were on our way, and after a shaky start we all got the hang of it. It was brilliant fun. Such an unusual experience but one I would thoroughly recommend. You use the weight of your feet to move the segway forwards and backwards and simply push the handle left or right to turn.

The track was small and basic, a few twists and turns, dips and bumps in one woodland area. It would have been even better if it had been a tour through a woodland rather than in one spot. Right towards the end my boyfriend and another guy crashed and their segways cut out, but our guide had whizzed off back to the start. After a few minutes he realised we were missing and finally returned to sort it out.

The experience lasted an hour in total including the introduction and kitting up. Each slot is one after the other, so if the tour before you runs late it cuts into the next time slot! There is a photographer as well so you can pay £5 for one photo or £10 for all your pics on a CD.

Overall the segways were excellent fun, and a great bit of kit. The organization could have been a little better and could have benefitted from a better track and longer experience. 90-120 minutes would have been a better amount of time to really experience it, but I still highly recommend giving it a go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KarraRothery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegwayEvents, Public Relations Manager at Segway Events, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! We take all comments on board.
Hopefully we will see you at another event soon.
Many Thanks,
Segway Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Fun activity. Poor operator.”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Although the actual Segwaying experience itself was undeniably fun, the difficulty in getting to the venue in Maidenhead was immense and the overall experience was shoddy. The directions on Segway Event's website are poor in the extreme and when we phoned to get directions, the operators didn't even know the postcode of their own venue. Consequently, we arrived late... but not as late as others booked in for the same event, as a result of which the group sat around killing an awful lot of time before getting started! We finally managed to find the venue, which is basically a mobile exhibition stand parked a little further on down a dirt track from a sailing club. In the absence of signage, we went into the sailing club and their staff very patiently directed us the last bit of the way (they told us that they regularly get lost 'Segway punters' stumbling in for directions). Once at the trailer, we were required to sign a disclaimer absolving Segway Events of responsibility for any injury. Pretty standard procedure and only what we would have expected. What we DID object to, however, was the extent of utterly irrelevant personal data their form asked for - we were clearly being 'scalped' for profile data to be used in direct marketing. Although we initially refused to complete this data, the teenagers running the event insisted that unless we completed the fields, their insurance would be invalidated and we wouldn't be allowed to participate (which is patently bo***cks!). And then we noticed the sign outside the trailer... quelle surprise, this event is sponsored by Direct Line! So we're now awaiting the deluge of unsolicited emails, phone calls and direct mail shots... As to the event itself, we were actually out and about on top of a Segway only for about 30/35 minutes which we felt was poor value for thirty-odd quid a person, and for the majority of that time, we were just left to pootle about in a small nearby cleared area of woodland. It's all a bit homespun and thrown together, with the feel of one of those 'pop-up' paintball operations that were popular a few years ago before the industry became properly regulated... Tips for Segway events - improve the quality of your directions on your website (there's this new innovation called 'postcodes'...), show a little more respect for the intelligence of your customers... and maybe clean all the caked mud off your safety equipment once in a while!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Horrified-of-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SegwayEvents, Marketing Manager at Segway Events, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Good Afternoon.
I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some issues with your experience. We do take on board all comments as we are constantly evolving and improving as a company.
While some questions on our waiver are not compulsory, the answers to these allow us to tailor our events to our customers.
Please let me assure you that we are in no way sponsored by Direct Line, or any other company. We had only just purchased the trailer at the time of your event and therefore our branding had not replaced the old signage.
Since your event, we have employed full time Managers at our venues to ensure that knowledge and customer service is of the highest standard. We have also had a complete overhaul of our booking system and on-site paperwork to ensure that we are running as efficiently as possible.
Many thanks for your comments.
Segway Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Segway Events also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Segway Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing