We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely hotel! ”
Review of Brockenhurst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brockenhurst
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel! ”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived on Saturday to go to a theme park on the Sunday and stayed on the Sunday as well. First impressions were that this was an idyllic hotel set along a road with other large houses and the hotel competed with the best of them.

The owner was very welcoming and the bar prices were very reasonable. The only downer was he didn't do food at weekends in the evening so we walked to a pub about 20 minutes up the road, very nice and reasonably priced.

Ignore the reviews of late or even older ones as me and the wife thoroughly enjoyed the service, the company and the room had everything we needed and the bed was comfortable.

It's a crying shame that this hotel will be no longer after Christmas. If you're looking for a reasonably priced and homely hotel with friendly staff, I thoroughly recommend staying here before its too late.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    15
    12
    9
    12
See reviews for
5
14
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Frankly in the 21st century i do not expect to see little signs informing me i will be charged £10 if i bring any food or alcohol into my hotel room

as a lone traveler I much prefer to eat in privacy,

the room was comfortable enough, but the television unreliable, staff seemed nice enough but with the little signs informing of charges for this that and the other it massively coloured my opinion of them

breakfast was disappointing, "continental" is not what i would call just cereal and yoghurt

a cooked breakfast was available at a massive £9.50

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ascot hotels

Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a small hotel with ample parking for the number of guests. The rooms are reasonably well fitted (there is even an iron and ironing board) and clean. There is a bar lounge but no lift.
The continental breakfast is adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is on the outskirts of Ascot, and is in need of updating and refurbishment. Reception and check-in was fine. The room was almost colonial in feeling, with wicker type furniture, all white painted. The shower was ok but not great. I think there would be a 'warmer' feeling to the place if it wasn't covered with 'do this, don't do this signs!' As an example, as I walked into my room, I was greeted by two signs, one saying 'If you don't leave your key at checkout it will be £10' and another 'If you eat or drink anything that isn't purchased from the hotel, then you will be charged £10 per day'. I think these type of signs, in this day and age, is just not necessary!

The bar area at the back of the hotel was fine, small but ok, seemed popular with locals. There is also a lounge / TV room downstairs.

The breakfast (I had continental and didn't upgrade) was great, good selection of fruit, yogurt, cereals, toast, tea and coffee, which was more than enough.

All in all, an ok stay, but nothing spectacular!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marct0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Poorly sign posted from the road as we all drove past it. When inside it's like a time machine back to the 60s/70s. My hotel room was big but needs attention in every way. My tv only had 2 working channels total. Shower was pathetic. Downstairs bar was uncomfortable. Bed needed renewing. There must be somewhere better nearby.

Room Tip: Room 1 was mine and I heard a few cars arriving and on the main road. Not too bad though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here for work purpose.this hotel is a throw back to the 70s.this hotel could be good with a major facelift.the hotel is nice and clean tho.didnt have the cooked breakfast(£9.50 extra)which is a bit steep I think.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for a week when I first arrived in London as was close to my work. I found it to be an old, run down building with faded carpet, aged bedding, mediocre facilities and staff that are not particularly interested their job.

I was moved into an executive suite the second night as my initial room was occupied by wasps. Despite the spa bath for one, the shower pressure was atrocious and had to hold the head as close as possible to my body for any water to have any affect.

The hotel is on a relatively busy road and the windows are not double glazed - so you have a constant stream of cars outside your window. The acoustics within the building are atrocious - every floorboard creaks, voices travel far - and as a result you can hear everything that is going on outside your door and in the hallway.

No one seemed to be around when you needed them - despite ringing of the bell at reception. However when you did happen to cross someone - they were were absolutely lovely and well mannered.

There is a pub within the hotel, which helps to take your mind off the fact that you are in such a dull place to stay. No food facilities (apart from a very average breakfast), no room service and no laundry facilities.

All in all - It seems like the kind of place where their family and friends congregate at the end of the day, rather than a location fit for guests and travellers. Seek elsewhere as it's definitely not worth the £60-70/night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genevieve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascot
0.6 mi away
Highclere Hotel
Highclere Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ascot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunningdale Park
Sunningdale Park
#5 of 6 in Ascot
3.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.2 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#6 of 7 in Bracknell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brockenhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockenhurst

Property: Brockenhurst
Address: Brockenhurst Road, Ascot SL5 9HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Brockenhurst 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Brockenhurst Hotel Ascot
Brockenhurst Ascot, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing