We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent tour.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Eton College

Eton College
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.07*
and up
Windsor Independent Day Trip from London with Private Driver
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Eton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,661 reviews
2,243 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,035 helpful votes
“A decent tour.”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

After spending some time at Windsor castle, why not go for a short visit at Eton collage?
It's quite close, and the tour is nice and informative.
Given the fact that so many famous people got their education here - it's a decent tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    71
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fascinating history”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

After visiting Windsor Castle, it's well worthwhile walking along to Eton College in time to take a guided tour there. As with some other reviewers, we had some difficulty finding the visitors' entrance, only to be directed back to a nearby shop for ticketing. The history and traditions of the college are very interesting and the short tour was fascinating, although we would have appreciated a little more time to study the exhibits in the museum.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 2plus2gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Will be closed for public tours in 2014”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I am a Windsor local and my son was one of those well informed tour guides for the last 4 years, so we happen to know that it won't be open for public tours in 2014, because of major renovation works. Organised groups may still be happening, but you won't just be able to turn up, pay and go on a tour next year. Thought folks might like to know this if planning a trip to Windsor and Eton next summer. Still come and visit our lovely town though :-)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting but organisation of tour could be improved”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Overall a wonderful opportunity to see where so many of our great leaders have been educated and to soak up the history of these ancient buildings. However, I did have a few small niggles about the organisation of our Sunday afternoon tour. We booked our reasonably priced tickets online and that was very easy and efficient. However, the website didn't describe properly the procedure for joining the tour and actually neither did the sign at the start of the tour and this seemed to cause a lot of confusion. The correct procedure is, on arrival, go over to the Eton shop on the opposite side of the road where you swap your online printed tickets for a green or blue visitor pass that hangs round your neck. You then go back over the road where you are collected promptly by the tour guides and taken through a security bag checking area. You then gather into two groups depending on which colour visitor pass you were given. Parking in Eton is scare so, if arriving by car, do allow plenty of time to get this all sorted before the start of your pre-booked tour. You are able to take photographs (except in the Chapel) and it is very interesting to see the old schoolroom with the ancient desks carved with the names of hundred's of former students. Also fascinating was the chapel with the 'ancient looking' ceiling which was actually built in the 1950's - it is beautiful. However, further small niggles were....the lack of time to look at exhibits in the museum. Also the lights weren't working in the example of the boy's study. Surely someone could have fixed this before the tours started. We were also particularly sad to miss seeing the carved names of Prince William and Prince Harry because a very small choir rehearsal was taking place directly in front of where these were located. We realise that this is a working school but it was such a shame, in such a big room and on a Sunday, that the choir had to use that particular spot. The tour could also be further improved if we could also have seen an example of a modern day boy's room. Finally, at the end of the tour - please remember that there is also a shop to visit. Our guide forgot to remind us and unfortunately we didn't remember until we got back to our car, so completely missed this.
I'm sure that, with a few improvements, we would be able to give a much higher rating.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth visiting.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were lucky enough to have an official guide who was excellent. It was fascinating to see the original classroom, dating back to 15th century and is still in use today. Anyone visiting Windsor Castle will find it is only 15-20 mins walk away, and it is well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dutchesse34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eton College also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Eton College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing