We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legoland break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
neath
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Legoland break”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights to visit LEGOLAND.
Booked direct with the hotel & had a kids stay & eat free deal.
From the outside the hotel looks real dated {1970`s} however we were pleasantly surprised of the furnishings inside.
Reception - very pleasant staff, quick check-in with all information required.
Bedroom - had x 2 queen size beds to sleep 2 adults & x 2 kids.
large screen TV on the wall, ample wardrobe space with a built in safe.
bathroom adequate, but shower took some tender care to get it going.
Restaurant - fairly large with a good choice on the menu, prices about right for a hotel.
service a little bit slow the more people that came in, food quality okay.
bar - service erratic depending on who was serving and football on TV.
there was a children's play area just off the bar area ,which helps keep them entertained.
Overall a pleasant stay, staff very helpful, especially Ester in the restaurant who looked after our grandson with kids packs etc.
A good quality hotel for the package we had, I would rate it at 3.5*.

Room Tip: low floor not facing the car parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandamNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for the review of the hotel and great to read that you had a good stay with your Legoland visit. Thanks for the comments about Ester which I will pass on to her.
Hope we can welcome you again sometime soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    416
    233
    86
    54
See reviews for
354
204
44
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here a few years ago and had a bad time, so worried about returning ,but all was fine . clean and tidy hotel staff friendly and helpful breakfast was fine what you expect from a holiday inn. Rooms are good and basic. You stay at a holiday inn and get the same all over would go back .we used it as a base to visit Thorpe park

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the review and great to hear you returned after a not so good experience in the past. Nice to read we got it right for you this time, hope we can welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Room prices seem a little steep considering they are quite dated rooms but this is made up by the good service and pleasant staff. Fish and chips was very nice expect the runny minted pea puree ( whoever thought this is better on the latest menu than the previously served mushy peas and piece of bread and butter must be mad ) and nice cheese and biscuits. Breakfast was served as ordered and on time to the room in the morning so again good. So if these things work well then paying slightly on the high side is forgiven.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gates12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for writing about us, clearly you know us well noticing the change to the fish and chips. Personally I'm with you on the minted peas which is why we still keep some regular mushy peas in the kitchen. Don't tell everyone but if you ask the waiter next time I'm sure they'll sort it out for you.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for two nights so we could visit Windsor & then have 2 days at Legoland. Hotel nice & clean & spacious in the bar area. Our room was on the third floor so was reasonably quiet apart from the Saturday night. Room ok, but just a king size bed with a put up bed for my son - could have really done with more room for the 3 of us. Bathroom quite small too. Breakfast really good & lots of choice. Ate out in Windsor for the first night which was lovely. Ate at the hotel for the second night - pretty average & nothing special & expensive for what we had. Disappointed by the kids buffet as mainly fatty junk food - fish fingers, chicken nuggets & chips! Used the pool which was good, but the pool could do with a bit of a clean as in some areas the tiles were brown which you could scrape off with your nails. Arrived back from the hotel on the Saturday to find there was a wedding party going on. No problem with this until much later when the shouting, laughing etc woke us up going on outside reception which we looked out to. We rang down to reception to complain, but it made no difference. Got back to sleep at 2am when it finally went quiet!! Not great when you want to spend another day at Legoland & then have a 4 hour drive home afterwards. When we checked out, there was no mention of them asking if we'd enjoyed our stay - we were that tired that they would have got an ear full if they had!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the review of the hotel but sorry to read that you stay was marred by some inconsiderate guests on the Saturday night. I do hope you will accept my apologies for the obvious upset caused.
We do try and deter guests from smoking near other rooms and have signage in place accordingly. Our reception team should have asked about your stay on departure as we would have hoped to apologise at the time rather than through TripAdvisor.
I hope your experiences do not deter you from returning to visit us in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hotel was fine for a couple of nights. Clean, good breakfast, mainly very friendly staff. Only problem was with a muddle on my online booking. Reception staff were helpful but the reservations manager was appalling. Made out I was too stupid to know what I had booked. She was one of the rudest hotel employees I have ever encountered. Funnily ehough on checking they found out that I had booked correctly!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for writing about the hotel and may I apologise for the reaction you got when checking your reservation details. I would be happy to discuss this in more detail if you wish (obviously I do not have your contact details here).
I was pleased however to read that other than this problem you enjoyed your stay, hope we do get a chance to see you again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Clean, quite and very good breakfast. It is ideal for business trip when you have to visit company closed to Maidenhead. Train station is not far, 10 min walking. In general you need car or taxi to move. Very good the fitness area and the swimming pool. I never had issues in staying in this Hotel. Price: sometime acceptable sometimes a little bit expensive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vincenzo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the lovely review of the hotel, great to read that you enjoy your visits and feel looked after. Hope we can continue to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west country
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We have previously stayed here as a family of four visiting Legoland a couple of times. Both occasions being very positive. This stay over half-term was also good, though did notice a couple of things that appeared to be a little "below par" this time. This however, did not take away the enjoyment of the stay.
We decided very last minute to have a family break away in London. This is an ideal family hotel to sight see in Central London (35 mins tube) and to see Windsor and Legoland (20 mins drive).
If you drive to North Ealing train station, you can park in the stations car park for £1.50 for all day(!) and get the tube straight in to Leicester Square. Ideal! So, back to the hotel.
We tried to book a family room, but had left it far too late and so had to have two double rooms next to each other. (Even adjoining rooms weren't available). We have made a mental note not to leave it so late to book over school holiday time again, as this cost us almost £200 more than we would have paid. Very pleasant welcome from reception staff, and full explanation of facilities. Children are given a welcome pack which is lovely - stickers, colouring book, crayons, jigsaw and comic booklet. Very nice.
(We didn't ask for our rooms to be in any area, but were pleased that we were in rooms away from the ground floor busy areas and walkways to reception and by the lift. You may wish to request away from these as they appear quite busy/noisy). Just a thought.
Rooms appeared clean, beds well made, lots of tea and coffee etc. there are fridges in the room, so we usually go and get some tins of coke, snacks etc and put them in to save on costs as these are VERY expensive in all the parks and at the bar!
One night I had a bath and I noticed that there was a fair amount of rust on the bath taps, and the toilet under the rim looked like it hadn't had a good clean/scrub for a very long time - yuk!
The beds seemed a little harder than previous stays?
One of the best things about this hotel is that it has a lovely swimming pool and jacuzzi. There is a small baby pool too. The changing rooms are lovely and also have a sauna, and a steam room in the changing rooms, and hair dryers to use at no cost. Do have a £1 coin for the lockers though. The pool is always warm, and have lifeguards on hand. You can also purchase goggles, swimming costumes etc.There is a Beauty room as well. In addition there are sun loungers and chairs around the pool if you just want to read the paper/a book and relax whilst the children play in the water. We had fun in the pool as always, but on this visit there was a really horrible odour of "Poo" from the moment we walked in. Not from a nappy or anything but like from the drains. It was fowl. Even my husband could smell it, and he has a terrible sense of smell!!!! Hence, we did not stay in the pool area for half as much time as usual. Very disappointing.
As always, the breakfasts at all Holiday Inns are excellent. Loads of everything! The children particularly loved the new pancake making machine which they delighted in using every morning by pressing a button and waiting for the pancakes to shoot out. Fabulous fun!!
This time though, the one thing that stood out was the very obvious lack of a chef, and the much needed cooking of fried eggs. Each morning people would be queuing for them, and either a waitress would be telling people that either:
a) she had told the chef people were waiting or b) she didn't know where the chef was?! Clearly a difficulty.
As per most hotels regarding the toast machine, they either toast too little and you end up with an anaemic bendy offering, or toast that has to be put round twice and comes out burnt to a snarkin!!
The waiting staff were fab. Had a waitress called Paula, who couldn't do enough to help us with local sainsburys advice and directions to anywhere. Thank you.
Evening meals are good here. With each adult children eat free from a hot buffet they provide i.e. Chicken nuggets, cottage pie & others, and all we found excellent and were devoured - and our children are fussy eaters!
The cost is very good i.e. Salmon and sides or fish & chips about £12.50. This works out to be £6.25 per head with kids eating free. But.....what pushes the prices right up are the flaming drinks at £2.50 per head - coke etc. then if children want dessert it's extra! What should have been a £25 meal for four came to just over £40, so beware!!
The hotel provides free milk & cookies every afternoon for the children which is a really nice touch. Fresh jugs of milk and plates of chocolate chip cookies are dotted around the hotel bar, restaurant and seating areas for you to help yourself.
All in all, another good stay. I do believe the hotel has changed management since our last stay, and I think it shows a little, so please new management, take note that there are a few issues that need attending to! We're sure they will, and we look forward to another return in the very near future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank lemoney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for the very comprehensive review of the hotel and your observations about our service and offering. You'll be pleased to know we have recently completed some quite extensive drainage works so I'm confident you will not notice the issue of drain smells again.
I did also have to look up what a Snark was - great word which I will use in the future!
We do take note of your points raised and we will do our best to improve to what you have experienced in the past.
Thanks for writing about us and look forward to seeing you soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
5.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
0.3 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Maidenhead Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
688 reviews
7.9 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,716 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor

Property: Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Address: Manor Lane, Maidenhead SL6 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor,M4 Jct 8/9 combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, including WiFi, High Speed Internet Access. 197 fully air conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, restaurant, bar, lounge, Spirit Health Club with swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room and gymnasium. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 400 delegates and also holds a civil license for Weddings and Civil Partnerships. The hotel is an ideal Legoland hotel and is close to Windsor Castle, Windsor Theatre, Dorney Lake and Henley Regatta, as well as Historic areas such as Marlow and Oxford within easy driving distance. Located at Jct 8/9 of the M4 and Jct 4 of the M40, with easy links to the M25. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is situated within 1 mile of Vanwall Business Park and Maidenhead Business Park and just 25 miles from Wembley Stadium, the hotel also offers free parking. Kids Stay & Eat Free* 5 ground floor accessible bedrooms, accessible parking and all public areas are situated on the ground floor.*Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Hotel Maidenhead
Maidenhead Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing