We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Hotel Error Ruins a Family Reunion Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One Hotel Error Ruins a Family Reunion Weekend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

First of all, the hotel itself is okay. The rooms are clean and well equipped, the breakfast was great, the leisure facilities were clean, well equipped and well managed. Service in the bar was efficient and to be fair the prices (for a hotel) were reasonable. The biggest problem is inefficient and poorly trained reception staff. One who wouldn't listen and had a "I know best attitude", Guess what...she didn't know best and as a result caused us as guests and some of her other colleagues a whole load of inconvenience, discomfort and, of course this less than perfect review!
Sometimes, sorry and a few free reward points isn't enough. Teach your staff to listen carefully and act accordingly. I will never return to this hotel, one that we had planned using several times this year after a family reunion.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay. I was very sorry to read that you would not return despite positive comments about breakfast, rooms and leisure facilities.
With sketchy information I can only guess as to the issue you describe which I assume was the mix up on guest name at our reception. That weekend we unusually had 2 groups of families with the same name staying which lead to confusion, clearly this should not have happened and more importantly should have been handled better.
We have just employed a new manager for that area and I am confident that we will see improvements in very near future.
Thank you for writing about us and for your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    405
    226
    78
    34
See reviews for
335
196
40
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Not a lot to say about this hotel, standard holiday inn, you take pot luck on pleasantness of receptionists, our bedroom was on front near outside lights that light up the hotel sign, dispite blackout curtains, room was bathed in light during nights,

Standard room prices expensive and not worth it, but if you can get a deal, passable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollysury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for writing about the hotel and your feedback about your bedroom. Not sure which room this is as all our signage is on the roof however we will try and find out and see what can be done to rectify the problem.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights December 29th , with a group of friends. Main complaint was the surliness and downright rudeness of some of the staff on Reception. Very rude and certainly not the way to speak to customers or guests- I won't go into the detail of the conversations- but they have obviously not had any training in customer service. We stayed her about 8 years ago - and it was a comfy hotel, which had a warm feel- This time- it felt very cold- atmosphere and temperature ! Long wait the first evening in the restaurant- they knew that 14 of us had booked on the b and b - with dinner include rate- and then were very surprised when we asked for a table of 14 in the restaurant that evening!!- This seemed like a major problem - and when it came to it - there was no one else in the restaurant!!- it wasn't as though they were busy!! They tried hard in the restaurant, but just couldn't seem to cope- waiters and waitresses were excellent , and the restaurant manager made every effort to accommodate us the next evening, with a pre- prepared menu. Very, very small room, even though I am holiday Inn rewards card holder. No recognition at all. Again - the 2 girls on reception really spoiled things- it was as though the customers were just an in convenience. Don't want to go back there again if I can help it

Room Tip: No idea!- our room was dreadful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diva451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear diva451,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Absolutely fantastic value for a very enjoyable evening.
We checked in to our room early evening, which was a decent size very clean and modern.
We were a group of 8 and all our rooms were next to each other.
Our table was just adjacent to the dance floor which we all thought was perfect . The three course meal was very nice and to finish coffee and mints. Small negative the meal did come out quite late and there was a long interval between each course but considering it was very busy and there were lots of tables it wasn't a problem but as the music was so good we were itching to get up and dance but wanted to finish the meal first. The dj was fantastic and played music from the 60's 70's and 80's , the dance floor did get really packed tho and could of been double the size to accommodate all of us dancers.

There was a great atmosphere the whole evening and especially as we saw the new year in.

We eventually turned in about 2.00 clock.breakfast the next morning was excellent, full English we got down there about 9.30 which was a good move cos as we came out of the restaurant the queue was very long as they were serving up until 11.00 am.
We will definitely be booking up here again for next year.

Room Tip: We were on second floor at the end of a small corridor very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliecu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for the review and of course for the 5 stars! Great to read you enjoyed your new year and look forward to seeing you again this year!
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very mixed hotel.
Reception fine but thee is absolutely no recognition for platinum card holders especially if you have a family. There is supposed to be an upgrade but they don't have better standard family rooms so you get nothing. This is ridiculous given the number of nights you need to qualify for this card. ICHG needs to sort this out fast as the continuing lack of recognition and benefits is not going wash much longer.

The room was fine but the kids said is was a squash and squeeze but for one night it was ok. The bed was uncomfortable and it was not a restful night. The bathroom is in dire need of refurbishment as after two showers everything was soaked from the condensation, and I mean soaked.
ICHG announced that every member would get free wifi then promptly back tracked. What you get for free here is both pointless and hopeless and I was better off using my phone. I was most certainly not going to pay £28 for a days internet access which was one of the many options.
The pool and sports facilities were good though at 7.30 there were no staff present so we let ourselves in.

Breakfast was the outstanding feature of the stay which was of good quality and choice.The staff at breakfast were friendly and helpful.

Overall it was fine but the
Ask of recognition and the renaming on free proper wifi simply reinforces the feeling of it being cheap. If you pay the advertised rate of £185 you are mad but at £50 including breakfast it is ok for a night.

Room Tip: Don't pay more than £80 and aim for less. Any more and you will be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Binman62,

Thank you for your feedback. As an IHG Rewards Platinum Member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and hotel. I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. We do value our IHG Rewards Club members and do apologize if this was not the case when you stayed with us. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually. I do hope you will give us a chance to make it right and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here on a business trip, perfect location for where I required to be in Maidenhead. The hotel is about 5 minutes in a taxi from Maidenhead Train Station.
Check in was quick and without any problems, room was of a standard size but all very clean. I ordered room service without problem, server very polite and food of a great standard.

My only problem with Holiday Inn's in general is that they have a shower curtain round the bath and not a shower cubical/glass, the room i stayed in was no different and the bathroom had a slight smell of musty/dampness.

Other than the slight smell in the bathroom my hotel stay was great and I will be back again when doing business in the Maidenhead area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thanks for the review, glad to read you had a good stay and found us convenient for your business trip. I note your comments about the shower curtain however I must admit we have no plans to change them at the moment - sorry! Despite this, I hope we can welcome you again soon.
Thanks for writing about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I had a stop over mid December.
Check in was quick and polite, allocated a room on the 3rd floor.
First issue was waiting for the lift, after a few minutes waiting with our bags we ended up walking up the stairs only to find the cleaners hogging the lift while they had a conversation.
Got to our allocated room and could not get in, after a walk back to reception, it seems they had written the wrong room number down and I had been trying to get in someone elses room.
Apart from that, the stay was fine, there were a lot of Christmas parties on that night so we ate early, had a few drinks in the bar and retired for the night. Less noise from the party goers than I expected.
An average stay in an average hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Gareth N,

Thank you for writing about your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay with us. However, I apologize for the areas that we may have fallen short particularly with the elevator service and issues encountered with the room allocation. Your comments are important to us to ensure we are constantly focused on improving our service and we hope we can demonstrate to you our commitment to value and service.

Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
1.9 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
5.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor

Property: Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Address: Manor Lane, Maidenhead SL6 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor,M4 Jct 8/9 combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, including WiFi, High Speed Internet Access. 197 fully air conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, restaurant, bar, lounge, Spirit Health Club with swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room and gymnasium. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 400 delegates and also holds a civil license for Weddings and Civil Partnerships. The hotel is an ideal Legoland hotel and is close to Windsor Castle, Windsor Theatre, Dorney Lake and Henley Regatta, as well as Historic areas such as Marlow and Oxford within easy driving distance. Located at Jct 8/9 of the M4 and Jct 4 of the M40, with easy links to the M25. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is situated within 1 mile of Vanwall Business Park and Maidenhead Business Park and just 25 miles from Wembley Stadium, the hotel also offers free parking. Kids Stay & Eat Free* 5 ground floor accessible bedrooms, accessible parking and all public areas are situated on the ground floor.*Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Hotel Maidenhead
Maidenhead Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing