We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, little hotel”
Review of Highclere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Highclere Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ascot
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely, little hotel”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at Highclere in May 2014 when we visited Ascot Racecourse. We stayed in the three bed family room which was clean and spacious. We also enjoyed the plentiful, continental breakfast the following morning. The staff were particularly friendly, especially Philip who dropped us off at the local pub when it was raining! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The family room was the best because it is more spacious than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAHE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello "VAHE_12". Thank you for your glowing review. We try to go the extra mile; not just because we can, but because we want to. We might not be able to meet every single need, but we'll do our very best every time and it's always encouraging to hear how much a simple kindness means to someone else. Come back soon. Regards, Phillip Curtis. 07707022835
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    44
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
57
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Good size room, very clean, all new bedlinen and towels. Excellent budget option at £65 per night.
Some road noise, but perhaps because it was a hot night and I had the windows open.
Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear, not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulm2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello "paulm2101". Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I glad you found us to be well priced and very clean; with good linen and towels. As you've just experienced, good quality doesn't have to cost a lot, and good service shouldn't cost anything at all either. We pride ourselves on both. Keep well and come back soon. Regards, Phillip Curtis. 07707022835
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyke in wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel, its staff, accommodation and every thing that has been previously said were spot on, we will be back to use it as a base for Windsor. I have 40 years experience in the hospitality trade and it is very rare to find a gem as good as this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watcherTykeInWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello "watcherTykeInWales". Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. It's one thing to receive praise from happy travellers, and we are always pleased to do so; but there's something to be said when an industry colleague of 40-years experience appreciates one's work. Thank you for your generous and gracious comments. Regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights this week and was so good I've booked for the next 3 months!
Crisp cotton sheets (just like home) a tv that works, a modern clean bathroom and even a Kitkat on the complimentary tea and coffee tray :-)
Hosts are wonderful and was even offered an alcoholic beverage in my room - how can a girl refuse?
Clearly this establishment is a business but is run with tender loving care making it a joy to visit.
It must be good cause its the only place I have managed to get a good decent night sleep in a long while

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Opulence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello "Opulence". Thank you for staying with us and for the excellent vote of confidence in booking for so long. It's wonderful to receive such praise, but it raises expectations for everyone else; so to anyone reading your review and my response... come try it out for yourselves. We welcome the opportunity to WOW you too. Regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a short (4 night) stay at the highclere and enjoyed it very much from the moment we arrived, where nothing seemed to be of any trouble. Phillip the owner explained where you could eat out and how to find them. The room was very comfortable and clean only down sight and this being very picky but only because of my size (over 6ft) found the shower area a bit tight, but it was gleeming and they supplied plenty shower gel and shampoo/conditioner. Even the small touches in the room like every day they left a kit kat to go with your tea or coffee. Breakfast was very nice which was continental with plenty cereal, fruit, yoghurt, fruit juice, cheese, selection of cold hams and were offered scrambled eggs toast and beans and also preserves for toast. But what made it so welcoming was when we had pre booked a show in London we were not arriving back until after 11pm and the walk is quite dark as street lights limited Phillip the owner came to the train station to pick us both up he said just phone when you get on the train. But all in all it was enjoyable and when or if we return we would not have to look elsewhere for a hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello "BigDode". Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. It was a pleasure serving you and "Mrs BigDode" and I look forward to dong so again soon. Regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We needed to find somewhere to stay, at short notice and decided that High clear was the place for us. An excellent location with easy access to everywhere. A small but well appointed room, clean bed and hot shower, free WiFi that actually works. Easy parking on site and on street if you needed more room. The welcome was friendly and attentive. All round any easy recommend, and added to our list of places to stay close to home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynton191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Lynette and Anthony. Thank you for your kind words. It's always encouraging to get the type of feedback you gave as it tells us that our best is good enough for our guests, and gives us impetus to keep at it. Come back soon please. Regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Highclere offered everything I look for in a place to stay; all clean, a particularly comfortable bed, excellent walk-in shower, friendly and helpful service, with good finishing touches like the decent sized towels and free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highclere_Hotel, Owner at Highclere Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Liz P. Thank you fr your excellent review. I'm pleased you liked the bed as we went for the more comfortable option and it's nice to know that we made the right choice. Hurry back soon. Regards, Phillip Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascot
0.5 mi away
Sunningdale Park
Sunningdale Park
#5 of 5 in Ascot
1,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#4 of 7 in Bracknell
2,029 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
3.8 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highclere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highclere Hotel

Property: Highclere Hotel
Address: 19 Kings Road | Sunninghill, Ascot SL5 9AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highclere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Sunninghill village near Ascot, 10 minutes from the M25, M4, M3 & the A30. Conveniently located with shops, restaurants and pubs close by. Heathrow Airport is just 20-minutes away.Main business areas of Bracknell, Reading, Staines, Windsor nearby.Flexible check-in times (please call to discuss), Free WiFi and Free on-site parkingLocal attractions include: Royal Ascot, Wentworth GC, Windsor Castle, Windsor Great Park, Virginia Water Lake, Saville Gardens, Legoland, Thorpe Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Highclere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highclere Hotel Ascot, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing