We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days, JADED..”
Review of Brockenhurst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brockenhurst
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Seen better days, JADED..”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this Hotel last night. As I had a business meeting in Farnborough. Hotel room was jaded, never seen so may air fresheners.

Hotel receptionist was friendly albeit she could have been more welcoming. The valence was ripped and you could here the other guests through the walls. Real shame as the hotel looks excellent from the outside. Could do with a renovation...

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank MickeyC0970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    15
    12
    9
    12
See reviews for
5
14
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

The twin room room was gaudy with wallpaper hanging off the wall. Duvet covers loked like they had seen better days and were not matching on the twin beds. Bathroom had only 1 bath towel for a twin room (we told them it was 2 single ladies travelling!).
Breakfast was basic to say the least and we had to ask for some coffe and toast and then was only given 1 slice of bread each.
Staff could do with smiling more, but I expect with all the mediocre reviews they are getting, I can understand why.
How about putting some effort in to modernise and renovate the place and remove those awful "do not do this" laminated signs stuck all over the bedroom and bathroom.
Did answer my booking email prompltly though. Not sure I would call £89pn a good reflection of value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieW1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I stayed there for one night while on a business trip. The hotel is small, but very nice. You get more of a B&B feeling, the staff is very warm and kind. The room I stayed in was very nice, with a classic English furniture & design. The window looked out in a nice garden. The place is very quiet, one can hear the birds singing in the morning. You can get a very good sleep.

The bathroom accessories, like the hotel itself is not too new, suffering a bit from this, but there is nothing to complain about it.

Price is acceptable, overall a place I would definitely recommend and get back to if I will have the chance.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriesInMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We had a really pleasant stay here - we had booked through an online agency who had messed up our booking, so were really stuck and needing to get off to a wedding. The couple running it were so helpful first in trying to find if our booking had gone to another hotel and then in offering us their last room at a really competitive rate. It was clean and pleasant - I like the old country decor - feels homely. All the staff were lovely and friendly and chatting to them we found that we knew a lot of people in common - small world. All in all, very pleased and would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HandGMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We came up for a family party so booked in for only one night. There was a race meeting at Ascot so finding a hotel was not that easy, so when I came accross the Brockenhurst at £100 for the night thought this looked good and not too expensive. However really wished I had read some of the reviews before booking. This hotel is one of the worst I`ve ever have stayed in. We were given room number 10 in the attic. It was small, very old fashioned and had an odd aroma. There was mould in the bathroom, holes in the tiles where the shower had been moved and the bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have every slept in. Having paid an extra £19.00 for two cooked breakfasts, I spoke with reception about our room and the best they could do was to offer an £11.00 discount (the rate had there not been a race meeting). She did say she would take note of the points I have raised but the fact is they are not maintaining the hotel, everywhere needs a coat of paint and until they spend some serious money then don`t waste your time and money, a Travelodge would be better and cheaper!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fraserstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ascot hotels

Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

After our stay at this lovely hotel I can not believe the reviews that people have left. I have travelled all over the world and stayed in lots of 5* all the same hotels and never gave us the service and individual attention to detail as here. Yes the rooms are small but very clean and show true english old fashioned taste due to it being a traditional old house.The breakfast was fine and well presented. So Mr Ipod go back to the auction and sleep in your car !!!! and well done for a nice stay x

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouldybaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This is an expensive area so we were pleasantly surprised to find the Brokenhurst Hotel. We stayed one night with ensuite provided and breakfast at a very reasonable rate. Added to that the atmosphere was friendly and the garden was nice and peaceful (lovely weather).
Ample parking. Convenient for all activities around Ascot and Windsor etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wetspecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascot
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Highclere Hotel
Highclere Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ascot
162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunningdale Park
Sunningdale Park
#5 of 6 in Ascot
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
667 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#6 of 7 in Bracknell
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brockenhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockenhurst

Property: Brockenhurst
Address: Brockenhurst Road, Ascot SL5 9HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Brockenhurst 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brockenhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brockenhurst Hotel Ascot
Brockenhurst Ascot, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing