We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and Price”

Boulters Riverside Brasserie & Terrace Bar
Ranked #2 of 149 Restaurants in Maidenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$48
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality and Price”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I am a regular customer at Boulters and the consistancy and the stardards are dropping. The bar menu has hardly anything on it for this season. It is very expensive for what you get. I find the price of nearly £5 for a portion of chips very expensive. The postions are getting smaller and smaller. I also find the staff are starting to look scruffy, the bar are is also starting to look like it needs a good clean. It has an unwelcoming smell. I am going to start using the Ferris down the road, I think they have taken on customer feedback and improved on the service and quality of food. I hope boulters start to watch these little things as customers will start to go else where. Many thanks

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waterstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Boulters Riverside Brasserie & Terrace Bar, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review of our Terrace Bar.

I am sorry to hear your comments regarding the menu in the Terrace Bar as it has been well received this summer. The Bar menu is smaller due to the nature of the service and the size of our kitchen upstairs. For a larger selection of dishes our Riverside Brasserie has a full À la carte menu available which is served all day.

I will pass on all of your comments to the relevant members of the management team to ensure they are addressed as soon as possible.

Again thank you very much for your review and we hope you will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    284
    87
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“This heavy and misconceived dish was served in a jam jar”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very impressive ceiling to floor glass wall projecting over the Thames in Maidenhead, with canned music, which I do not like. Good range of starters: terrine of chicken, serano ham, hazel nut emulsion with a jelly and truffle risotto with feta and radicchio leaves were received with enthusiasm. For the main course, I had plaice with caper and chive sauce and Sarladaise potatoes which was a ponderous potato cake with bits of bacon. The plaice was overcooked.

Walking along the Thames that morning I stopped to taste beautiful blackberries. I was inspired to order: Fresh blackberries with English blackberry mousse and chocolate. This heavy and misconceived dish was served in a jam jar. It was bad.

£25 per person without alcohol

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterBibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
479 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Ideal for a cool drink on a sunny afternoon”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

visited the terrace bar on a lovely sunny afternoon. What a perfect location. It was quite busy but not overly so. Service was good and the staff were friendly and helpful. the bar menu is a little more expensive than other similar establishments but it has to be worth the extra just for the lovely view over the Thames. we spent a very pleasant afternoon there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenMaideheadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visited for lunch on a very hot July day. Lovely terrace, delicious salmon salad and attentive, friendly service. The desserts looked good too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Longhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidenhead
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sparkling delicious lunch”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Visited Boulters as love the location and the aspect of the restaurant on a shimmering summers day. Chose to eat the special menu which gives you one choice on each course for a very reasonable price. The tomato starter with pea panacotta was exceptional, the hake delicious and dessert divine. Service was a little clumsy but the young lads tried hard. Really would not hesitate to recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Boulters Riverside Brasserie & Terrace Bar, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your review of our Riverside Brasserie.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our "Du Jour" menu. It gives our Chefs a great opportunity to express themselves and will be on offer for the foreseeable future.

I appreciate your comments regarding the staff. We do have a young and enthusiastic team who work very hard and are progressing everyday.

Many thanks for your review again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boulters Riverside Brasserie & Terrace Bar also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
 
Bray-on-Thames, Berkshire
Windsor and Maidenhead, Berkshire
 

Been to Boulters Riverside Brasserie & Terrace Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing