We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the most conducive venue for a business event!”
Review of Sunningdale Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunningdale Park
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the most conducive venue for a business event!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If you've harboured fond memories of your time in university halls of residence, then this is the place for you! If you want a peaceful and comfortable venue for a business meeting however...this will disappoint you. Cramped, uncomfortable bedrooms, variable wifi & meeting room clocks that do not work - plus extraneous & intrusive noise.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Wardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    267
    293
    167
    129
See reviews for
146
341
51
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

My wife hates this place. No mirror in the room. Small pokey rooms. Plumbing poor.
Personally. I have stayed in worse. It's safe and clean. I would stay here again if on my own. But my wife has already said that she will not. I did stay here a couple of years ago but had forgotten what it was like.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here after moving from an unfortunate stay at Uplands house De Vere with fire alarm problems and no sleep
I cannot fault the property and the staff they were exceptional in helping us settle into a good room and went out of their way to make sure we were happy
We had a lovely bottle of champagne delivered to the room and later in the afternoon the most beautiful bouquet of flowers delivered by the duty manager called Pete for compensation of no sleep the night before at Uplands House
The hotel itself is very well run there is free tea/coffee machines and biscuits around each block of rooms and the grounds are amazing went for a lovely walk around the lake and visited the conference and wedding venue Northcote House in the grounds
All in all I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend it especially for romantic weekends away and all credit to the staff which makes it stand out from other more expensive hotels in the area

Room Tip: Family rooms and Chaucer signature rooms are better but all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruise5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Sunningdale Park, in the Chaucer block, Our room was clean and our double bed a good size and very comfortable. The restaurant was quite a way from the room, but it was a pleasant walk through the grounds. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. The food was good and an excellent choice at breakfast. We would stay again,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Although it doesn't look like the average hotel from the outside, (we thought it looked like a sheltered housing complex for the elderly) we were more than happy with the inside - eventually! We, (a family of two adults and a twelve year old) were allocated a room in the bridges block. After travelling seven hours to get there we found the receptionist's directions to our room a little complicated and proceeded to the wrong block and kept trying our key in the door until someone answered it and told us we had the wrong room - embarrassing! On finding our room we were more than happy! Clean, comfortable, free toiletries and a refreshment tray. Free tea, coffee, milk and biscuits were available in reception all day and night. My husband definitely made use of this. He went down each evening to read the complimentary papers over a cup of tea or three. Each morning he made one to take with him when we went out for the day. I've read some of the bad reviews and although I can't comment on the quality of the food as we were too busy to eat at the hotel, everything else was over and above what we had expected for the price we paid (£107 for three night). The only complaint we had was the noise coming from the room above. Put children in a room and tell them to jump off the bed and run from one end of the room to the other, making as much noise as possible for at least 45 minutes and this describes what happened each night of our stay. If we ever need a hotel in this area in the future we would definitely return (hoping the family above decide not to!)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hello Emopaz

Thank you so much for submitting your candid feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Sunningdale Park Venue and your comments are noted. The team and I are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley
De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
T: 01344634362/E:Kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk
Sunningdale Park,Larch Avenue, Ascot ,berkshire, SL5 0QE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed for two nights at Northcote House in the grounds of this park. The location is fabulous with great views and a very large estate with lakes and rolling hills. I stayed in Chaucer house which is near Northcote House. The accommodation was decent, with v good showers. Food was served a five minute walk down the lane and it was adequate as was lunch and dinner.
But like most of these attractions in the UK, they are over priced by I would say 10 to 20 percent. There werent many guests when I stayed. Maybe these fantastic venues would fill up more if the rates were more realistic.

Room Tip: Chaucer House is very good location if you want to be near the best walks or runs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HATTER190747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hello Hatter190747

Thank you so much for submitting your straightforward feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Sunningdale Park Venue and your comments are noted. The team and I are thrilled that overall you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley
De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
T: 01344634362/E:Kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk
Sunningdale Park,Larch Avenue, Ascot ,berkshire, SL5 0QE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Spent a few days here for a conference. I was put into a tiny room with a single bed instead of the original booking of a room with super single or queen size bed room. Request to not entertained and reason given was "The hotel was overbooked and we could not do anything about it." Toilet amenities also poor. The bright side is that the room was cleaned up well during the stay.

The food at the restaurant also below expectation. Breakfast was boring with the same menu every day. Food served at the restaurant during lunch and dinner also sucks. It's really horrible.

Apart from the above, the location is not too bad. Some areas could be further improved by proper maintenance.

Room Tip: Never book the single bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Terrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hello T_Terrence,

Thank you for submitting your personal feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Sunningdale Park and your comments are noted.

Warm Regards
Kyran Bradley
De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
T: 01344634362//E:Kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk
Sunningdale Park,Larch Avenue, Ascot ,berkshire, SL5 0QE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ascot hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascot
0.5 mi away
Highclere Hotel
Highclere Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ascot
163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
678 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunningdale Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunningdale Park

Property: Sunningdale Park
Address: Larch Avenue, Ascot SL5 0QE, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunningdale Park 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunningdale Park in Ascot is a modern hotel that offers bedroom accommodation in over 65 acres of landscaped gardens and natural woodland. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, free Wi-Fi, free parking and a take-away breakfast box only. A gym is also available. Easily accessible from several major motorways including the M3, M4, and M25 and just 30 minutes from Heathrow, the hotel is well-placed for business traveller stays during the week. An easy reach to London and close proximity to some great local attractions including Ascot Racecourse, LEGOLAND and the majestic town of Windsor, the hotel is also a convenient and cost-effective base for weekend breaks to the area. Please note there is no restaurant or bar at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunningdale Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Park Ascot, Berkshire
Sunningdale Park Hotel Ascot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing