We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Said it was open all day...but apparently not!”
Review of Eton College

Eton College
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$57.29*
and up
Windsor Independent Day Trip from London with Private Driver
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Eton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Said it was open all day...but apparently not!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I really don't like giving poor reviews but thought I totally wasted my time here.
My wife and I had a day planned a day in Eton and Windsor.
Reviews of the college looked great and we viewed the web site....open all day, tours at particular times.
We walked up Eton high street and when arriving at the college a sign directed you - visitors this way. We should have twigged as other people walked passed us, returning from the fruitless walk, which went to rear of the building and a hut that was shut. On the hut window a sign, please visit Visitor Centre and gift shop. It did not say where? We returned, along with 4 or 5 other couples / families doing the same. Over the road is the Visitor Centre, which was closed. So onto the front of the college. We chatted with a porter / security guard. Very pleasant, but told to go back to the Visitor Centre....which was closed. Other small groups of people were all doing he same rounds....all confused.
This was 12.30 on a busy Saturday afternoon.
So we and everyone else gave up and headed back into town.
I can't review the college, which I'm sure may be a great tour, if you can get in.

Why the poor review....there was no information. Nobody to ask. Poor and misleading signage. If I was the only idiot searching around to get in then fair enough, but there were numerous other families and couples doing exactly the same. Is this the best ETON College can do?

If intending to go, please plan your journey first.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ColinFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    71
    26
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“great historical institution”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A must see. It is known for its quality education and bringing out the best in students. I was impressed with the historical building and the various facilities the College has for its students including sports. I loved the rowing track.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“So much history, well worth the tour”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We took a one hour tour which is the only way to visit Eton College, but despite the fee (£7.50 for an adult) it is well worth it to see the historic buildings and hear the history. It is an amazing place, even if it just for educating the elite.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank emily t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Datchet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A School for Poor Boys!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Established in 1440/1441 as a school for poor boys is now one of the most well known and expensive private schools in the world. Commissioned by the martyr king Henry VI it is the most prestigious school in the UK. This is where Princes William & Harry went to school. Luckily Eton is required to take on Scholars, boys on full scholarship from all levels of society. Great place to visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Bastion of Education”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is one of the finest educational establishments in the world for children. An amazing school for kids from 11- 18 years old. They education is fine and of the highest standards. I visit the college regularly as I enjoy the music festivals in the music halls by the students. I enjoy the old building and the magnificient church. The school is steeped in history and has had several leaders, political, art, academic etc, from the school. When visiting the school make it a point to not look at buildings but to get a lot more of how the children are educated, how they spend their time.
The local shops gives you an insight into the attire, the sport and the lifestyle of the students. The college is a must see and when taking in the college, spend time walkign on the high street browsing at the shops.
Many a master gets gifts from the students at end of year. Most of these gifts are from the local store on the high street.

The education and sport of of a very high calibre. An elitist school producing some of our finest leader for the world for tomorrow. Please note this is no tourist attrraction but a seat of learning...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Friendlyface097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eton College also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Eton College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing