We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great family break”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Good location with excellent pool and spa facilities. Very nice, ample and varied breakfast. Service was superb and immediate perks and upgrades if you are a club member (membership is free). Comfortable family room - kids were treated well and really enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbiondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thanks for the 5 stars and the great review, couldn't have said it better myself!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    410
    226
    83
    41
See reviews for
338
199
42
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay overall but wouldn’t get over carried away. We reviewed this hotel a year ago and it hasn’t changed really.

We stayed mid-week for 3 nights in an exec room. We like the large, free car park and the hotel is easy from the motorway north. The room was good although not sure the exec package is particularly special. It was quiet though. Wish it had free wifi.

The staff did a good job although there was an error in our room and in our meal bill but they fixed with no quibble whatsoever.

Breakfast is the usual well done Holiday Inn buffet and was fairly busy, although we didn’t have to queue.

The evening meal in the restaurant was enjoyable. We went in early and there were quite a few families with very small children in at that time. The restaurant and public rooms are quite modern style.

The pool looks decent although we didn't use it.

The hotel is about a mile from the railway station so we walked there and got the train into London on both days. It’s not a bad journey, 45minutes plus a tube ride, although a bit further than we’d really like.

One night we walked into Maidenhead and had a meal at a Prezzo. We hadn’t tried that chain before and the pizza was very good, we found there was a voucher on the internet that saved us quite a bit.

In London we had a meal at a vegetarian called Mildred’s. That was very good.

Maidenhead centre is fairly standard UK with its chain and discount stores and area where cars are a problem.

I like this Holiday Inn and am very likely to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete3080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thanks for your comments and delighted to read that you will return. You'll be pleased to know we do offer free wifi to our Gold and Platinum members of IHG Rewards Club, sign up if you haven't already!
Thanks for the rounded comments on the area as often this si useful to travellers as well.
Look forward to seeing you again hopefully in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had 3 room's booked for my wife and me, my daughter and her 2 son's, my nice, husband and there daughter + mother. So we could stay over and visit Legoland the next day. The booking in was no problem, but the room's could not have been as far apart if you tried, 2 ground floor opposite end's of the hotel and one second floor (to be fair the latter was an asked for upgrade) one would have thought that we would have been put closer together on booking?,common sense and we were not even asked if we would like to be close together or as close as possible. My wife and I had no robes or slippers that were present in the other rooms. All the rooms were neat and tidy.
The indoor pool was great for the children it was warm clean and they had a good time.
In the early evening we went to the bar for a drink and a snack. All ordered then we had to ask were the snacks were, over 25 minutes waiting and the drinks order was not complete on arrival, this was disappointing as the bar was not busy.
My nice's husband had ordered a pint of Guinness the same as me,but when he got half way down he found a pice of paper of some sort in the glass, this was taken back to the bar and after some discussion he was given half a pint and no apology or explanation as to what could have happened.
We arrived mid afternoon and on the ground floor as well as the first level stair well there were trays with glasses (including alcohol) left on the floor see photo, these were taken away about midnight which considering the amount of children of all ages running around I find is totally unacceptable on a safety grounds alone. We had not said anything as we expected them to be cleared away shortly after we arrived.
Almost on a positive note the breakfast was superb even though they ran out of croissants early on to the disappointment of the children.
Overall not a pleasant stay considering we traveled from York.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Graham P,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

arived at the hotel, great reception, standard Holiday Inn rooms, quiet and airy. Bar staff really friendly and helpful. it all unfortunately went down hill and breakfast. there were 4 of us, we were seated together and asked what we would like to drink, we duly ordered and waited.....and waited...we took turns getting our food buts till no hot drinks, we approached a waitress who said she would sort it.....we waited .....and waited... we approached another waiter, actually he could have been a manager - to which we got a very agitated, rude and quite aggressive....yes, i'm getting it now, he then served us, no manners, very abrupt and to be honest not to our surprise cold coffee and tea....never again. really spoiled what could have been a great experience

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear lisa n,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our restaurant staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

A friend of mine swears that quality odd hotel should be measured by quality of showers. If that was true this would be a five star hotel.

In truth this hotel offers comfortable but not expansive rooms, location convenient when traveling by car, a reasonably moderate bar. I didn't think much of the bar menu, nothing healthy really : no salads, pub grub.

Choose this hotel if the location works for you, you have a car with you, and you relish quality showers!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed a couple of nights while visiting Lego land.... Stayed in a slightly dated room which was however clean ... Cookies and milk on arrival for my daughter which she enjoyed..welcome pack too which included a jigsaw we still play with.. Great family fun in the pool and a compact well appointed gym...food great ,breakfast staff brilliant.. Evening meal with the lovely James as our waiter... Missed him on the second night!! Would be sure to book again ...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and it has established a golden rule of travel for us;

No Free WiFi = No Booking

This hotel charges 15 pounds per 24 hours for internet access. We forgot how important internet access was. We used this hotel as a base to explore Windsor and a trip by train to London for the day. We wanted to know; Is the national gallery open on Mondays? What is the train timetable from Maidenhead to London? How much does parking cost at Maidenhead rail station? Where's a good place to eat near the hotel etc. etc. With no internet it's impossible.

We stayed in a standard double room. It's small, clean and comfortable. The shower is a relatively high step into a bath, the shower is awful, we had 6 showers between us and every one had water temperatures variants from hot to cold. There is only a small vent in the bathroom, no window and no fan extraction and therefore the toilet smells and shower steam take about 30 minutes to dissipate, or you could let them waft into the bedroom. (!)

The towels are minimal in size & thickness.

There is a large safe and a cold bar refrigerator.

The guest lounge area was full of excited children and equally excited parents drinking pints of Stella Artois. There was debris on many tables, testimony to previous families enjoying the occasion. I mentioned the number of children when we checked out, the reason is that a promotion of Legoland plus hotel stay for families was in full swing.

Would we stay here again, NO, because it's too far from the train station. The walk to the train station is about 20 minutes.

Check out the Travelodge which is in a much better location near the station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelbalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
1.9 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,587 reviews
5.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor

Property: Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Address: Manor Lane, Maidenhead SL6 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor,M4 Jct 8/9 combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, including WiFi, High Speed Internet Access. 197 fully air conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, restaurant, bar, lounge, Spirit Health Club with swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room and gymnasium. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 400 delegates and also holds a civil license for Weddings and Civil Partnerships. The hotel is an ideal Legoland hotel and is close to Windsor Castle, Windsor Theatre, Dorney Lake and Henley Regatta, as well as Historic areas such as Marlow and Oxford within easy driving distance. Located at Jct 8/9 of the M4 and Jct 4 of the M40, with easy links to the M25. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is situated within 1 mile of Vanwall Business Park and Maidenhead Business Park and just 25 miles from Wembley Stadium, the hotel also offers free parking. Kids Stay & Eat Free* 5 ground floor accessible bedrooms, accessible parking and all public areas are situated on the ground floor.*Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Hotel Maidenhead
Maidenhead Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing