We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Maidenhead
Southampton
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Value Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for just one night recently when visiting the Hinds Head in Bray and wanted to stay the night near by. Got a reasonable deal with the HI website, easy to find close to motorway. As a HI member had free standard wifi which was fine for my purpose. Room was clean and fine for one night, decent flat screen tv though hardly used.

Hotel was busy with lots of kids running around as clearly popular for Lego Land but very quiet at night and not disturbed. Breakfast was a little chaotic, thought at 830 would have been quieter but don't think they have a quiet time. Staff worked hard to keep everything stocked and cleaning tables as families left, forgotten what damage a couple of kids can do!

Overall a decent hotel, not outstanding but good value and all the staff we met were firendly and efficient, plus large free car park which akes a nice change

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty07uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for the review and great to read you had a good, peaceful and restful stay. Hope the Hinds Head lived up to expectations.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    404
    225
    78
    34
See reviews for
333
196
40
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in HI Maidenhead for a night, as part of a Legoland package break. In fairness to the Hotel, they did their very best to move forward our booking and they were very accommodating despite the fact that the error was entirely ours.

The exterior does not do this hotel many favours; is awful 60s architecture. Clinical and unappealing. The interior offered great contrast to the tired looking exterior, looked and felt modern and clean.

Priority Status was immediately recognised when checking in and the welcome was very warm. We were given a room in the executive floor. For an executive room I was expecting something a bit more elegant; it was alright.

The hotel has a reasonable size pool for adults and a smaller one for kids. A jacuzzi is also present, as well as sauna in the change rooms. Overall, quite good and the family enjoyed.

Having spent a long day in LEGOLAND we didn't want to venture locally for our dinner, hence we decided to have ours in the hotel. It was average; the roasted potatoes that garnished our dishes were roasted hours ago and microwaved before serving. The kids menu (free) largely comprised of the left overs of that day's breakfast. Not impressed with this; felt like our children were treated like dogs. Drinks ok but overpriced.

Wife and kids said breakfast was good; I did not bother (as I never do anyway...) but I trust their judgement on this one.

Night sleep was excellent in very comfortable bed. Good shower pressure and nice, crispy towels.

Would we return to this hotel? Likely. Served us well, for a night and the staff are very courteous and do go the extra mile to help the guests with their needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moslit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the extensive review following your recent stay with us and glad to read that on the whole you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry about the potatoes on you meal clearly these should have been better but I do have to completely disagree with your comments on the children's buffet. The fact there could have been sausages on the buffet that evening does not mean it is breakfast re-served.
Thanks for taking the time and effort to write about your visit.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on two separate weekends on my recent trip to Maidenhead. The first weekend I was put in room 412. With two large suitcases I was expected to climb two steep flights of stairs. I asked and received help but felt very embarrassed as I did not have change to tip the porter and of course was faced with the same problem on check out. The room was old in need of updating but very clean and I did not hear noise or disturbance from adjoining rooms and slept well. There is a kettle and tea is supplied I'm the room as well as a small fridge that you are allowed to use for personal items or they will supply products for you to purchase.

The second weekend was not so great the room was #250 and on arrival I was at least directed to an elevator for my use. The room was same basic room bit shabby but again very clean. Except for the trash bin from prior user that had not been emptied. I could have lived with that but when I tried to go to bed I discovered that the duvet cover was empty and the actual quilt was in a ball at the bottom of the cover I tried to sort it out but failed as I was so tired. I called front desk they said they would send duty manager as housekeeping was gone (strange not a single housekeeping person on a Friday night) he didn't arrive so I called again they said he would come soon. He arrived, sniffing constantly and stripped the bed while sniffing the whole time. It put me off as he made the bed touching all the bedding yuk! But I was so tired I just accepted it and went to bed. The next day they didn't clean the room I admit I told the guy never mind but you would have thought they would want to go the extra mile for me but no it wasn't to be. That all said the staff are very helpful and the room itself clean.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for writing a review of the hotel and for your feedback.
Unfortunately due to the nature of our building we do not have a lift to 20 of our bedrooms but I was pleased that we were able to help with your luggage. No need to feel embarrassed about lack of tip, it really isn't expected.
I was very surprised to read of your duvet comments, not something I have come across before and sounds very odd indeed and I am very sorry for the inconvenience this caused. With regards to servicing your room, if you told the staff not to clean your room then they wouldn't have as they would assume that you wanted privacy. Sorry if this was misunderstood but hope it did not detract too much from your stay.
Thanks again for writing about the hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

So stayed in an executive room and paid in excess of £120.00 without breakfast and believe it or not the hotel still wants you to pay £5.00 for 1 hour of wifi or £24.00 all in. When are hotels going to realise the choice of your hotel is now based on if you also get wifi for no extra charge!! Oh and the room and hotel is ok. I wouldn't class it as executive as you get two bottles of water and a mars bar for the extra cost. Not my view of executive. Try harder Holiday Inn Maidenhead.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jdassociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for the obvious upset caused. We do indeed offer free WiFi to all guests if they are members of the IHG Rewards club, which is free to join and you can sign up at reception or on-line. This gives free WiFi in all IHG hotel around the world whether you are a resident or not, sorry this wasn't made clear during your stay.
Thanks for taking the time and effort to write about us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel was ok and everything was as expected, clean and relatively modern, in a decent location, however, Its not any better than your average hotel and was very pricey for this standard.

The Room:
the room was clean with a good amount of space and modern enough.

The Restaurant
Food was reasonably priced no different to other hotel restaurants, the food was good and the staff were friendly.

General Comments:
Good location, close to motorway links if travelling anywhere round west of London.
From the outside the hotel does not look much, but is much nicer on the inside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for the review, just sorry we only got 3 stars!
Hope we get a chance to welcome you again next time you're in the area.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Perhaps not the best looking hotel but the location was excellent and we couldn't fault our room which was very clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet considering the number of children in the hotel. The receptionists were very helpful - especially Chloe who put herself out finding us the best parking places in central Windsor together with maps and locations. We couldn't fault the breakfast either - plenty of choice, all the hot food regularly topped up. Would definitely return here if we're in the area again.

Room Tip: One overlooking the front car park on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for the review and kind words about the hotel and staff. Great to read you had a good stay and hope we can welcome you again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Holiday Inns -and I've stayed at a few - are all about consistent quality at a reasonable price. You are not really paying for charm, so I won't dwell too much on the fact that architecturally this is one of the most charmless of them all, surrounded by its car park and resembling a 1970s hospital. Inside, things are no nicer, with an open plan sitting room and bar dispensing with any kind of intimacy. What I minded much more was the fact that our ground floor room number 116 was next to the automatic doors to the car park at the rear. This meant a steady traffic of smokers from the bar chatting outside our window, and the hiss of the doors opening and closing at all hours. We asked to be moved but were told the hotel was full. Management are obviously aware of the problem because they said smokers shouldn't congregate there and said they would ask them to move. Sadly, this was a King Canute-like endeavour. A large notice sign would perhaps be more effective. Anyway, people who are NOT members of the Holiday Inn rewards program should be pleased to hear that no preference is given to those who are, because I am an Elite Gold member but I still got this room - I suppose somebody has to. However, what really puts the nail in the coffin for me here is the small things that were wrong, and stacked up. The TV signal kept getting interrupted, meaning eventually we gave up trying to watch. Small and threadbare towels. A "clean" flannel which hadn't been changed and had a stain on it. No ramp at the front for luggage (the disabled access ramp requires you to ring a bell for attention), one of the two automatic front doors broken. It all adds up to a sense of mild neglect. It's a shame, because the staff deserve better - they were pleasant and friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms in general, and 116 in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CayoteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for the review and please accept my apologies for the obvious disappointment you had from your stay. You raised lots of points and I hope to address as many as I can with out writing an essay. Would be happy to discuss the matters with you personally?
Clearly we don't have all the details of your booking but I assume you booked a twin bedded room having been allocated room 116. We have a limited number of twin rooms in the hotel and so would have limited options for room location. The majority of our twin rooms are on the ground floor corridor where you stayed.
With regard to smokers, yes this is an ongoing issue with a limited amount we can do. We do our best to police it however we will always have to rely on guests being considerate to other residents and yes we already have a large sign as you suggest.
Sorry our lounge and bar area was not to your taste and clearly the linen you describe is unacceptable and there can be no excuse for this.
I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay but I do hope that as a gold IHG Rewards member you will continue to use our hotels in the future.
Thank you again for writing such an honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
1.9 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 12 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 12 in Maidenhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,508 reviews
5.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor

Property: Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Address: Manor Lane, Maidenhead SL6 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor,M4 Jct 8/9 combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, including WiFi, High Speed Internet Access. 197 fully air conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, restaurant, bar, lounge, Spirit Health Club with swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room and gymnasium. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 400 delegates and also holds a civil license for Weddings and Civil Partnerships. The hotel is an ideal Legoland hotel and is close to Windsor Castle, Windsor Theatre, Dorney Lake and Henley Regatta, as well as Historic areas such as Marlow and Oxford within easy driving distance. Located at Jct 8/9 of the M4 and Jct 4 of the M40, with easy links to the M25. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is situated within 1 mile of Vanwall Business Park and Maidenhead Business Park and just 25 miles from Wembley Stadium, the hotel also offers free parking. Kids Stay & Eat Free* 5 ground floor accessible bedrooms, accessible parking and all public areas are situated on the ground floor.*Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Hotel Maidenhead
Maidenhead Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing