We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't buy a Premier Enclosure ticket!”
Review of Ascot Racecourse

Ascot Racecourse
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Ascot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't buy a Premier Enclosure ticket!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've always loved Ascot and really looked forwards to our anual visit, champagne pic nic in the car park, a bit of a gamble and watching the racing from the Premier enclosure whilst having a drink - always been well worth the additional cost of the Premier ticket given the view, facilities and more comfortable surroundings. This year though I'm afraid Ascot changed the rules and we were unable to buy a drink come back onto the grass in the Premier enclosure and watch the races, you could watch anywhere else including the terrace in the grand stand with a drink but not in the Premier enclose - we had paid more money for less facilities. With lenghty queues at the bar, we were unable to queue up, get a drink and drink it to return to watch the racing live form the terrace. The queues have been long in previous years but not a problem as we've been able to return to the terrace in time for the racing to drink our drink. What a shame, a lovely day but be warned, don't buy a premier enclose ticket if you want to stand on the terrace and enjoy you drink.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SAP19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    196
    55
    33
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A brilliant day out”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The service at Ascot racecourse is exceptional and a brilliant day out as a couple.

Beware of the ripoff taxi rank though, they wanted £20 for a 2 minute drive back to our hotel!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timbo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great experience!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were taken to a box which overlooked the finish line. Waitress service with drinks, lunch and afternoon tea were all excellent. A very stylish event.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Have been visiting Ascot racecourse Premier Enclosure for several years and always had a fabulous time. The racecourse is spectacular and the facilities excellent. However this year, and with no warning, the rules have changed and you cannot watch the racing on the grass terrace with a drink!! Had one drink with no problem but then, all change, and alcoholic drinks banned!!! Apparently all other enclosures allow it but not if you have paid out for top price tickets in the Premier enclosure! I can fully understand that they do not want rowdy or drunken behaviour in this lovely enclosure but I think it is not too much to expect to watch the fantastic racing with a drink on the lawn! Very disappointing and, sadly, will be looking for a new venue next year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDink7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“trip to races”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent facilities unless you want to see the actual races. Viewing from the grandstand is a joke and you would have to pay the premier enclosure rate to get a decent view.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 967SteveC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ascot Racecourse also viewed

Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Ascot Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing