We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunningdale Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunningdale Park
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked for our nephews wedding. No king beds so asked for twin that could be zip linked, in a quiet location as light sleepers. Beds were not linked and although on top floor at end of corridor, it was the end nearest car park which meant kept awake by noisy revellers returning to hotel in early hours, as they had to walk past to get in. Bath plug hole full of hair and sink overflow dirty, toilet seat loose. Top drawer of chest broken, every time you moved the bed squeaked. Grounds could be really stunning but are suffering from lack of maintenance. Looks like it just gets mowed, no weeding and grass cuttings left in a pile by run down greenhouse. Previous comments about looking like army camp are truthful. Breakfast was really good and all the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Not 228 if you want quiet as near car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Jackie t

Thank you so much for your personal feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Sunningdale Park Venue and your comments are duly noted.

Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley
General Manager
De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
T: 01344634362/E:Kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk
Sunningdale Park,Larch Avenue, Ascot ,Berkshire, SL5 0QE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    258
    289
    160
    119
See reviews for
141
327
49
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last night and was as always really impressed. The room is comfortable with free wifi and a good tv and nice toiletries . I love the grounds here and I went for a lovely walk last night before my dinner. The grounds are so well kept and I had a sit in the sun at the end of a busy day with a free cup of tea from the tea and coffee machine in the reception. The free tea and coffee and biscuits is a really nice touch. I also had a great meal here in the bar or you can have a. 2 course meal in the restaurant for £15 from a good choice of freshly cooked dishes . Breakfast here is certainly a high point with a great hot selection plus freshly cooked items to order such as omelettes and eggs to order . I love the porridge and breads section. I really have never been disappointed with the hotel and stay here often for work .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Joanne M

Thank you so much for your personal feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Sunningdale Park Venue and your comments are noted. The team and I are really pleased to read your straight forward feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again I thank you for your comments and your time. I do hope we can welcome you back to Sunningdale Park very soon!

Warm Regards

Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley
General Manager
De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
T: 01344634362/E:Kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk
Sunningdale Park,Larch Avenue, Ascot ,berkshire, SL5 0QE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I have just recently visited the Sunningdale Park using the hotel to visit my mother who is in Crowthorne.

On arrival it was very quick to check in and I was pointed where my room was with a map. Very easy to navigate.

When we went into our room it was very clean and homely. The door cards made me laugh with qerky comments. Once the we put a door card on that we would like our room cleaning it was done to a high standard.

The buffet area was all clean and the breakfasts was hot. You have everything you need for a fully english, however there was not much choice for a fruit breakfast.

The bar was well presented and some where you can kick back and relax. A big bonus point for playing the chart music! It displays sports, has table football and a pool table. The pool table was in poor shape! Please purchase a new one. The bar food was great and portions was very good.

The staff was all very friendly and professional.

I have been seeing comments on £25 per night below. Also my mother paid this to. However I paid £64.50!

Overall I was pleased with the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Tommy M

Thank you so much for your personal feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Sunningdale Park Venue and your comments are duly noted. The team and I are thrilled to read your honest feedback and delighted you genuinely enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again I thank you for your comments and your time. I do hope we can welcome you back to Sunningdale Park very soon!!

Warm Regards

Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley
General Manager
De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
T: 01344634362/E:Kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk
Sunningdale Park,Larch Avenue, Ascot ,berkshire, SL5 0QE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is used by the government for training and seminars, and sidelines as a hotel. The buildings are more like a college campus or run down army barracks. The layout is confusing and not particularly well sign posted.
The walls were paper thin so you can constantly hear people, doors slamming, TV's and water running.
Location is great for Ascot, taxi is £10 one way.
The rooms were contemporary and comfortable but the noise ruined the restful sleep. The shower was great although the door wouldn't stay shut!
The grounds are beautiful and well worth a wander around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Helen E

Thank you so much for your personal feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Sunningdale Park Venue and your comments are duly noted.

Warm Regards

Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley
General Manager
De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
T: 01344634362/E:Kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk
Sunningdale Park,Larch Avenue, Ascot ,Berkshire, SL5 0QE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked on a De Vere sale offer £80 including breakfast & sight-seeing tour of Windsor.
Set in beautiful grounds but very strange lay out, you do feel you are on a college/university campus with bedroom blocks and conference/venue blocks spread throughout. No air conditioning in bedrooms so forced to leave window open which got very noisy with wedding guests going back to their rooms.
Ate in bar - food was really well presented & looked very appetising but my beetroot/walnut/stilton salad had way too many walnuts & not enough salad leaves.Staff were very pleasant & polite. Overall represented good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room on higher floor on opposite side to walkways
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cupecake N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Cupecake.N

Thank you so much for your personal feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Sunningdale Park Venue and your frank salient points are noted.

Warm Regards

Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley
General Manager
De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
T: 01344634362/E:Kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk
Sunningdale Park,Larch Avenue, Ascot ,Berkshire, SL5 0QE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A wonderful stay. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable. The rooms were small but it was only a short stay, so not a problem. The restaurant offered excellent breakfast and generally good quality food, with the option of bar food for less formal meals. Beautiful surroundings. Well done!

Room Tip: Limited rooms with lift access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolo350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Tommy M

Thank you so much for your personal feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Sunningdale Park Venue and your comments are certainly noted. The team and I are Tickled Pink to read your straightforward feedback and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again I thank you for your comments and taking time out to submit them. We all hope we can welcome you back to Sunningdale Park very soon!!

Warm Regards

Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley
General Manager
De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
T: 01344634362/E:Kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk
Sunningdale Park,Larch Avenue, Ascot ,berkshire, SL5 0QE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Sunningdale Park is set in large, landscaped grounds with tall trees surrounding the hotel. I wish I'd had more time to explore the grounds but I only stayed for one night as it was convenient for a very early flight from Heathrow Airport.

The hotel is sprawling, a bit like a university campus, with several wings each of which looked a bit like a Travelodge or Premier Inn. If I'd paid over £100 for a standard double room, I would probably be disappointed that it lacked character and wasn't a bit more 'special'. However, I only needed a single room close to Heathrow and, at £29/night, the room was an absolute bargain.

The room was fairly spacious, with a double bed and a bathroom which was bigger than it needed to be (could have been better designed). It was well decorated in a modern style and tea & coffee were included, as was free WiFi. However, with only one window and no air conditioning, it was quite warm in the room. There was little soundproofing between the rooms and I could hear the TV in the next room but once it was turned off, the area was completely silent.

I didn't visit the restaurant as it wasn't open very late (closed at 9pm, I think) and I had to check out at 4:30am. Luckily, there is a 24 hour reception and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The main car park at the front of the hotel is small and very tight and there were no spaces when I arrived. Fortunately, when I checked in I was given a map of the 'campus' and told how to access the various other small car parks around the grounds. I was able to park right outside my room which was very convenient.

For a single room, this was an excellent choice but the hotel is not what I'd expect from a De Vere. It's in a quiet, affluent area and is very convenient for golfers, those attending the horse racing at Ascot and anyone heading for Heathrow Airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello Kevin H

Thank you so much for your personal feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Sunningdale Park Venue and your comments are noted. The team and I are really pleased to read your straight forward feedback and delighted overall enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again I thank you for your comments and your time. I do hope we can welcome you back to Sunningdale Park very soon!

Warm Regards

Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley
General Manager
De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
T: 01344634362/E:Kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk
Sunningdale Park,Larch Avenue, Ascot ,Berkshire, SL5 0QE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascot
0.6 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Highclere Hotel
Highclere Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ascot
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
4.4 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,504 reviews
3.2 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunningdale Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunningdale Park

Property: Sunningdale Park
Address: Larch Avenue, Ascot SL5 0QE, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunningdale Park 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunningdale Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Park Ascot, Berkshire
Sunningdale Park Hotel Ascot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing