We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ascot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2010

When we arrived at Heathrow, we chose to stay at Coworth Park for a couple of days before we went into London. It was great !! We stayed in the Stable rooms it was nice. Very well appointed in an idyllic setting. We went on a nightly basis for drinks in the mansion house. Very nice drawing rooms with piano player for evening drinks. We also ate at the John Campbell restaurant. We had the tasting menu, such an amazing meal. You must try the Hare. We also went to the spa, not for treatments, but for a swim. Their pool is very futuristic with the purple lights. There were a few hiccups with service in terms of getting room service and such. But we just thought it was due to growing pains. They had just been open 8 weeks.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank achainam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

I couldn't fault this place. Despite just opening two months ago, they have tuned in all their staff perfectly. The design and finish give the impression of being in a smart private home rather than a hotel. The rooms are all exquisite. The spa is huge with a purple lit pool. Treatments not too expensive either. Top of the list though is the John Campbell restaurant. I gather he had two Michelin stars at his last place, and it shows. We had the taster menu for lunch - £80 and had a recommended wine with each course (8 of them!). It was heaven on earth - we've not had a meal of that quality anywhere in London (including most of the usual 'top' places). Whilst not axactly cheap, this place is worth every penny. From arriving - the cheery Aussie doorman Sean sets the tone, and we left feeling as though we'd had special treatment - except they manage to give everyone that impression. Superb.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jw6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

....was the exact word I used to describe Coworth Park as I left with my husband only hours ago. From the moment we arrived it was an amazing experience. From the valet parking to the golf buggy to our stable block room, every step was just fabulous. One word of caution if you are staying in the stable rooms ask for a room upstairs, because unless you have the curtains closed in your room downstairs you are rather on show! The room had EVERYTHING you could want, from the lovely smellies to the heaviest dressing gown, magazines, unbrellas, well stocked mini bar and as I had said it was our anniversary we had a half bottle of Veuve Clicquot on ice and a cake waiting for us. We ambled around the grounds - all the staff were fabulous, all seeming as though they genuinely care and want you to have the best time - everyone was great but Vaughan particularly stands out for his fabulous service. We had cocktails in the main house and ate in the Barn restaurant - great food and service once again. Slept really well, unlike usual hotels it wasn't hot and stuffy. This morning after a wonderful breakfast we spent a few hours in the spa - again fluffy dressing gowns, tons of towels, water, magazines, lovely staff - I would have loved to experience a treatment. As we checked out and reluctantly got in the car to go home we were handed a bottle of water for the journey - it was the little extra touches that will make this stay so memorable. Yes it is expensive and you could easily spend a fortune here but we thought it was worth the extra as we came away revived and refreshed and ready for the outside world again.......!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nic040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The hotel is now fully open (October) but is still undergoing some snagging and tidying up. I have assumed that any snags will be dealt with... The hotel is set in pretty parkland. Beautiful formal gardens at the back of the house, with a modern twist. The hotel public areas have been decorated in a light, bright, airy, contemporary style, yet still homely. Creams, natural woods, leather, fantastic lamps/lighting, lots of equestrian/polo touches. Big log fires were not yet lit, but I would hope that they will be when the weather cools down. It is perhaps how one might interior design your own country house if you had the cash, taste and a bit of courage. Staff were all excellent. Friendly and helpful, and seemingly well trained.
Many of the rooms are in a stable block, 2-3 mins walk or a brief golf buggy ride from the main house. If this bothers you, you can pay a bit more for a room in the main house. I was in a Superior Stable room (which I think is the cheapest). A little small, but still a fair size. Similar theme of decoration – contemporary, but homely. Good triple layer of black out blinds and curtains. Comfortable bed. Sitting area. Good B&O TV though I couldn’t get radio to work. Complimentary fudge, fruit, water, milk and great nespresso coffee maker. Good touches eg. stylish postcards for sending, and playing cards. Plenty of umbrellas and a rack for your wet wellingtons. The quietest aircon / heating system I have come across in any hotel in the world.
Ordered wake up call, and operator offered me a weather forecast which would have been a nice touch, if it hadn’t been completely the opposite of what I then found out the BBC, Met Office and newspapers were saying (it turns out she was wrong and they were all right).
Bathrooms are a good size. Every bathroom in the hotel has a copper free standing roll-top bath. Separate shower had an 18 inch “rain” shower head which was a bit feeble, and a separate wall mounted / hand held shower with more oomph. Underfloor heating. Mitchell & Peach toiletries were nothing special. Good heavy fluffy big towels, and robes.
I slept well, until I was woken by one of the staff delivering newspapers to the rooms or collecting breakfast orders (at about 6am or earlier). The stairs in the stable blocks have wood flooring (presumably to cater for muddy boots) which means that they can be noisy.
Breakfast was good. Good black pudding and excellent, crispy bacon. Didnt use spa, nor tennis, riding etc.
All in all an enjoyable stay. I wish it well. I hope that with all the creams, taupes, and leather fittings etc that it doesn’t start looking tatty after a bit of wear and tear.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyager212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank charlyleb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank pierpaola2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoworthPark, General Manager at Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascot
6.4 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,381 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
722 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,062 reviews
5.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection

Address: Blacknest Road, Ascot SL5 7SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range: £299 - £920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax from the moment you discover Coworth Park, the luxurious country house hotel on the borders of Windsor Great Park. An understated palette of subtle colours lends an air of calm to the spacious rooms and suites. For Georgian style with an eccentric decorative flair, stay in the Mansion House. If you prefer a little more seclusion opt for the self-contained converted Stables and Cottages. One Michelin-starred Restaurant Coworth Park shows true passion for the finest locally-sourced seasonal ingredients. If it's comfort food you favour, sample The Barn's rustic charm where diners are more than welcome to keep their muddy boots on. Take part in quintessentially English activities, go horse riding or take polo lessons with Guards Polo Club on one of Coworth Park's polo fields. Head to the luxury spa for a refreshing swim in the indoor pool or indulge in a relaxing treatment. Having worked up an appetite, enjoy a healthy bite to eat and a chilled glass of champagne at The Spatisserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coworth Park Hotel Ascot
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection Ascot, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing