We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be visited”
Review of Eton College

Eton College
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.14*
and up
Windsor Independent Day Trip from London with Private Driver
More Info
US$17.27*
and up
City Sightseeing Windsor Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
US$78.36*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Eton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must be visited”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Take the official tour. It is not too expensive, doesnt take all day and you get a good taste of what the college is all about. It is a world somewhat apart from the one I have inhabited.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Origami_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    73
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very interesting 30 minute walking tour”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The tourist information office in Windsor was displaying a sign in relation to these tours.
You could buy tickets for it from them or from the Eton College tourist centre which is where the tours begin and end.
We decided to buy our tickets from the College tourist centre. I think it cost £7.50 each
The tour we wanted to take departed at 2pm. We got there at 1pm to buy our tickets but the centre was closed. There was no information relating to their opening times which would have been useful. We returned at 1.50pm to find it had opened and were able to buy our tickets.
The tour was fascinating. Our guide was a retired member of the teaching staff and he gave us a great insight into the College and it's history. I would have liked a little more time in the museum at the end.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arthur_Tash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“For tourists and locals alike”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We just had a very nice day in Windsor and Eton. We managed to park at the leisure centre car park (not cheap -over a tenner for 4-5 hours) and then took the pleasant riverside walk into town and over the bridge into Eton. Despite living only 20 minutes away we'd never really though of doing it. Eton town/village is quaint and most of the buildings are either part of the school, pubs or antique shops. As we got outside Eton college the noticeboard said 'guided tours - see in gift shop' ..we went in and as luck would have it there was one going in 10 minutes. The lady that took us on the tour was very enthusiastic and endearing. She obviously was very proud of the college and the headmaster and it was good to hear about all the charity work the boys do around town. The tour starts in the school yard - the only place big enough to cater for all the boys in one place via the museum where she set the scene about what we'd see. The original class room oozes history with the boys being allowed to carve their names into the wooden desks if they got to one of the Cambridge colleges (Kings I think...sorry I was paying attention). There are also sombre reminders of the boys that died in the 2 world wars ; the amount of names from WW1 is staggering as they joined as Lieutenants and were expected to lead the charge over and out the trenches. The chapel is spectacular too with wall paintings and stained glass. The tour takes around an hour and a bit and it's £7.50 for adults I think a fiver for kids. I'd imagine the Americans would go mad for this sort of thing - it's like Hogwarts but with its own special type of English magic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I found the tour of Eton College very interesting and the guide gave us lots of information on its history and how college life is now in comparison. We saw the cloisters, museum and the "oldest classroom in the world" where names carved in the desks are three hundred years old but my highlight was the chapel which was stunning. The tour lasts around an hour and cost is reasonable so I would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 32ChrisA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely tour with a tour guide .”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

If your in Windsor I recommend this guided tour. Reasonable price and very interesting . The tour guide was very informative and made the tour interesting.Great to have a tour guide not a audio. Only negative I would of liked to see a bit of the new college.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunbeam58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eton College also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Eton College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing