We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B - Will be recommending to friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lawn Guest House
Ranked #7 of 21 Maidenhead B&B and Inns
Mainland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice B&B - Will be recommending to friends.”
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I stayed here for a couple of weeks whiles waiting to move into nearby accomadation. I had orginally only booked it because it was the cheapest accomadaion I could find in the area. I was pleasantly suprised when I checked in. The owners were extrmemely helpful and friendly; my room was kept clean and they went out of their way to accomadate my extra luggage and bike. This B&B made my move to Maidenhead very smooth, and I'll be recommending it to friends when they are over.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    58
    19
    13
    2
See reviews for
52
36
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Definitely agree with the cheap and cheerful as previously, but when it's just somewhere to sleep after busy days you don't need much else. The room was much bigger than other B&Bs I have stayed in, including a nice roomy bathroom with dressing table for getting ready. The rooms were clean.

I don't know what the previous reviewer's problem with breakfast was. We stayed Weds - Sun and on the Sat morning when it was a bit busier we had to sit at a used table but settings were changed as needed and the waitress was apologetic. Breakfast wasn't 5* but you're not paying 5* breakfast. It was a perfectly good breakfast though and both the waitress and Phil were always asking if you wanted more. On the Sunday morning when we were leaving early Phil was happy to let us in early for some breakfast, and was very nice about it.

We stayed in Maidenhead as we were doing various trips in the area and was fairly central to all of them. The B&B was about a 5-10 min walk from the train station. We went to a gig in London and the ticket was £13.50 including travel within London. It was also well located for getting onto the M4 and M40. We also used the train to get to Henley and Marlow which was convenient.

For the places we were going to see this was a well located and one of the cheapest places I could find to stay. I picked it as the reviews were ok and I'm glad I did. I would definitely go back.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank groovykikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This is a cheap and cheerful ish b&b - its very basic and our room was large but very plain old fashioned decor ) peeling woodchip wall paper).
It has a certain charm for the price but coming down to breakfast I was shocked when every place setting had crumbs and debris from previous clients and as I said to the waiter " where can we sit, I think they are all used" he said " Oh we dont change the place settings just because someone has eaten here" He said nothing when I pointed out the crumbs, coffe stains etc....No matter how cheap and cheerful people want to be, I thought it atroucious that i had to eat in someone elses mess. The breakfast was the absolute cheap of the cheap too, and barely edible. We only stayed here as an emergency one night when we had a problem with our house.
I wouldnt not recomend it, the owner/host was lolvey and gracious older lady but she did admit the place was too big for her.
If you want somewhere cheap, close to the station, in a nice area, it would be ok. The room was clean but for the breakfast I have to give cleanliness a 1 !!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizeratsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LawnsguestHouse, Manager at The Lawn Guest House, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
We thank all guests for taking the time to script a review.
At The Lawns Guest House, all reviews are acted upon in a positive and constructive manner.
Where standards have not met customer expectations, improvements are undertaken to ensure our offering is of the appropriate level.
Where Guests have stated that we have excelled, this advice is used as a template for moving forward.
Reviews of all types are important to us, because it enables us to ensure a process of continuous improvement is established.
This strategy will ensure that all Guests, both new and repeat customers, experience a pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I don't normally write reviews, however on this occasion I felt complelled to write something as this B&B has is something to write about. On arrival at heathrow we were met by a charming cultured Man by the name of Phil who picked us up in a Rolls Royce. What a grand start to our arrival back in the UK after our holiday. The property look charming as we arrived and Mr P made us feel very welcome by providing a snack of sandwiches and a cup of tea as we were sligtly peckish. The little extra's go a long way. The B&B was clean, tidy and homely and a cot was provided for our son. After a good night sleep we were welcomed by Mr P and his mother who cooked the best english breakfast in the whole of the UK what a lovely woman. " Glad to be home again. This was a little gem and the personal touches really added value to our stay, will stay here again and again. Thanks again Mr P from J,M and baby J.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2010

i found my stay at this charming guest home impecable. i was a real pleasure to stay, with warm and friendly staff. the rooms were always kept immaculate and i was very impressed with the standard of living conditions. in the future i would be sure to book at this bed and breaksfast again as it is one of the best i have come across in the past few years. i would recommend it to everyone, including single travelers and families.

  • Liked — friendly staff and immaculate rooms
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rmewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Situated in a quiet area of Maidenhead, this guest house is offers immaculate rooms, good service and a delicious breakfast. I shall definitely return - a real home from home.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rospirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maidenhead hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Maidenhead Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
1.5 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
690 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
1.1 mi away
Grenfell Arms
Grenfell Arms
#8 of 21 in Maidenhead
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawn Guest House

Property: The Lawn Guest House
Address: 6 Boyn Hill Avenue, Maidenhead SL6 4ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lawn Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lawn is a welcoming family run hotel in a superb location close to the center of Maidenhead. Great for both business and leisure travellers, recently refurbished full en-suite rooms are available as well as large family rooms that can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children. And you'll get a great breakfast too, with superb choice and locally sourced products including free range eggs from our own happy hens. The Lawn is a 5-minute walk from the town centre or railway station and a mere 10-minute drive from the excellent restaurants in Bray, Marlow and Windsor. All rooms feature free 40MBS Fibre Optic Wi-Fi, Flat Screen LED TV, complementary Aqua viva toiletries, and full tea/coffee making facilities, biscuits etc. Most rooms also have a private bathroom. We have a lovely lounge where you can read, chat with friends or just relax and unwind. Free all-day parking is available. Ascot Racecourse, Windsor, Legoland and Henley are 15 minutes by car, and London can be reached by train in 20 minutes from Maidenhead railway station. The Lawn is only a 12 miles from Heathrow Airport. The Lawn is within easy reach of the M4, M40 and M25, providing quick and excellent access to Slough, Oxford, Reading and High Wycombe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lawn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lawn Guest House Maidenhead, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing